TCF NATIONAL BANK

Consumer Complaints

There are over 1945 complaints on file for TCF NATIONAL BANK. Dated between 2019-12-07 and 2012-02-03.

Complaints Page 3

2019-09-15

San Jacinto, CA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Complaint: I have requested copies of any and all contracts with the company and none have been produced to evidence that I have an account with the company and I never executed a contract with the company. The mail sent to the address listed on two bureaus is returned as undeliverable. The company reports on my credit report ALL of the following as the status of the alleged account : Closed - charge off but continues to report FP ( Failure to Pay ) EVERY month as well as a current balance of {$10000.00}. On another Bureau - the address listed for the company has all the mail returned as unable to forward addressee unknown and reports the account charged off, bad debt placed for collection & Skip as well as FP ( Failure to Pay ) EVERY month as well as a current balance of {$10000.00}. On the third bureau the address listed for the company has all the mail returned as unable to forward addressee unknown and reports the account charged off, bad debt These actions are all inconsistent with one another. I have attempted to investigate this company and it appears that it went out of business therefore the reporting can not be accurate.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-12

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Company closed your account
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-09

Beyersville, TX

Struggling to pay your loan

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Denied request to lower payments
Complaint: There are two parties on the loan account for a XXXX XXXX XXXX financed through Gateway. We have tried to be refinanced, but the bank refuses to do refinancing and we are now subject soon to repo. The primary person is not the owner of the actual vehicle, but the co signer is. The way the car dealership got us approved was by placing XXXX XXXX as the cosigner, instead of the primary. XXXX XXXX is currently and has been actively on SSI XXXX. Due to the high monthly note, we have had to already extend our contract by two months. We have also received numerous calls. We have been told that if we don't secure payments, we would be subject again to repo prior to even the dates of when a repo can actually start to take place. We tried the other day to cancel a secure payment ( which we were forced to do as they said we have no other option, and would be up for repo if we didn't " secure '' a pre planned payment ) because of health issues that just came up, and in fact we almost couldn't afford to pay rent this month. But, they have once again refused. We can't afford to have no vehicle as well as a repo. Please help. We have tried trades, selling privately, refinances, etc. We have even tried to apply to transfer debt to credit card and got denied. Also, ever since we got the vehicle we have had concerns on the loan due to the numbers seeming to not be correct, but the dealership and bank said they are ... but .... please see.The loan even includes a XXXX trade POSITIVE equity. The dealership said the bank and them were fine with us heading out after the deal and we could just show insurance proof later on, also.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-09

Palos Park, IL

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: We are currently trying to refinance with a lender ; however, per our Title pull, we have an existing outstanding mortgage on our home from XX/XX/XXXX from TCF Bank, ( which was a first mortgage from the purchase ) that was never recorded as being satisfied / paid off ( even though it we refinanced with another company in XXXX and our first mortgage was paid off via that refinance ). We faxed a loan satisfaction / release request on XX/XX/XXXX to TCF Bank, and since then this has not been satisfied. We have called TCF Bank every week since then ( sometimes several times a week ) to find out why this document hasn't been recorded yet with our County, and they give a different story every time ( it's still processing, it's delayed, it's been satisfied / processed, it was sent to the County, it wasn't sent to the county yet, etc. ). Also, we can never speak with anyone but customer service, as they will never connect us to anyone in the loan / lien department there. We have been given the runaround for over 2 months now, and since then we have not only lost our loan rate lock ( which we paid over {$2500.00} for ), but also months of lost savings from not being able to refinance ( over {$500.00} a month for several months now ). TCF Bank refuses to send us the document directly so that we can bring it to the County for recording ourselves, and will not give us a straight answer as to why this has never been recorded with our county.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-06

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Untimely Response

2019-09-05

Wonder Lake, IL

Problem caused by your funds being low

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Non-sufficient funds and associated fees
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-02

Chicago, IL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Fee problem
Complaint: Hi my name is XXXX XXXX with phone number XXXX XXXX XXXX..i was custumer of tcf bank illinois i wasn't happy about their services and illegal fees..so i decided to close my account but they charged me amount of aver 200 $ just illegal over draft fees..i refused to pay it..but they reported me and put me in checklist so i can't open checking account with any bank..it 's has been around 4 years ago ... i try to solve problem but with no results..few months ago i received check of refund from federal trade commission because they catch my tcf bank charging me illegal fees.from my checking account so federal found me paying other illegal fees between XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX..shame on them..now i need my right to let tcf bank to remove. Me from checklists so i can be free to open checking account with another banks ..also i need to be reimbursed me XXXX $ for this problem and the big issues they make it for me for years so i still as American citizen can open any bank account because of illegal overdraft fees i have been charged ..i need your and i believe in American justice i believe in your guts i believe on land of uncle sam thanks
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-27

Chicago, IL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Fee problem
Complaint: I ordered laser checks from a branch of the bank and I was charged a fee. The checks were not what I ordered and they were not picked up at the branch. The branch then reordered the checks and I was charged another fee - but the original check fee was never reversed.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-08-26

Milwaukee, WI

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Fee problem
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-08-23

Itasca, IL

Problem caused by your funds being low

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Overdrafts and overdraft fees
Complaint: We enrolled in the overdraft protection. After doing so we received a total of {$100.00} in overdraft fees. The employees are not informing us how this system works, until we get a overdraft fee and are like oh Im so sorry you didnt know how it worked. We deposited money into the account to cover the balance and there was another fee. The bank is TCF bank. They say that it was posted after the money was posted but online it shows no charge after our deposit. It seems like they are just making up reasons to not give us back our money, this seems like its illegal for them to do this, and we want to file charges.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-21

IN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Complaint: On XX/XX/2019 I realized my checking and savings account had been emptied and immediately called my bank (TCF)At which time I was made aware that someone called in on the XXXX of XXXX claiming to be me, asked for all of my account balances and transferred all the money from my savings to my checking account. They then reported my card ending in XXXX as stolen and went to a TCF location to pick up a new card. They then used this card to remove all the money from my checking account totaling an amount of $XXXX.This same day I made my fraud claim letting them know that it was likely the theives used an I.D and social security number that was stolen with my purse sometime early in XX/XX/XXXX and committed Identity theft. It should be noted that tcf was aware of this theft because I gave them this information when I cancelled my card ending in XXXX in early XX/XX/XXXX (when my purse was stolen). for them to send me the card which I had in my possession at the time of this incident ending in XXXX (which the thieves cancelled to enact these fraudulent transaction). I made them aware of this again on XX/XX/XXXX, let the representative know that it was not me that called in on the XXXX, and gave them the reference number for the police report which details that my purse along with my I.D, S.S card, and tcf card ending in XXXX was stolen after a theif busted out my car window to take my property. The reference number to that police report is XXXX. I also assured them that no where in my stolen possessions was there any documentation detailing my security pin because I have never written it down and have never given it to another party.On XX/XX/XXXX I called TCF to check the status of my claim and was told that on XX/XX/XXXX my claim was denied because they believed I was the person who canceled my card ending in XXXX on the XXXX, picked up the new card, and withdrew the money from my account.On this day I requested a reevaluation requesting, if possible, that they check their camera footage from the bank where the card that was issued fraudulently was claimed to verify this was not me. I also reiterated to them that I was not the person who called in on the XXXX to cancel my card ending in XXXX which is the last card I had in my possession. In addition I pointed out that typically whenever I contact TCF about my account they would verify my current address and phone number which is information that was not stolen with my purse ( they had an old I.D with an address that was 2 years old)which caused me to suspect these security checks were bypassed when the theives called in and when they picked up a new card at a branch. Other information I gave them which I thought might be helpful included the facts that I have not called in to get my balance in years because I use their app (which is how I found out my account had been cleared out) and also that I have only ever called them from my current phone number which would have been different from the number the thieves called from.Since XX/XX/XXXX they have refunded money that was taken with the fraudulently achieved card that was spent at some gas stations and a dunken donuts but have not acknowledged the $XXXX that was stolen from me via atm. To this date (XX/XX/2019) my reeavulation has been pending eventhough I was given the expectation that my case would be resolved in 5-7 business days.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-08-21

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-19

GA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Complaint: The co-owner of an auto loan with Gateway One Lending & Finance filed Chapter XXXX bankruptcy which was granted XX/XX/XXXX. I, the party that did NOT file bankruptcy, continued making payments for several years with no default whatsoever before, during, or after the bankruptcy of the other party. No negative information transpired to my credit report throughout the life of the loan until I paid off the vehicle. I made my regular payment in XX/XX/XXXX, and on XX/XX/XXXX called and paid off the remaining balance. I then get a notification that my FICO score dropped from XXXX to XXXX which is how I found out that Gateway incorrectly charged the account off and report as XX/XX/XXXX being a serious delinquent payment. I have tried numerous times calling and they have advised that the account is protected under bankruptcy law and this is the way it is. They have dragged me down as if I was the one that filed bankruptcy and as if they never received payment for any of the months. They never sent me any statements or mail regarding the account. I could not see my transaction history online and had to call and request it. With that being said, they sent me one transaction history which was then revised after the dispute and I was sent a second "CORRECTED" transaction history of the loan.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-08-17

Belle Isle, FL

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-16

Cottage Grove, MN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Fee problem
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-15

College Park, NV

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Billing problem
Company Response: Company believes complaint is the result of an isolated error Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-14

Colo Spgs, CO

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-12

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-12

Gr, MI

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Problem while selling or giving up the vehicle
Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX, XXXX XXXX located in XXXX, MI repossessed my vehicle for owed payments to Gateway Lending & Finance for a XXXX XXXX XXXX. I attempted to contact Gateway One that same day but never was able to speak with an actual representative live. I finally got a hold of someone at Gateway XX/XX/XXXX. The person I spoke with directed me to the repossession collection agency XXXX XXXX to obtain my items from my vehicle as permitted by Michigan law. I contacted XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX XXXX XXXX and spoke with a person claiming to work off of appointments. Since the vehicle was repossessed from XXXX XXXX, MI to XXXX, MI there is at least a 30 minute drive for me to get my items back. I told the person I would have to contact XXXX XXXX back again after I arrange for a ride to pick my items up. I was under the impression that I would have time to actually go through the vehicle, the person at XXXX XXXX claimed it was a 30 minute appointment. I contacted XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX after arranging transportation at XXXX XXXX and leave a message. The person contacts me back at XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX. We agree to an appointment at XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX for me to be able to remove my items. I ended up being late for my appointment since my elderly, XXXX mother let me drive her car there but got lost on the way to pick me up. I contacted XXXX XXXX at XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX to confirm our appointment at XXXX XXXX, the person I spoke with stated ok. I contacted them again at XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX to let her know I was running late, there was no answer nor any answering machine when I called. I called again at XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX and left a message stating I was running late. Once I arrive at XXXX XXXX the person claimed our appointment was at XXXX XXXX very rudely instead of XXXX XXXX as if wanting some kind of argument despite our phone call confirming the latter time earlier on XX/XX/XXXX. The person claimed the paper I signed was to waive any fees associated with removing my items from my vehicle that may be imposed by XXXX XXXX. She then told me to stand outside of the office. Seconds later she threw a trash bag with holes in it and full of my items onto the ground but did not say another word to me. Once I was able to go through the items in detail in the trash bag I realized that there are at least 2 items missing that were in my inner console of my vehicle which belong to me. I contacted XXXX XXXX to notify them of the missing items at XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX and left a message. XXXX XXXX lied about our confirmed appointment time and stole at least 2 items from my vehicle. I have my cell phone call listings to show when I contacted XXXX XXXX to obtain my items from my vehicle as proof.
Company Response: Company believes complaint caused principally by actions of third party outside the control or direction of the company Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-08

Cary, IL

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-02

Dalton, MN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Fee problem
Complaint: I noticed on the XXXX that i was negative in my account. I have until XXXX through tcf to fix it.so i deposited XXXX dollars to fix my negative balance at XXXX that night.which left me at XXXX.The next day XX/XX/XXXX i noticed i was negative again.So i deposited XXXX at XXXX that morning which left me at XXXX. On XX/XX/XXXX i woke up, checked my account and noticed i had an XXXX over draft fee. When i called to ask why, the lady told me my negative balance was from the day prior.which is impossible considering i fixed my account the day prior.luckily she agreed to help and take off -XXXX to make it -XXXX.i called back again that day still not understanding and they then told me its possible my fees came out at noon on the XXXX.which still doesnt make sense.they charged me 5 over draft fees total. One which i shouldnt have even gotten considering im allowed to have up to negative XXXX bucks before being charged.when breaking down the over draft fees, they charged me one for -XXXX. I went into the bank today for them to tell me that my funds on the XXXX must have came out after i fixed my account with the XXXX dollars that day.so basically what they are trying to say is they must have taken the funds out at after XXXX on the XXXX.when i asked if they could tell me what time kwik trip took out those fees he told me there isnt a way of knowing because they dont have the times when kwik trip ran it through ( which makes no sense ) however, they showed me what times the other funds came out but when they showed me they told me they could not give me that form to leave with because its the banks. How am i not able to take a copy of that home?! Please look into my account and please help me.i feel as though they are stealing from me.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-02

Itasca, IL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Complaint: I made some purchases online with a merchant name XXXX XXXX. the merchant receive over {$4000.00} worth of transaction using my TCF bank card. the merchant never render services nor ever send the merchandize I have order, I try to contact the merchant several time and no response at all, after some research I found out that the merchant not licensed nor is authorize to accept client from the usa nor usa citizen, that is a red flag that TFC fail to see. I have file a dispute with my bank TCF BANK several times and they fail to resolve the claim in my favor due to services not render or fraud merchant. my understanding is that always consumer is protected under those circumstances. therefor I would like to file a complaint against TCF bank for not resolving my claim.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-01

Shindler, SD

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-30

Bloomington, MN

Problem with fraud alerts or security freezes

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting


Complaint: Well, about my complaint. On XX/XX/2019, my issue is I experienced fraud worth {$4700.00} on my account. Initially, I had my Tcf bank card attached to my XXXX XXXX account. I was at work on that very day, the XX/XX/2019 when I received notifications that my money was taken from my account and wanted to know if I was the one who did it. I oof them I wasnt me, and ordered the to stop authorizing any money out of my account. After the call with the bank, I went straight to the police and filed a dispute. Police information is as below. Case # XXXX, file police report was about fraud Case # for the dispute XXXX File a police report -have fraud on my a/c Some called XXXX XXXX via XXXX XXXX I called to Confirm becoz some one is using ya name to Fruad I want my $ XXXX -tcf manager # XXXX My case is Under review!!! Need argent help funds, my family is so damaging and have bills polling up. Possibility of expediting this ; need provisional credit ASAP! Have upcoming deliverables with family and they all need money Dispute assigned to an analyst. That will be going over it, by Monday will shall have updated information Covered with a liability, they have to go through a process to recover. By this, Bank does instigate to get back funds back. XXXX XXXX phone - is the police that I called after the fraudulent activity and his information is as below ... .. Budge # XXXX Cell phone : XXXX Call police tomorrow and have a fair hearing. The type of problem I have is, my bank wont re-imburse me bank my money claiming that after their investigation, they found no information in my favor, yet I still have no idea how some one got money from my account. I never had this merchants name in my XXXX XXXX in the first place, secondly, they money in the amount {$4700.00} Here is some of m information with the XXXX XXXX representative.. Hello, Does the bank now have to refund me since they are reliable to protect me as a reliable customer. I even tired calling the number which was provided ( recipient ) and was never existed? Whats the way forward here, I am getting a court hearing soon with my attorney and wan na know whats in for me from now on. All that way investigate is what any person would see, by just collecting what the fraudulent activity was from my XXXX XXXX account and putting on paper. Why didnt they go against the receipt thereafter? Loads of unanswered questions that I guess will present to court. Get XXXX for XXXX From : XXXX XXXX <XXXX> Sent : Wednesday, XX/XX/2019 XXXX XXXX To : XXXX Subject : RE : Refund a Payment Hello, Thank you for reaching out. A dispute ( or chargeback ) occurs when a cardholder contacts their bank and requests a payment be reversed. Unfortunately, the bank resolved the dispute in the recipients favor. Please note, this decision was made by your card-issuing bank and not XXXX XXXX. This resolution is final, so we are unable to continue challenging this dispute. If you would like to further pursue the returned funds, you will need to resolve it directly with the recipient. Excessive disputes may lead to termination of services. To learn more, please visit XXXX XXXX Terms of Service and Payment Terms. Best regards, XXXX | XXXX XXXX -- -- -- -- -- -- -- - Original Message -- -- -- -- -- -- -- - From : XXXX XXXX [ XXXX ] Sent : XX/XX/2019 XXXX XXXX To : XXXX Subject : RE : Refund a Payment Hello, We have completed our investigation and we have reset your XXXX XXXX account. Because the 3rd party was unable to gain full access, we have been able to secure and return your account back to its original status. This has allowed us to preserve your payment history and retain any funds that were present in your XXXX Balance. Regarding any transaction involving your debit card ending in XXXX, the most expedient way for you to recover these funds is to contact your bank and dispute the unauthorized activity. When the dispute is filed, your card-issuing bank will handle resolving the issue. For additional security, we created a new XXXX XXXX number that is immediately available for use in-app. This action disabled your active physical XXXX XXXX. To order a new physical card : Tap XXXX XXXX at the top of your XXXX XXXX. Follow the prompts to Order your XXXX XXXX and add your signature. Once you are happy with your signature, ta p Next. Confirm your first and last name and enter in the correct mailing address and hit Done. Currently, our XXXX XXXX XXXX only communicates via email. We will never ask you to provide us with your XXXX XXXX Sign-In Code or PIN outside of the app. Additionally, XXXX XXXX will never require that you send a transaction, add funds to your balance, or make a purchase outside the app to receive account support. To further ensure your account security, please complete the following : Security Lock - Enable this setting to require your passcode or XXXX XXXX to authorize every XXXX payment. Personal Identification Number ( PIN ) - Protect it and keep it private. Do not write it on your card or store it with your card. Use a PIN that is difficult to guess. Avoid number sequences ( 1234 ), DOB, SSN, address, phone number, etc. Push Notifications - Enable for every transaction. We strongly encourage using an alternate or secondary email for additional security. Virtual Card - Hide your card details by clicking on your card. XXXX XXXX / XXXX XXXX / Passcode - Enable enhanced login security measures on all devices. Because all devices vary, you may need to check your device manual for more information. Email Two-Factor Authentication - Enable for an additional layer of security. We appreciate your patience throughout the review process. Please let us know if you have any additional questions. Thank you, XXXX XXXX XXXX -- -- -- -- -- -- -- - Original Message -- -- -- -- -- -- -- - From : [ XXXX ] Sent : XX/XX/2019 XXXX XXXX To : Subject : Refund a Payment Hello there, I want a complete update for the dispute I filled about fraud on my account in last couple days. ref : XXXX : ref Step 1 : What is this complaint about? Fraud Step 2 : What type of problem are you having? Wanted my money back in full Step 3 : What happened? Money was taken out of my account worth {$4700.00} Step 4 : What company is this complaint about? Fraudulent activity Step 5 : Who are the people involved? XXXX XXXX, Tcf bank and me XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-30

Burnsville, MN

Problem caused by your funds being low

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Overdrafts and overdraft fees
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2022 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy