Seterus, Inc.

Consumer Complaints

There are over 4489 complaints on file for Seterus, Inc.. Dated between 2019-02-19 and 2012-03-23.

Complaints Page 4

2018-11-27

Springdale, OR

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-27

NJ

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: In XXXX, 2018, Seterus, Inc. sent me another repayment plan. I have made two payments as required by the that plan. However, Seterus, Inc. sent an intent to foreclose even though I made the required payments according to the repayment plan. The intent to foreclose claims that I owe over {$4000.00}, but when I received my XXXX bill for the next mortgage payment, the XXXX bill shows I owe a little over {$3.00}, XXXX. The {$2000.00}. I have made numerous complaints to Seterus, Inc. about sending me repayment plans the its refusal to comply to policy/rules set forth in its own plans! I ask that CFPB investigate the actions of Seterus , Inc .
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-27

CT

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Complaint: I currently reside in our home that was purchased for XXXX in XXXX, and we applied to refi in the late XXXX 's and early XXXX 's for college loans and roof repair and unfortunately, unbeknown did not know that the lenders were predatory lenders who escalated our loan to double and now triple the amount to now XXXX! This Summer I was unemployed and unable to make payments for XXXX, XXXX, XXXX. Every week I would speak to a different person at XXXX and they would advise me on what to do and as I did so it was the wrong directions each time I spoke with a Seterus worker. I was told to send a payment of XXXX plus XXXX late charge in XX/XX/XXXX, by certified funds in which I did because there was a block on my account not to accept a personal check, From there I was told a payment plan could be worked out upon receiving those funds. However, the payment was returned the first week in XXXX and my house went into pre foreclosure on XXXX XXXX, XXXX. I happened to call and was told by another Seterus rep to pay XXXX prior to that and the next told me I could not make that payment because of the pre foreclosure status- I spoke with another Rep. he walked me through the modification app which was rejected because of previous modifications in XXXX, etc. I spoke to another Rep from Seterus and she said, " I was put on a re payment plan starting in XX/XX/XXXX, paying XXXX by the end of XXXX and each month until XX/XX/XXXX - Well, I received paper work that stated the repayment plan would be XXXX starting with the first payment due XX/XX/XXXX, instead of by the end of the month which would have given me more time and that's what I had planned for prior to the letter I received - which I think was unfair because the budget was set for the end of XXXX In addition, It must be paid the first of each month-not even the XXXX of the month - Our home is currently underwater and is only worth XXXX because of the predatory loan amount added on over the years which is now an outstanding amount of XXXX which should be reduced to the affordable amount. Not the predatory amount that is designed to put us out of our home after 24 years and continued increases by banks over the years and servicers making money. As a hard working person that was victimized almost 12 years ago I would like to see this predatory loan reduced so that we can afford to continue living in our home and not be foreclosed on and the repayment plan should have been more workable as was the first verbal agreement that was told for the end of each month and funds must be sent certified via XXXX XXXX to arrive the first of each month. I would like for this predatory loan to be reduced to a more affordable mortgage payment or the repayment plan to be more workable for each month. We worked hard to purchase our home and do not want to give it to the predatory lenders who have already made money off us-therefore, the house will continue to be in pre foreclosure status until XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-27

Asheville, NC

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Since Seterus, Inc., has taken over my home mortgage I have had repeated problems with them managing, handling and providing me requested information and documents. I also feel they have, in part, violated the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act ( RESPA ), 15 U.S.C. 1679-1679j, as noted below. Below is a list of several problems in which I need your agency to assist me with if possible. Issue Complaint 1 Failure to update my mailing address to reflect XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, NC XXXX. # 2 Failure to provide me a copy of my original loan documents. # 3 Failure to provide me a copy of my escrow statements for the last 12-months. # 4 Failure to provide me an account payment history for the last 24-months. I contend that Seterus is charging me {$19.00} a month late fee claiming I am a month behind in payments. My records indicated my account is current. # 5 Failure to process my request for an escrow account closure since I do qualify. # 6 Violation of the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act ( RESPA ), 15 U.S.C. 1679-1679j : 1. A consumer must receive an initial escrow statement which itemizes the estimated taxes, insurance premiums and other charges, if any, anticipated to be paid from the escrow account. 2. During servicing of a loan, the servicer must send a consumer an annual escrow statement summarizing the activity of the escrow account 3. If a consumer is charged an excessive amount for an escrow account or required to put extra money into an escrow account above the amount required by law. ISSUES 1. My mortgage payment is {$710.00}, {$190.00} ( principal ), {$300.00} ( interest ), {$220.00} ( escrow ). However, Seterus has been debiting from my account and extra {$19.00} for the past several months for a late fee, I do not owe. 2. In XX/XX/XXXX, my mortgage payment went to {$920.00}, {$190.00} ( principal ), {$290.00} ( interest ), {$430.00} ( escrow ). NO NOTICE WAS GIVEN TO ME. 3. I have been advised I will continue to pay this escrow amount until XX/XX/XXXX. This is an excessive amount. My property taxes have remained {$2600.00} for the past two years, my insurance payment {$810.00} per year.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-27

Dearborn Heights, MI

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: i have been receiving an extra charge every year recently from seterus company. last year i just paid the extra amount they requested, but this year they sent me a bill in the amount of {$2600.00} (? ), i called them few times and each time they gave me a different answers, like the first time they said i missed a payment in XXXX, then i missed a payment in XXXX, then XXXX, and so on, and each time i ask them foe what month i missed the payment, they never tell me, and when i request a history of my payments on the loan, the sent me a paper for re modification instead.my last call i spoke with the supervisor and she said that the issue started on XXXX of XXXX, when i made an early payment it went to the principal instead as a loan payment, and late fees started since than till present. the supervisor suggested that i send a plea request to the heard quarter of seterus and ask them to reverse the 5 payment that i made early and reinstate them as a loan payment and remove the late fees since it was not my fault. i did send a request and they denied my request and they keep suggested that i re modify the loan. i truly need your help of what to do or to resolve the issues with them knowing that it was there fault and they are trying to make me refinance. they are a lot to say, nut i am trying to keep it short and hopefully i will explain more when you respond to my request. thank you. XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-26

Cheverly, MD

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Frustrated beyond Frustration. I am trying not to lose all hope ; however, I am still trying to pull through to make this work and save my home of 13 years. Background information : On XX/XX/XXXX, I initially filed a complaint against my mortgage company Seterus , Inc. for not adhering to my approved loan modification with XXXX XXXX XXXX before it was sold to them. The original complaint # is XXXX ( documentation will be attached to the bottom of this complaint ). Based on my claim and supporting documentation, Seterus confirmed that they were in the wrong because they did receive the loan modification paperwork but did not act on it accordingly in XX/XX/XXXX. In their response, they stated that they would adjust my account accordingly, to accurately show the correct mortgage amount and that they will work with me on the signed agreement that I had with XXXX XXXX XXXX. Moving forward a year later, the issue has not been resolved, but more chaos and the uncertainty that is occurring is causing stress that should not be. When the initial complaint was filed and rectified, though I thought, a representative from Seterus ; XXXX XXXX sent communication and called to apologize for the situation and that she will be working with me to rectify the situation. After receiving the response from XXXX and a letter was sent from Seterus informing me that they will be in touch with me soon. Being proactive, I called XXXX XXXX ( Consumer and Government Affairs Department ) several times on XX/XX/XXXX leaving messages, but once I called the general XXXX number on XX/XX/XXXX, I finally got in contact with Ms. XXXX informing me that I was a particular case and that she will be handling my case. After several conversations with Ms. XXXX, she told me that I had two options : 1. Pay the balance off and try to reaffirm with Seterus on mortgage agreement or 2. Redo my loan modification with them to ensure that everything was properly recorded this time. After serious thought, I informed Ms. XXXX that I would like to redo my loan modification and she agreed that would be the best option. During these conversations, I received a letter from Seterus that they were in fault and they would adjust my account accordingly. At the same time, I also received a letter from Seterus informing me that my loan was sold to another financial institution. Two days later, I received a letter from my new mortgage company saying welcome and that I will be received a welcome package from them within the next couple of weeks. Few days after that letter I received a new letter from Seterus stating that my loan was sold in error and they are in the process of repurchasing it and sorry for the inconvenience. I immediately called XXXX XXXX, and she confirmed that my mortgage was sold to a new company ; however, it was bought back and again they will be working with me. I said ok that is fine. As the conversation progress, I started to her that I would still like to redo my loan modification and she informed me that would be ok and she would get back to me. Few weeks from that conversation in XX/XX/XXXX or XX/XX/XXXX XXXX XXXX personally called me and told me that everything is on a standstill because Seterus had to wait until the sold loan was put back into their system as being a XXXX XXXX. Ms. XXXX informed me a few weeks thereafter, the loan was received and it was showing in their system and she would reach out to me again soon. Throughout these phone calls, I started to receive correspondences from Seterus informing me that I was late on my mortgage and had a past due balance owed to them. The past due owe the original amount Seterus claimed that I owed when they did not honor the loan modification which also included other incidentals/payments for the loan. Due to the situation and timeframe, XXXX XXXX informed me that I should ignore the initial letters received ( those are system generated ) until I speak with her again and reapply for the loan modification once their system allows me to. Because Seterus, Inc., sold my loan to another company XXXX said it would take a couple of weeks for my loan to get put back into the system so the loan modification area can review my account. Several weeks to a month went by and no phone call. Finally, I received a phone call from Ms. XXXX in late XX/XX/XXXX or early XX/XX/XXXX informing me that I was still not in their system from the time they sold the loan to the time that they took it back. She also stated that they are working hard to put my account back in the system so the loan modification can review my account and inform me of my options. Moving forward from that conversation, which was my last conversation with Ms. XXXX, I received no other phone calls from her or any other representatives from Seterus, Inc. Also, no further mailings came in the mail as well. Based on that last conversation she said to wait until I hear from her and I did so. I looked in the mail and expected to receive a phone call ( which my number and email were on file ). But still nothing. As the time progressed and we moved into XX/XX/XXXX, a year later with no phone call or letters from Seterus ( which was weird ), a brown envelope was placed my porch from a law firm informing me that the house again may go into foreclosure proceedings. I was shocked and in disbelief. Again, I did what they asked, and again Im in the same situation of having my house put in foreclosure. I dont understand why Seterus does not want to work with me or why they are so dysfunctional in dropping the ball again. I am still hopeful that they will do right and redo the loan modification so I can live in the house that I have grown to love and continue to have my family live in a house that we enjoy an continue to grow in.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-26

Bensalem, PA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-19

Coconut Creek, FL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-16

Davie, FL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-15

Ft Lauderdale, FL

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: i had a flood and had NO issues getting funds from my insurance company. But the bank has had check for over 6 weeks and won't release funds. They leave messages to call them back, when you do you get a different rep. who doesn't know whats going on. They have asked for the same paperwork ( a summary page ). I have been waiting for 8 days for a manager to call me back. I am out of pocket for the contractor and the bank doesn't accept a cancelled check as proof of paymentand i speak to a different rep everytime i call who needs to review file. I am wondering what it takes to get my OWN MONEY BACK ... I have asked them to review our past conversations because of different information given, I have asked for a manager on 6 different calls and i get NOTHING!!!!! I have even asked to have the inspector come and see that we are 50 % done with work and hand deliver my funds i need to pay my contractor ... i am already {$61000.00} out of pocket -- -- there is no other funding avilable to complete this work ... .and today again for the 3rd time, they denied release for a summary page.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-15

FL

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: XX/XX/XXXX Seterus , Inc . XXXX XXXX. XXXX XXXX XXXX, CT XXXX Re : Loan Number : XXXX Please be advised that I was approved by your company for a Flex Modification on XX/XX/XXXX, and I made the first of three Trial Payments on XX/XX/XXXX. I was incapable of making the second payment because of the following medical reasons : Attached, please find medical records from XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, dated XX/XX/XXXX and XXXX, XXXX, ER admission charts from XXXX Hospital XXXX, dated XX/XX/XXXX, XXXX notes from XXXX Hospital XXXX and followup consults with XXXX XXXX, XXXX, who performed the XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX. Please note that XXXX XXXX scheduled the XXXX with XXXX XXXX for XX/XX/XXXX, 12 days after my first appointment, and that the XXXX XXXX ordered a XXXX on the spot, recognizing I required XXXX immediately. XXXX XXXX should have admitted me to the ER for a XXXX that very day. As a result, the XXXX became XXXX, and I could have easily cXXXX XXXX and XXXX. I admitted myself to the ER on XX/XX/XXXX because I could not swollow, and I was spitting out a XXXX from the XXXX that looked like black dirt. Neither XXXX Hospital XXXX nor XXXX Hospital XXXX XXXX had qualified XXXX to treat me, so XXXX XXXX was sent my ER records and XXXX XXXX and I was XXXX to XXXX that evening ( XX/XX/XXXX XXXX and was XXXX on the next morning. Please note that I was in the hospital continuously until being discharged on XX/XX/XXXX, and was subjected to the worst nursing care one could imagine. I lost 24 pounds because of the clear diet and was on a XXXX XXXX until the day before discharge. I was also on XXXX every four hours around the clock the entire hospitalization. I had NO MEANS of making the second Trial Payment, no ability to even write a check or make a telephonecall. ( I had no check book and was virtually unable to talk because of the XXXX ). After being discharged, it took me a month to gain XXXX XXXX XXXX to even XXXX, and two months to gain my strength to even XXXX. I have enclosed a copy of my XXXX checking account dated XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX, indicating an ending balance of {$1200.00}, which were adequate funds to cover the second Trial Payment. Again, I was INCAPABLE of making this payment, as cited above. I was then diagnosed with XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX in XX/XX/XXXX. Fortunately, the XXXX has not XXXX ( spread ) beyond the XXXX, due to a new medication prescribed by XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, at the XXXX XXXX in XXXX, FL. I was cleared by my medical team to work, and I secured a job as a XXXX with XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, FL on XX/XX/XXXX. Enclosed with the above data, are current bank statements and deposit checks from my employer dated XX/XX/XXXX, XX/XX/XXXX, XX/XX/XXXX, XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX. I have also enclosed a new Mortgage Assistance Application, dated XX/XX/XXXX. I respectfully request that I be approved for a Loan Modification. I wish to stay in my home, in which I have resided for 20 years. Sincerely, XXXX XXXX XXXX cc : XXXX XXXX Corporate Representative, Seterus , Inc . XXXX XXXX Attorney at Law, XXXX XXXX TO : CFPB Please be advised that the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX in Washington, D.C. has copies of all the above cited exhibits. My contact there is Ms. XXXX, XXXX, Option XXXX, Ext. XXXX
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-08

Baltimore, MD

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-07

Odell, OR

Unable to get your credit report or credit score

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Other problem getting your report or credit score
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-07

Tampa, FL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-06

Clair Mel, FL

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-01

Cheverly, MD

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-01

Rockland, MA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-01

Pittston, ME

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: We applied for a Home Affordable Refinance Program and were told that we had already gone through that before so we didn't qualify. However, even though we had applied for it before, we had never been approved for it nor had anything been filed at the Registry of Deeds as far as any modification of our Mortgage Deed or lowering of our payments. We had already contacted the Maine Attorney General 's Office who checked into it for us and confirmed that there was nothing filed at the Registry. We waited to make the payments because that's what we were told to do until the bank made their decision. Once we got the denial, my family attorney said that I should probably ask the bank if they would be willing to do a Deed in Lieu of Foreclosure, which is what I did. Although I did this very reluctantly, the bank said they could do that and asked permission to check my credit and gave me a timeline. I told them I needed more time to think about it. They said that was fine, which was around XX/XX/XXXX to the XXXX, XX/XX/2018. I got very sick around the XXXX and had a really bad XXXX. I was in bed for several days and couldn't move. I feel as thought they have been so deceptive since were began this whole Home Affordable Refinance thing that they should be wiping out a lot of their so-called fees. They have added virtually " thousands of dollars '' to our mortgage and called them " appraisal '' fees when all they do is have someone `` drive by. '' Up until XX/XX/2018, Seterus, Inc. was not providing me with any statements indicating how much was owed on the loan, principle and interest, insurance and taxes, etc. I am XXXX and my husband is XXXX. He had a XXXX a couple of years ago. My daughter helps take care of us. She resides in XXXX. On XX/XX/XXXX, I was finally able to go back home to do some cleaning as my granddaughter and her boyfriend agreed to move in to help us out so my daughter wouldn't have to deal with running back and forth. I notified the bank that I wasn't going to do the Deed in Lieu of on or about XX/XX/XXXX that I had family that was willing to help me get caught up. They sent me an updated statement and gave me a deadline ofXX/XX/XXXX to pay my bill. When we got to my house on XX/XX/XXXX, someone had broken my doors in, changed the lock on the front door, winterized my home so the water was off, the furnaced shut off, and no toilet facilities available. We could no longer stay there at all!!! Until I got so physically ill that I was XXXX, we were staying there every night upstairs! The bank ordered someone to go into my home without my permission and winterize it!!! Not only that, they broke down my doors to do it! They kicked in 3 doors in my cellar entrance ; they used something like a crowbar to dig out the locked entrance to my kitchen doors and the same in my front entryway. When I contacted the bank and the winterization place, they didn't seem to care. The bank actually said it was a " huge misunderstanding. '' I need something done about this. The keep quoting on my phone calls that " this is an attempt to collect a debt. One or more of the debtors has been discharged in bankruptcy .... '' Why are they doing this? XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-10-30

Jonesboro, GA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Public record information inaccurate
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-10-30

Ft Lauderdale, FL

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Problem with personal statement of dispute
Complaint: Entered into a disaster relief forbearance with lender under the XXXX XXXX disaster relief program as a result of Hurricane Irma. As part of the program, credit report was to be suppressed and no negative information was to be reported to the credit bureaus. During the forbearance period, I paid off the loan in full including including all the deferred payments when I sold the house. Upon payoff of the loan, I was reported to the credit bureaus as being 180+ days past due. I had this loan since XX/XX/2004 and was never late. The lender has refused to fix the issue and has advised that regardless of being under a disaster relief forbearance, they suppressed the reporting during the forbearance but when I paid off the loan, I was out of the forbearance period and had to report me negatively to the credit bureau.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-10-30

FL

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I received a forebearance as a result of my financial hardship due Hurricane Irma. I repeatedly attempted to work with Seterus regarding a modification. Three days prior to the forebearance expiring, Seterus informed me that I am not eligible for a modification because the loan has been modified 3 times already. One of the modifications was due to funds received by the State of FL due to the hardest hit program. The other second modification had an incorrect amount and the third modification was done to correct that amount and lower the interest rate. Seterus wrongfully denied me the modification. I am a XXXX year old veteran of the XXXX XXXX and I submitted all necessary paperwork to have the modification approved. I only asked that the back payments be added to the principal balance and the loan recalculated.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-10-29

Mount Holly, OH

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
Complaint: " QWR Notice of Error '' Multiple 524 Injunctions have been executed on my loan by Seterus starting at assignment into XXXX though XXXX. Seterus took a position that they were granted a conditional relief of stay given by the courts and placed a Forced Placed Insurance Policy on the property while the stay was in affect. This statement is not accurate because the stay had a condition that if the debtor did not execute a payment to correct a deficiency in the loan the stay would go into effect. The payment was paid by the debtor so the stay was not issued per the courts the court added that if in the futrure Sterus would have to send the debtor notice of intent and Seterus has never done so. Setrus at that time issued a Forced placed insurance policy on the property while the debtors insurance was on file with the court this encumbrance was a direct violation of the debtors plan and the federal stay 524 Injunction. I am requesting all periodic monthly notices, payoff and monthly billing statements. Seterus was party to a reaffirmation agreement that reduced the debt for this loan as part of a chapter XXXX bankruptcy proceedings in XXXX. Ever since the signing of that agreement Seterus has asked for discharged debt on the monthly statements. Seterus has included the discharged crammed down debt as interest still owed on the loan also Seterus has added the discharged debt to payoff statement s that I have requested on the loan since XXXX. When the loan was sold or transferred to the new investor XXXX and loan servicing company XXXX the were given the wrong amount owed and a insurance policy that now has been canceled because of the negligence of Seterus.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-10-29

Bethany, OH

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
Complaint: " QWR Notice of Error '' Multiple 524 Injunctions have been executed on my loan by Seterus starting at assignment into XX/XX/XXXX though XX/XX/XXXX. Seterus took a position that they were granted a conditional relief of stay given by the courts and placed a Forced Placed Insurance Policy on the property while the stay was in affect. This statement is not accurate because the stay had a condition that if the debtor did not execute a payment to correct a deficiency in the loan the stay would go into effect. The payment was paid by the debtor so the stay was not issued per the courts the court added that if in the future Seterus would have to send the debtor notice of intent and Seterus has never done so. Seterus at that time issued a Forced placed insurance policy on the property while the debtors insurance was on file with the court this encumbrance was a direct violation of the debtors plan and the federal stay 524 Injunction. I am requesting all periodic monthly notices, payoff and monthly billing statements. Seterus was party to a reaffirmation agreement that reduced the debt for this loan as part of a chapter XXXX bankruptcy proceedings in XX/XX/XXXX. Ever since the signing of that agreement Seterus has asked for discharged debt on the monthly statements. Seterus has included the discharged crammed down debt as interest still owed on the loan also Seterus has added the discharged debt to payoff statement s that I have requested on the loan since XX/XX/XXXX. When the loan was sold or transferred to the new investor XXXX and loan servicing company XXXX the were given the wrong amount owed and a insurance policy that now has been canceled because of the negligence of Seterus.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-10-29

Bethany, OH

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
Complaint: " QWR Notice of Error '' Multiple 524 Injunctions have been executed on my loan by Seterus starting at assignment into XX/XX/XXXX though XX/XX/XXXX. Seterus took a position that they were granted a conditional relief of stay given by the courts and placed a Forced Placed Insurance Policy on the property while the stay was in affect. This statement is not accurate because the stay had a condition that if the debtor did not execute a payment to correct a deficiency in the loan the stay would go into effect. The payment was paid by the debtor so the stay was not issued per the courts the court added that if in the future Seterus would have to send the debtor notice of intent and Seterus has never done so. Seterus at that time issued a Forced placed insurance policy on the property while the debtors insurance was on file with the court this encumbrance was a direct violation of the debtors plan and the federal stay 524 Injunction. I am requesting all periodic monthly notices, payoff and monthly billing statements. Seterus was party to a reaffirmation agreement that reduced the debt for this loan as part of a chapter XXXX bankruptcy proceedings in XX/XX/XXXX. Ever since the signing of that agreement Seterus has asked for discharged debt on the monthly statements. Seterus has included the discharged crammed down debt as interest still owed on the loan also Seterus has added the discharged debt to payoff statement s that I have requested on the loan since XX/XX/XXXX. When the loan was sold or transferred to the new investor XXXX and loan servicing company XXXX the were given the wrong amount owed and a insurance policy that now has been canceled because of the negligence of Seterus.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-10-29

Staten Island, NY

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy