CIT BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

Consumer Complaints

There are over 2033 complaints on file for CIT BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION. Dated between 2019-11-15 and 2011-12-05.

Complaints Page 5

2018-08-23

Berlin, MD

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: CD (Certificate of Deposit)

Deposits or withdrawals
Complaint: Complaint To Be Filed With : CIT Bank, N.A. XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, CA XXXX IRA Account Number XXXX On two occasions the above bank claimed that they mailed the checks on the date they issued their checks. In the first case, it took 37 days, plus numerous follow up phone calls, to receive my IRA-MRD check. The most recent incident occurred on XX/XX/XXXX when I closed my IRA account. In this case it took 17 days to receive the check which was dated XX/XX/XXXX. It appears to me that the bank is either out of control in tracking, processing and mailing checks or the delay is intentional to gain a cash float. While the interest that I lost is not significant, depending on how you calculate, it amounted from {$40.00} to {$60.00}. My concern is that I dont consider this to be a remote and isolated case since it happened to me twice. Their standard answer is the check was mailed, and they have no control over the US Postal Service. I know from both personal and experience working with the Postal Service that it does not take them 37 days or 17 days to deliver a letter from California to Maryland. This bank either lacks enough procedures or it is intentional. In either case, many customers are at risk every day. The first incident occurred on XX/XX/XXXX when they claimed they mailed my IRS-MRD check on that date. After many phone calls, the check dated XX/XX/XXXX was received XX/XX/XXXX. At the time I considered that a remote and isolated case. However, the bank should have records to show the issue date of the check and the date it was cashed. The most recent incident occurred on XX/XX/XXXX when I closed my IRA account. On XX/XX/XXXX, using their secure message system I contacted the bank and they confirmed that the check was mailed on XX/XX/XXXX ( copy attached ). I also followed up with a phone call, told them about my XX/XX/XXXX problem and asked if they could confirm the check was not in their mail room waiting to be mailed. I was told that they had no way to verify that. On XX/XX/XXXX, using their secure message system, I contacted the bank to determine the status of my check. This time they confirmed that the check was cut on XX/XX/XXXX ( copy attached ) as opposed to being mailed on XX/XX/XXXX as they previously advised me in their XX/XX/XXXX message ( copy attached ). I then called the bank to try to determine when the check was placed in the mail stream. Again, their representative could not explain when or if the check was mailed. They could only confirm the date the check was cut. The check was received on XX/XX/XXXX as confirmed by the US Postal Service Informed Delivery System ( copy attached ). The bank mailed my check using the US Postal Services, First Class Mail Presort U.S. Postage Paid FIS Output Solutions ( Permit Mail System ). The Postal Service requires a manifest to enter this type of special mail into their system. Therefore, it should be possible for your organization to determine when my letter/check was delivered to the Postal Service. If you suspect a problem, it should be easy for you to determine the dates of all the checks that were submitted on that manifest for that date. Your assistance in reviewing this matter is appreciated. Please advise if any additional information is required. Sincerely, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, MD XXXX P XXXX XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-08-15

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: CD (Certificate of Deposit)

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-08-15

San Gabriel, CA

Incorrect information on your report

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: My loan number was changed in XXXX, I did not make the deadline to update my auto draft from the bank. I called in XXXX to make my monthly payment and to be placed back on auto draft. Well, this payment and every other payment each month has been misapplied by the lender ( CIT bank ). My name and loan number are : XXXX XXXX # XXXX. I keep thinking that with every month this would be corrected, sadly it has not. It is now affecting my credit rating, I was at a XXXX with XXXX, and now I'm down to a XXXX. I pay all my bills on time, and to see this was very upsetting. I've been trying to get this fixed for over 6 months now. I was finally able to get a supervisor, XXXX XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX in XXXX. I thought that would be the end of it, again it was not. I have attached my payment history and the misapplied errors. I just wanted to get back on the auto draft. I sent them multiple emails through their website XXXX XXXX XXXX. No resolution. Many calls to XXXX, she did call me back this month when I mentioned I need to make a payment, other than that every voicemail I have left her has been unanswered. As of now, my account states that my next payment is due XX/XX/2018. I have paid every month, and a little extra this month in the hopes that someone would fix it. I'm exhausted, I'm hoping this will help me with my issue.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-08-08

Arco, CA

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: From approximately XX/XX/XXXX, to XX/XX/XXXX, I submitted HAMP loan modification paperwork again and again-wrongfully denied the HAMP loan modification each time! The loan was given to XXXX XXXX which was taken over by the notorious foreclosure king ( XXXX XXXX, CEO, " Foreclosure King '' ), OneWest Bank! OneWest Bank continued to pretend that they are really interested in modifying my mortgage under HAMP guidelines but cheated me out of the HAMP modification over and over again! XXXX XXXX, a loan modification agent of XXXX/OneWest Bank, denied me, once again, the HAMP loan modification on XX/XX/XXXX! He stated that the property was not " owner occupied! '' He said that OneWest/XXXX XXXX came to this conclusion and is denying my loan modification because the " sent somebody to knock on the d oor and nobody answered! '' How is that fair!!?? OneWest/XXXX XXXX made no appontment with me, dropped by whenever they felt like it, knocked on the door, and then left. OneWest/XXXX XXXX said that nobody answered the door and therefore the home is not owner occupied!! Do you see the blatant deceipt and lie that Onewest/XXXX XXXX used on me??!! They kept playing these horribly fraudulent tricks on me because they never wanted to give me a HAMP loan modification at all. They were deceitful liars all the way through! I was in loan modification with them on XX/XX/XXXX. They dis not care. They foreclosed on my home on XX/XX/XXXX, forcing me to find another place to live! They stole my property from under my nose without paying any attention to the HAMP loan modification that was sent to them and because they were pretending and lying all the way through. Again, they had no intention of giving me a HAMP loan modification. They wanted to foreclose from the very beginning of the process and steal the property from me! I am very upset, as a hard-working, XXXX American citizen, and I am outraged that OneWest? XXXX XXXX were able to abuse me in grand theft property and home! I did everyhthing properly to modify my loan under HAMP guidelines and both XXXX XXXX and Onewest Banks did everything improperly to frustrate me, pray for me to go away and give up the HAMP process, and ultimately steal and foreclose on my home, my property. This is why OneWest Bank is known as the " Foreclosure King! '' Please, for the love of justice and America, please bring me justice from this extremely crooked bank!
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-08-02

Trouble using the card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Problem using the card to withdraw money from an ATM
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-07-30

Christiana, DE

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2018-07-28

Tomball, TX

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Funds not received from closed account
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-07-28

Discovery Bay, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-07-27

Rncho Domingz, CA

Problem caused by your funds being low

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Overdrafts and overdraft fees
Company Response: Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2018-07-24

Miami, FL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-07-20

Santa Monica, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Complaint: I had funds from my mortgage company deposited in my One West checking account that I have had for around a year. They either held or stopped several personal checks, although I had called them and spoken to representatives XXXX, XXXX and XXXX about using my own checks. They restricted my account due to my desire to use my own checks as opposed to the expensive checks offered by them. I now have several returned check fees and this embarrassed me in the face of my payees. Upon calling One West and informing them of the situation they asked me to step into the branch -- which I can not do as I am XXXX XXXX ( moreso XXXX XXXX ) and recovering from XXXX XXXX. One West replied that they could send an agent to my home. As I thought this very unusual to send a banker to an XXXX XXXX XXXX, I requested to have a police officer present. The police department informed me that they can not send out an officer to my facility just because a banker wants to visit if no crime has been committed.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-07-18

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-07-12

Moapa, NV

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: CD (Certificate of Deposit)

Fees charged for closing account
Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX, I was checking my emails. There were some from CIT Bank, notifying me that my monthly statements were available. I realized that I had not received any notifications about 2 CDs that were to mature in XX/XX/XXXX which I did not want to rollover. I had not received any notifications about them. I phoned CIT Bank ( XXXX ) on XXXX, and spoke with XXXX. He advised that Maturity Notices and Renewal Notices for each CD had been MAILED to me. I had not received any of the 4 notices. He informed me that to close the accounts, I would have to send a Secure Message through the website, and that I would be charged penalties. He told me the verbiage to use. In checking the FAQ page on CIT Bank 's website, www.bankoncit.com, I found a question about maturing CDs, and it states that the customer will RECEIVE notification. ( Please see screenprint for this. ) To this day, I have not RECEIVED any notifications about the maturing or renewal of my CDs. On XX/XX/XXXX, I phoned CIT Bank again, because I felt it unfair to charge me penalties when I had received no notification of the maturity or renewal. Initially, I spoke to XXXX, who ignored my desire to close the accounts, and offered to switch the CDs to the current, higher rate. I refused, and asked to speak to a supervisor. I was transferred to XXXX, who confirmed that she was a supervisor. XXXX told me that the penalties would not be waived. She informed me that I am signed up to receive electronic notifications. I understand electronic notification to mean email notification ; every month, the bank sends me emails notifying me that my statements are available. I also get other emails, most recently about a contest, so there is reason to believe that all notifications would be sent via email. But, XXXX advised, if I want email notification of the maturity and renewals, I had to set this up online, which I have since done. Please see screenprints for notifications, and please note that the Renewal Notices were dated after the grace period ended, not when the CDs matured. XXXX informed me that the notices for maturity and renewal were placed on their website, and had not been mailed to me, as XXXX advised. She also stated that is my responsibility to know that I have to check their website to look for these notices. I finally found the notices, that were supposedly sent to me after searching through different pages of the website. If their own employee XXXX did not know that I was supposed to know to check the website for notifications, and that they had not been mailed, how is a customer supposed to know? Please see screen prints. On XX/XX/XXXX, I initiated the closing of my 2 CD accounts. Several days after they were closed, the money was transferred to an external account. On XX/XX/XXXX, wanting to know the exact amount of the penalties charged, I phoned CIT Bank, and spoke with XXXX. I asked if I would get some kind of notification of the amount of the penalties. After placing me on hold to confer with her supervisor, she informed me that due to an oversight, I had not actually been charged a penalty. With that news, I decided to not file a complaint with CFPB. However, after locatng the closing statements on their website, I discovered that, contrary to what XXXX told me, they had indeed charged a penalty for 1 of the CDs. I believe that CIT Bank 's practice of notification of maturity and renewal via their website, with no email notification to check the website, as they do every month for statements is dishonest, deceitful, immoral, and unethical. It is designed to keep customers from knowing when CDs are to renew, so the bank gets to either keep the funds for another term, or collect penalties for early withdrawal. Please see all 12 screen prints in support of my complaint.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-07-11

Azwell, WA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Complaint: I have made several calls to CIT. this is not my account. they confirmed this is not my account, but it is showing up on my credit report. The bank is not wiling to confirm an account they do not have, and the credit bureau is not able to update without a confirmation of the account. it is a silly game back and forth on an account that I never opened. Please help me get someone to fix this injustice. Thank you XXXX XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-07-06

Mission Viejo, CA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-06-29

Three Bridges, NJ

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I initiated the mortgage loan process on XX/XX/2018 with One West Bank a division of CIT Bank. The entire process from start to the actual closing of the loan was handled unprofessionally by the assigned staff at One West. I'll summarize the many issues encountered in chronological sequence. 1. The initial loan estimate closing costs provided by One West was {$10000.00}. I had used this to make my decision to proceed with OneWest for my mortgage loan. The final closing costs, provided to me on the actual day of closing came in at {$14000.00}, representing a 25 % increase! 2. There were ongoing delays in obtaining loan approval as the processing and underwriting teams requested XXXX XXXX XXXX and Balance sheet statements from my sole proprietor ( unincorporated ) consulting position that pays me income on a XXXX basis. I explained many times that this business doesn't maintain either statements as the income is just passed through onto my personal tax return. 3. The bank repeatedly requested copies of a XXXX statement on stock investment in a XXXX. They couldn't understand that this XXXX didn't really represent an active partnership role in the company but only a stock investment. 4. The final loan amount includes a monthly real estate tax escrow of {$730.00}, representing a yearly property tax of {$8800.00}. The actual property tax is {$610.00} monthly or {$7300.00} yearly according to NJ tax records. I asked the bank to explain this escrow overage, but they didn't respond to me. I believe there's a legal limit on how much additional escrow can be withheld by the bank, which may be exceeded in this case. 5. The final closing disclosure statement was incorrect as the state tax/stamps had me the buyer as being responsible for payment. Fortunately the Title company made the correction just prior to closing. 6. The actual closing was scheduled for XXXX XXXX EST on XX/XX/XXXX. The bank didn't send the closing disclosure documents to the Title company until XXXX, setting up a made scramble for all parties to push the time of closing back. I did not see the closing disclosure document until I was in the attorney 's office ready to sign all of the documents. I was advised by the bank to use the preliminary closing numbers to make final payment. They specifically told me to use the number I had as an " idea '' to make the wire payment to the title company. Obviously I was uncomfortable making a wire payment of XXXX based on an " idea ''. 7. Once the actual closing began, I discovered that the bank had misspelled my last name on many of the closing documents. The bank was notified of the error and informed my attorney and title company that all of the paper work had to be reissued and the bank needed to run another credit check using the correct spelling of my name. It was already XXXXXXXX XXXX, and the bank informed me they couldn't get the credit check from XXXX and XXXX because I had freezes in place. They asked that I remove the freeze so they could run a check. As it was nearly impossible to remove the freeze over the phone, I needed to rush home ( 35 miles ) to unlock my credit online using the preassigned pin provided when my credit was locked. As a result, the bank instructed the title company to not release any funds ( although the seller already left with the check in hand ) until credit was verified. Bottom line is that the underwriting team obviously never ran the credit check prior to closing as using the wrong name wouldn't have returned a correct credit score. It wasn't until XXXXXXXX XXXX that evening that the title company informed me that the bank gave approval to release funds. I was not able to take possession of the property until the following day. Throughout the 30 day loan process, the OneWest team was unresponsive to many of my questions, and at times unprofessional and incompetent.
Company Response: Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2018-06-28

Key Biscayne, FL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-06-25

Barrington, CA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2018-06-22

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: CD (Certificate of Deposit)

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-06-22

Broadway, WA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Banking errors
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-06-21

Washington, DC

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Complaint: XXXX originally reported the outstanding balance on this loan incorrectly. Now they are incorrectly reporting that foreclosure was started on this loan. I have attached the short sale approval letter as evidence that this home was never foreclosed or foreclosure was ever initiated. I have also attached the HUD-1 showing the home was sold. This was previously provided to XXXX. This was never reported by XXXX XXXX. This was added after XXXX started reporting this loan. This is currently affecting my husbands ability to obtain mortgage approval. I am asking that they report the statement " FORECLSR STARTED '' from all credit reports for my husband and I.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-06-11

Taft, OH

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I am writing to be included in the settlement that was litigated or being wrapped up by XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. I had a mortgage with XXXX and it startred to be serviced by XXXX. I had difficulty making my mortgage payments during the downturn in the economy. I struggled from XXXX XXXX. I attempted to obtain a modification a number of times during this period and that is when the transferring of the mortgage occured from XXXX to XXXX to XXXX XXXX. It was a very stressful time. I finally lost my home to foreclosure. I am including documents ( attached ). I have tried to resolve my complaint by contacting the Illinois Attorney General 's office, and I have included their " WEAK '' response to my effort in their latest letter dated XX/XX/XXXX. I therefore reach out to CFPB.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-06-07

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: CD (Certificate of Deposit)

Deposits or withdrawals
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-06-07

Sacramento, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-06-01

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy