WELLS FARGO COMPANY

Consumer Complaints

There are over 75348 complaints on file for WELLS FARGO COMPANY. Dated between 2019-12-13 and 2011-12-01.

Complaints Page 2

2019-12-04

TX

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Money order


Complaint: Wells Fargo bank in XXXX tx .. date XX/XX/19 time XXXX : XXXX transaction # XXXX teller : : XXXX accepted a money order for XXXX $ $ from XXXX. food store that is 50 yards away.. the teller said that by 48hours for sure. The money would be available for spending by the account holder.. that never happened..then on XX/XX/19 .. the money order was cashed ... XXXX XXXX money order department.. vertify this in a phone conversation..they claim the money was being held for vertification ... .up to this day they have not done their job duty function of care to a client.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-04

NY

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Card opened as result of identity theft or fraud
Complaint: Wells Fargo allowed someone named XXXX XXXX XXXX to open a finance account with XXXX XXXX using my ein number. This lady resides in XXXX XXXX. The only reason I was able to find out, is that I was trying to use the online banking services. Then the banker told me that there is a duplicate profile using my Ein number. With further investigation the name of the individual is above. The date I found out about this was XXXX XXXX. This means I do not know how long this individual was using my credit.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Denver, CO

Fees or interest

Credit card or prepaid card: Store credit card

Problem with fees
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-04

NC

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Other debt

Debt is not yours
Complaint: XXXX XXXX out of XXXX, CA stated that I owed {$730.00} from a overdrawn XX/XX/2009 Wells Fargo checking account. Claimed they were going to file a civil lawsuit but refuse to provide any documentation or verifying information. Would only provide method to repay. Was rude, condenscending and dismissive. They originally contacted my son on his cell phone and left message which he forwarded to me.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Trenton, NJ

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Unable to open an account
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Jensen Beach, FL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Fee problem
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-04

E Windsor, NJ

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Atl, GA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Lithonia, GA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Bradbury, CA

Closing your account

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Company closed your account
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Amarillo, TX

Problem when making payments

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem during payment process
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Arco, CA

Problem caused by your funds being low

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Overdrafts and overdraft fees
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-03

Kansas City, MO

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Can't close your account
Complaint: I attempted to close my wells fargo account but Wells Fargo refused to close it. Ive been trying to close this account over a month. Wells Fargo also opened up accounts in my name without my consent. WF is opening up fraudulent accounts under my name. I called in over 100 times to fix this problem but its still happening. And WF stole money out of my account over 50 times and they never payed it back. I also asked WF not to contact me again and they keep contacting me over and over again!
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-03

Anaheim, CA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Complaint: I have the same name as my father. There are inquiries not mine as well as accounts/tradelines that are there when I was XXXX years old. Sometimes items from him get onto my report. I also have had my computer/phone hacked before.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-03

Naples, FL

Closing your account

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Can't close your account
Complaint: In XX/XX/ 2019 I attempted to close all of my accounts with Wells Fargo which included a credit card with an ending balance of {$2000.00}. I was closing these due to the horrible customer service and lack of customer care. Having moved all my accounts, I was getting contacted by WF and I assumed that it was in efforts to win back my business. Instead, I find out in the process of buying a house that WF accepted two more months of ACH revolving charges and was charging me late fees and interest which they reported to the credit bureaus. This brought my middle score from XXXX to XXXX. The total amount for actual charges was approximately {$120.00}. In XXXX I called the branch multiple times to inform them of their mistake of taking ACH payments on a closed card. The branch tried to reduce the 'fees ' but said they could not do anything about the interest. I said that I should not have any fees on a closed account. At this point, nothing was said to me by the branch about my credit card status. After many hours on the phone, I finally was offered to call the 'executive ' branch of Wells Fargo to file a complaint. This process takes 10 days they say. A girl named XXXX at ext XXXX managed the case # XXXX. After many days, XXXX said that I never close my credit card account! She also said that was why thay took the extra payments. I told her that was not the case and that I close all accounts on the same day. She said that was not what their records indicated. Wells Fargo offered to reduce the late fees but not the interest and thats where we stand as of today. M|With all the negative press that WF has had recently, I wondered how many other people this was being done to. If you go into a branch to close an account and they do not really close it, that's a new source of revenue in late fees and interest.???
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-03

Garden Grove, CA

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Didn't receive terms that were advertised
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-03

Sarasota, FL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-03

CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Complaint: Deposited check on XX/XX/2019 appx. XXXX, {$2800.00}. Checking account showed available balance of that check as of next day, XX/XX/2019. I did holiday shopping, paid bills and paid mortgage on XX/XX/2019 and XX/XX/2019. XX/XX/2019 I received an email appx XXXX stating the funds were held from the check I deposited. I contacted the bank and they stated the only thing I could do is get a notarized statement from the maker stating the transaction and its details are valid. Maker of the check is on Holiday with their family and I cant find it in me to ask them to draft such a letter, get it notarized, then fax to me. Furthermore, when I contacted the bank a representative assured me that my mortgage had posted, even though I didnt see such a thing in my banking mobile app records. Now, as of XX/XX/2019, the mortgage company is attempting to collect on the wire that was already sent. I just bought my home and do NOT need any late payment history. I also spent a few hundred dollars at local stores in town that likely havent been paid yet. I have processed hundreds of thousands of dollars through my bank via paychecks over the past few years. Now Im stuck to incur the potential late payment fees? Show my face to people in my small town who thought that since my debit transaction was approved they were going to be paid on time? Live off of credit cards for the next week and incur that interest? All because I deposited a GOOD check .... the maker of the check confirmed his bank had paid the funds in full to my bank. Why dont I have my money?
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-03

OR

Communication tactics

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Frequent or repeated calls
Complaint: Wells fargo retail services has called me repeatedly. I understand that I was 14 days late but my goodness. They called me the following dates and times : XX/XX/19 XXXX, XXXX, XXXX and XXXX XX/XX/19 XXXX XXXX and XXXX XX/XX/19 XXXX and XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-03

Tonalea, AZ

Getting the loan

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan


Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX I applied for a personal unsecured loan with Wells Fargo Bank. I applied at a branch and the application was sent to the central underwriting department. A few days later, additional information was requested and then provided by myself and the banker who had assisted me. The day after that the loan was declined with no counter offers. A few days after that, I received my " adverse action notice '' letter explaining the reason for the decline. The primary reasons for the decline was " too many credit products open '' when this was specified as a " debt consolidation '' with the account numbers and balances provided during the initial application to consolidate and remove several of the " open products. '' " Too many open products '' was exactly WHY this loan was requested. The other reason for the declination was that I " had too much available credit line open '', basically that I had too high of available limits on my current credit cards and line of credit and it was considered too high of a risk. THEN, I received a letter a day or two after THAT stating that my credit card, WITH WELLS FARGO, was given a LIMIT INCREASE. So aside from the illogic of the first declination reason, this one was a self fulfilling decline because I was declined by Wells Fargo for having too much available credit while at the same time Wells Fargo increased my available credit limit. In the long run, the counter intuitive first reason as well as the blatant padding of the second reason caused nothing but damage to my credit for the " hard inquiry ''. I have attempted to reason with the banker and underwriter involved, and was told that there would be no reconsideration, no approval, and no counter offer of any sort. This just seems like an extremely unfair and damaging lending practice, particularly from being declined for a reason that Wells Fargo themselves caused during the loan process.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-03

San Diego, CA

Communication tactics

Debt collection: Credit card debt

You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-03

Wascott, WI

Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Contacted your employer
Complaint: This company while in contact with me went behind my back and set a court date when they already were speaking with me and were provided continued proof of receipt of government assistance. I asked them not to contact me or my work unless about settlement because they were so unreasonable and making the debt amount so high that I felt like ending my life. I have XXXX kids I can barely provide for. They made my employer with their garnishment threats treat me like garbage. This company is greedy has no regard for human life. They constantly set court dates and provide outrageous attorney and interest and other charges to make money of people that don't have any. It's disgusting. Tell my children why you won't settle for half of original apparent amount and why you threaten people when they are not able to fight back.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-03

Trenton, NJ

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-03

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy