Seterus, Inc.

Consumer Complaints

There are over 4489 complaints on file for Seterus, Inc.. Dated between 2019-02-19 and 2012-03-23.

Complaints Page 3

2018-12-27

Niantic, CT

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I am attempting a XXXX XXXX Exempted assumption as part of a divorce settlement. I received the property as part of the divorce settlement. The property was quit claimed to me, was made a defendant in foreclosure, even though he was not on the mortgage note. During the mediation process, the servicer, Seterus had to set up an exempted XXXX XXXX assumption process, since they had none, even though it has been the law since XXXX. Over the many months it took for the servicer to set up a process, I was laid off from my XXXX position. I still want to retain the property, maintaining that the I should have been treated as if I was the original borrower, given an unemployment forbearance, with a modification when/if needed post forbearance, consistent with the law, CFPB-2014-0016 12CFR Part 1026 " Application of Regulation Z Ability to Repay Rules to Certain Situations involving Successors in Interest and XXXX XXXX Guidelines The Servicer maintained that the " Ability to Repay '' precludes me, from the exempt assumption. I attempted to clarify with XXXX XXXX itself. The person reviewing the case did not return multiple calls and made an incorrect determination based on me not being on the original mortgage note. During a subsequent discussion with a supervisor, on XX/XX/XXXX, still seeking clarification, I explained that the note was sold on XX/XX/XXXX ( I was notified XX/XX/XXXX ) to the XXXX XXXX supervisor, who was unaware. She then said, during the ensuing conversation, that she was not able to do anything else, since XXXX XXXX did not own the loan any more. This still leaves the XXXX XXXX and the Serterus believing of relevance of " ability to repay '' as a valid reason or not for not allowing an exempted Garn St Germain assumption. I am in the process of fighting this pro se, getting it back into mediation in CT. The mediation result should transfer through to new note owner. XXXX XXXX and Serterus need to know they are not processing these transaction correctly however.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-27

Indianapolis, IN

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Complaint: Seterus Claim On XX/XX/XXXX my father passed away in Florida leaving me as the Executrix of his estate. At that time my daughter was living in the home he owned at XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, Indiana. She had been paying rent for several years on that home. Unbeknownst to me, six months prior to his death he took the rental payments from my daughter but didnt pay the mortgage. Therefore, the day after his death I received notice that the house was being foreclosed on. Since my daughter was living there I worked with Seterus ; the mortgage holder, for almost a year to recover the property and return it to good standing. At the time of the estate settlement, my daughter and I were made the owners of the property and our names were the only ones on the deed. On XX/XX/XXXX, an electrical fire occurred destroying the home. I contacted XXXX at that time and they granted me a Forbearance Agreement while the home was being rebuilt. The Forbearance period was to be from XX/XX/XXXX to XX/XX/XXXX. When the house burned down my daughter decided she no longer wanted to live there even though the home was being rebuilt. I decided I would take the home and live there myself. I called Seterus several times after the forbearance agreement went into effect to ensure I didnt need to make a payment. I was assured each time that no payment was due until the forbearance period was over and that if I received any letters to the contrary I should simply disregard them. In late XX/XX/XXXX my home was finished being rebuilt. My daughter had signed the home over to me making me the sole owner of the property by deed. At that time I wanted to refinance the remaining mortgage and contacted Seterus to tell them that the home was rebuilt and that I was looking at refinancing. I again asked if I needed to make any payments prior to XXXX and was told no. Further I was told that if I did make a payment it would muddy the waters and cause confusion. In XXXX I was working with a person from XXXX on the refinance. In early XXXX I received notice from Seterus that my home was being repossessed for non-payment. The XXXX rep and I both spoke with Seterus about this but they stated that when I called in late XXXX to say that I was keeping the home and moving in myself, the person I spoke with initiated a loan modification that Seterus claims negated my forbearance agreement. I was not made aware of that during the phone call. I then started receiving threatening phone calls from Seterus requesting the 5 months payments because my home was in foreclosure. To save my home I paid the five months premium and caught the home up to date as they stated. This payment was made in XXXX prior to the end of the forbearance agreement deadline. I was told by a supervisor that the record of foreclosure would be erased because I made full payment prior to XX/XX/XXXX when the forbearance agreement would end. That did not happen because when XXXX requested a payment history, the 5 months of late premiums was included. This caused XXXX to refuse to offer me a mortgage at a then lesser rate than what I am ending up with. XXXX and I decided to go a different way around Seterus to get my home refinanced. We are refinancing as an inherited property. During the months from late XXXX through XXXX several requests for payoff were requested from Seterus. Each time they provided a 24 hour window to make the payoff payment or the amount would increase. On XX/XX/XXXX XXXX XXXX sent Seterus the payoff amount they had requested. On XX/XX/XXXX XXXX XXXX was told by Seterus that the payoff amount was rejected and that an additional {$2900.00} was needed to get the loan current. The {$2900.00} included a XXXX payment ( which should not have been assessed since we were paying off the mortgage prior to the XXXX payment due date ) and {$1700.00} of attorney fees for what appears to be the action they took prematurely in attempting to foreclose the mortgage prior to the end of the Forbearance Agreement. As of this date, XX/XX/XXXX, I have paid the additional {$2900.00} out of duress and am awaiting to hear what other charges Seterus may attempt to make me pay. Seterus has caused me great stress and a lot of money by their actions. I am trying to sever ties with Seterus by refinancing with XXXX and have done everything I was asked ; and forced, to do.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-21

Macclenny, FL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: XXXX working on behalf of Seterus has is withholding the check in which they received from my insurance company to repair my roof and den area. The work has been completed by all contractors and all documents that XXXX has required have been uploaded and validated as received, but they refuse to release the actual check. Consequently, contractors are now in the process of suing me civilly for their funds. No one at XXXX seems to know what is going on. Each person states that they have placed the payment request but for some reason the check has not been cut.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-21

Clarkesville, GA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: SETERUS, INC. CROOKED SERVICER ON MY MORTGAGE. WHILE I HAVE NO PROBLEM PAYING A LATE FEE BUT I AM NOT PAY FOR WHATEVER CHARGES THEY CONTINUE TO PUT IN THE MISCELLANEOUS COLUMN. NOW THEY WANT TO CHARGE ATTORNEY FEES FOR WHAT? WHEN DOES SOMEONE INVESTIGATE THIS COMPANY? I WAS XXXX IN XX/XX/2018 FROM A CHAPTER XXXX, THIS COMPANY CONTINUES TO CHARGE PROPERTY APPRAISAL MONTHLY, NOW THEY START CHARGING ATTORNEY FEES. FIRST OFF I DO NOT OWE THEM NOTHING BUT MY MORTGAGE. THEY CONTINUE TO TAKE MY MORTGAGE TAKING ALL THEIR ERRONEOUS FEES FIRST WHILE THEN THEY SAY MY MORTGAGE IS LATE. I AM SICK AND TIRED OF THIS! THIS COMPANY IS A ONE STAR RATING WITH MANY COMPLAINTS! NOW THEY ARE PUTTING MY ACCOUNT BACK IN THE RED RITE AFTER I GOT ALL THIS XXXX CLEARED. I AM NOT PAYING ANYMORE LEGAL FEES FOR THESE CROOKED THIEVES. I HAD A CLEAN ACCOUNT AS OF XXXX, BANK STATEMENTS AND A XXXX FOR THEM TO THREATEN ME IN XXXX FOR SOME DOCUMENT I COULD NOT FILE AND MY ATTORNEY SAID THE CASE WAS XXXX BUT SETERUS INC THREATENED TO ACCELERATE MY LOAN IF I DID NOT PAY THEM {$2000.00} FOR WHAT? WHO IS GOING TO LOOK INTO THESE PEOPLE AND THEIR FRAUDULENT ACTIONS AGAINST SOMEONE JUST TRYING TO PAY A MORTGAGE? I OWED NOTHING IN XXXX AND XX/XX/2018 NOW THEY KEEP ADDING ATTORNEY FEES, I PAY MY MORTGAGE THEY TAKE ALL THESE FEES THEN MORTGAGE IS LATE? I WANT THIS STOPPED
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-19

Bonaventure, FL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: There is an ERROR on my account On XX/XX/2017 we were informed about a program that we thought was to help homeowners recover from hurricane and storm expenses. As we were told for this program we were to stop payments for a year. It was our understanding that the amount accumulated for that year would then be extended and added on to the balance due on our home. Nowhere did Seterus alert us that we had to pay this money upfron. Now we are struggling to make payments and no payment plan has been offered to us. During the program, some payments were made but meanwhile, we are thinking that funds sent for the mortgage were being put towards the capital and it wasn't. During the end of the program, we paid XXXX come to find out we have to pay the rest in one payment. We never received any information notifying us on these terms and now we are being threatened with foreclosure. Please respond accordingly. Thank you
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-18

Doral, FL

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-17

NY

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I am experiencing an issue with Loan Servicing company Seterus , Inc with respect to them receiving and applying my monthly mortgage payments. They have willfully limited my options with paying my monthly mortgage. This has now caused my payments to fall behind the due dates. On XX/XX/XXXX I attempted to make a payment through their on line payment service for {$2300.00} which would have satisfied my XX/XX/XXXX due date and make the loan current. The transaction confirmation # for the payment was # XXXX. Seterus Inc did not accept the payment. On XX/XX/XXXX I sent by overnight mail at my expense a second payment for {$2300.00} which would have satisfied my XX/XX/XXXX due date. Seterus once again did not accept the check which has now caused my mortgage to be late by 45 days. Seterus evidently now has given me 1 option to pay my mortgage which is by cashier check which is causing undue aggravation and hardship. I request the ability to make payments online through the Seterus website or by personal check.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-14

Royal Palm Beach, FL

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: We fell behind due to repairs needed to the property. The problems has now been resolved.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-13

Ft Lauderdale, FL

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Complaint: SETERUS is in violation of The Fair Credit Reporting Act ( FCRA ) due to misreporting and not correcting the status of the Account to the major credit reporting agencies XXXX, XXXX, and XXXX. In addition, they are in breach of contract of the Forbearance Agreement dated XX/XX/XXXX ( superseded agreement dated XX/XX/XXXX ) and XX/XX/XXXX ( collectively the Forbearance ) for not complying with the terms which specifically stated we will not charge you any late fees or report you to the credit bureaus as being delinquent.. The reporting in the credit report is reflecting the status of the Account as past due, >120 delinquent, severe delinquency, adverse account. The reporting is inaccurate since the Forbearance Agreement entered with Seterus Inc started XX/XX/XXXX and ended XX/XX/XXXX ( Forbearance Period ) as a result of the FEMA-declared disaster Hurricane Irma stated that WE WILL NOT CHARGE YOU ANY LATE FEES OR REPORT YOU TO THE CREDIT BUREAUS AS BEING DELINQUENT. Since the origination of the loan in XX/XX/XXXX, the Account has never been delinquent. During the Forbearance Period, the loan Account was paid off in full on XX/XX/XXXX including all deferred payments from XX/XX/XXXX thru the date of closing. An estoppel letter was provided by Seterus to the closing agent outlining payments due. This amount was paid at closing and no obligation was due to Seterus after the loan was paid in full. We became aware that Seterus reported the Account as delinquent when in XX/XX/XXXX I applied for a line increase on my credit card and was denied due to severe delinquency reported in my credit bureau. As a result of the inaccurate reporting, my credit score was severely impaired and dropped from a XXXX in XX/XX/XXXX to XXXX in XX/XX/XXXX. I filed a dispute with the three major credit bureaus in XX/XX/XXXX which resulted in the following outcome : XXXX updated the files to include that the status as Paid, Closed/Never late. Deferred, payments begin XX/XX/XXXX. XXXX continues to report the status as being 120+ past due. There is nothing in the pay history that shows that the account was ever 120+ days past due. XXXX continues to report the account as an Adverse Account reflecting the account as >120 Days Past Due. There is nothing in the pay history that shows that the account was ever 120+ days past due. I received a letter from Seterus, Inc. dated XX/XX/XXXX followed up by a letter dated XX/XX/XXXX listing the payment of the loan in full cancelled the forbearance agreement as an explanation to reporting of the delinquency. This is inaccurate since the payment in full satisfied the Forbearance Agreement, as well as the promissory note and mortgage resulting in no further obligation to Seterus and/or XXXX XXXX. The Lender/Servicer breached the contract since they had an obligation to comply with the terms of the Forbearance Agreement which included not reporting the loan delinquent. Furthermore, this is a XXXX XXXX owned loan which Seterus has to follow the servicing guidelines provided by XXXX XXXX. Under the XXXX XXXX servicing guideline summary, it specifically stated that the disaster forbearance is not to be reported delinquent.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-13

NY

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I can send copies of the trial payments a little later, I am not home at the moment, My problem,,, I fell behind at seterus mortgage and after talking to them they agreed that if I make 3 trial payments on time my mortgage will be permanently modified. Sent in payment 1 and got a letter saying the funds were insufficient and placed in a suspense account, Same day got a letter saying my loan was sold to XXXX XXXX. I'm afraid that seterus is using this strategy to negate the lower trial payment agreement and forclose. Thanx.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-12

New Orleans, LA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-12

MA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Complaint: I have been trying to get current on my mortgage ( serviced by Seterus ) but the arrears became seemingly insurmountable. I was advised by the Seterus customer service team to apply for a loan modification to mitigate the potential loss and retain my home. I was not offered any other options. While the loan was under review for the loan modification, it was also scheduled for auction ( " double-tracking '' ). I was notified by the customer service rep I spoke to on Friday, XXXX XXXX that my loan modification was denied. To date, I have received nothing in writing stating the denial. ( It is only because I have called Seterus daily that I have any insight as to the status of the review for a loan modification at all. ) At no point was I ever given the opportunity to explore all loss mitigation options beyond the loan modification. Seterus never advised me of all my options to avoid foreclosure. With the auction date set at XXXX XXXX, and never having even been given the opportunity to explore any loss mitigation options other than the loan modification, I spoke to and emailed a loss mitigation manager to request a 60-day postponement to the auction. This will allow me the time I need for a short sale to mitigate the loss. I have a listing agent who is willing, ready, and able to put my home on the market and execute the sale in a timely manner so my family and I don't face foreclosure. The loss mitigation manager said it was " unlikely '' the auction would be rescheduled. I would like to fully exercise any options available to me to avoid foreclosure and feel I haven't been given the information or time that I need in order to do that -- having just found out about the denial of the loan mod just 8 business days before the auction date of XX/XX/XXXX. Can you please assist in this matter? I would like to explore my options and take steps quickly for the short sale. Seterus has not been forthcoming with important information that could potentially prevent the loss of my home to foreclosure. I request an additional 60 days for the opportunity to appropriately explore loss mitigation options. I appreciate any assistance you can offer. Sincerely, XXXX XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-12

CA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I was on a disaster forbearance through the end of XX/XX/2018, for the Thomas Fires in XX/XX/2018. The servicer had a scheduled sale date of XX/XX/18, I called & reminded them I was under disaster forbearance protection & they moved the sale date to XX/XX/18. On XX/XX/18 the president declared my area a disaster area once again, for the Woosley Fires. I immediately contacted Seterus & advised them that I needed to apply for another disaster forbearance for the current fire disaster. I was told that the request was submitted & that the sale date would be postponed. I was following up w seterus on XX/XX/18, when I found out that the sale date was not pushed & there was no record of my disaster forbearance request. I was told that I would need to submit a Mortgage Assistance Application to be reviewed for the disaster forbearance. I was previously told that under in a disaster situation, the request could be submitted over the phone in order to expedite-however, now I needed to submit the application. I did so on the same day. I am worried that there will not be enough time to postpone the sale & review for disaster forbearance.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-10

Nucla, CO

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Nasty old " debt collector '' - alleged servisor Seterus was allegedly appointed by crooked XXXX XXXX XXXX to supposedly service our loan but they have only been trying to force us into foreclosure like XXXX XXXX XXXX has done with over SIX ( 6 ) million wrongful foreclosures based upon forged, fabricated, phony, " robosigned '' documents!! The facts have been out there for many years and they are still pursing this with people like me who is a XXXX Veteran and very hard working, responsible American. Since our very own government is also apparently involved in the likes of XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX who were taken over by the GSE through the FHFA I believe that most congress people know all about this and do NOTHING to help!!! How can a lying cheating company like Seterus asume a dual role as a " debt collector ''. They have NOT reported my payments correctly since they allegedly took over two of my loans and they have a strange way of reporting whether someone is current or behind as the initial loans there were with XXXX XXXX XXXX all show that the loan is due on the XXXX of the month and late 15 days after the due date. Sent a long letter to XXXX XXXX Board Member and supposed CEO and XXXX XXXX supposed President ( registered ) as well as other government officials who simply look the other way and more than likely get money from the crooks Just check out how crooked Seterus sends out their monthly statements without waiting until AFTER the XXXX of the month so they can falsely report and collect late fees!! All you have to do is check out the Internet and ALL the complaints to KNOW how bad and crooked they are. This is terrible and should have been looked into a LONG time ago instead of merely taking the phony, written reply from people who hide behind the truth!! My bank statements of on-line banking clearly reflect the payments were made on or before the XXXX of the month and they know full well what XXXX we went through in asking for help from XXXX XXXX XXXX back in XXXX when we had to start paying put over {$10000.00} per month for the full time 24 hour care of my lovely mom who lived to be XXXX and passed in late XXXX. We have boxes of proof in the plethora of correspondence with all these crooks involved and the fact that they have never been able to provide a true and honest " paper trail '' of all the correspondence that was allegedly involved with the necessary and correct paperwork involved and especially the " money trail '' for payments that are supposed to be involved in there assignments/modifications. We have the proof of the phony " in-house '' modifications by XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX and all the " robosigners '' like XXXX XXXX. We the people who are supposed to be represented by a government that is " of the people, by the people, and FOR the people have been totally conned by one of the greatest " Ponze Schemes '' ever!! All the bail outs, fines, penalties, and court cases have drained our economy while feathering the caps of all the crooks involved. Not a good thing and a real travesty of justice with phony things like the creation of a phony beneficiary/nominee in XXXX that was CREATED by the crooked lenders like XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX and others. Why doesn't someone finally stand up for all of us fellow Americans and Veterans. That would be the right thing to do. Just like the farce with the bailout of the auto industry. Semper Fi. Please do like you state below and take out any information given to you that would be harmful to Veterans like me. Thank you.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-07

Stkn, CA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: The company, Seterus , Inc., which has locations in XXXX, CT, XXXX, OR, and XXXX XXXX, CA, has been harassing us for months with threatening letters, inconsistent dollar amounts of " late payments '' and threats of foreclosure if we do not bring our account up to date. I have documentation, supported by my bank statement and Seterus ' own website, to show we have not missed a payment nor have we been late. My job has been in XXXX XXXX, and I have compiled a comprehensive spreadsheet verifying my position. Seterus has also falsely reported my wife and I to the various credit reporting agencies in an attempt to damage our credit, forcing us to pay their demands.My research into this company shows is this rather common of their practices. Internet sources show there are a myriad of complaints and lawsuits against them for similar issues.I request that they cease and desist their harassment, correct our account status and remove the derogatory remarks from our credit reports. I'm not sure which documents I should include as there are many. I appreciate your input as to what is needed and I will be glad to comply.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-06

Brem, WA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-05

Gretna, LA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Today, is XX/XX/XXXX, and I havd had numerous issues with XXXX XXXX/XXXX XXXX, XXXX, and its Curators, Attorneys ; as well as the Loan Officers acquired by the state of Louisiana. Due to discrimination and impracticable business practices has wrongfully forceclosed on XXXX XXXX. Please be advised I review my checking account with XXXX XXXX and discovered check # XXXX was issued to Seterus on XX/XX/XXXX. Seterus was unable to locate the payment, therefore, I submitted a money order and sent the payment by certified mail. Also, I requested Seterus to disgard check # XXXX. Today, XXXX, Region Customer Service Representative, located in XXXX, Flordia informed me the check wa processed. XXXX XXXX, Seteru Representative, informed me that the processed department wasn't able to identify my information. I have reported these incidents to Louisiana OIG office ; also, I filed complaints with XXXX District Court of XXXX XXXX and the XXXX District Court of XXXX XXXX. These courts postponed the litigations. Due to these courts ; as well as the Federal Courts located in Louisiana ; I had to file bankruptcy during calendar year XX/XX/XXXX. Please contact XXXX XXXX, Bankruptcy Attorney at XXXX for additional information. During XX/XX/XXXX until present property damages occurred on real estate and automobiles in the state of Louisiana. Due to the significant financial losses I am unable to obtain an attorney. The mortgages were filed in XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX for properties XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX ; XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX ; XXXX XXXX ; and XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, Louisiana.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-04

Newnan, GA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: In XX/XX/XXXX I received a Modification on my home with XXXX XXXX that did not lower my Mortgage enough to help make payments affordable.I had to find more work since I am on Social Security XXXX.I made all monthly payments even though some were sometimes late. In XX/XX/XXXX I was granted a Disaster Forebearance for 6 months because my work was affected by the Hurricane. The Forebearance was extended an additional 6 months because my financial situation had not been resolved. In XX/XX/XXXX I applied for another Modication to include the money owed during the Forebearance but was denied for all programs. I was told by SETERUS INC that I could not make the XX/XX/XXXX payment because it would not be accepted until the months owed during the Forebearance were paid.I have applied for HOME SAFE GEORGIA to pay the arrears and am awaiting their decision. I informed the Mortagage Company of this. I have been in frequent contact with the SETERUS INC to keep them informed of the status of the application but was told on XX/XX/XXXX that I received an INTENT TO ACCELLERATE in XX/XX/XXXX DURING THE FOREBEARANCE that is still active and they could start FORECLOSURE. I AM IN FEAR OF FORECLOSURE.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-04

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-12-03

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-30

N Haven, CT

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-30

Tarzana, CA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Our servicer, Seterus is the worst! For several years we have been going back and forth relative to impound issues. Finally, after an NOD we submitted to their tactics and did a loan modification ( while still disputing that there is any negative impounds. I've paid the taxes and insurance personally forever, even when we fell into financial difficulties and got behind on the mortgage we always paid the taxes and insurance - yet Seterus kept adding on and saying that they did not get notice from the county or carrier - they paid, we paid after so many years there is a large overage somewhere and Seterus just doesn't know how to research ). Needless to say we paid on the 3 month loan modification on time - XXXX, XXXX, XX/XX/2018. We passed this and signed loan mod for good. Well, no statements ever came - instead we started getting collection calls asking for XXXX per month - I disputed this in several calls with Seterus stating that amount was very high and that we paid only {$550.00} during trial - to no avail. I even sent a payment for XX/XX/2018 in the amount of {$550.00} yet it never got applied as I never got a statement. I'm XXXX years old, have owned this house for long time and the financial confusion relative to taxes and insurance has literally killed me. They have yet to reconcile with county on the taxes and keep piling the account on. Finally in XX/XX/2018 they send first statement and of course it's asking for funds to cover XXXX on - even though I sent them a check ( probably got credited to someone else 's account ). This company is unnerving and acts more like a loan shark than servicer. They keep telling me that even though I didn't get any statements for 3 months I still should have made payments - I said which amount? your collectors amount or the amount that finally got sent to us. I'm XXXX and this is ridiculous.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-29

Wonder Lake, IL

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I originally applied for a loan modification months ago. I was given unemployment forebearnce program. I then applied for a loan modification when my unemployment ended. I have been being declined 4 times. They keep saying that my new payment is going to be higher than my modified payment. I have appealed this because they are NOT taking into consideration that I am LOSING money from my trucking business and they need to take both jobs under consideration. First my XXXX income and then SUBTRACT my losses from my trucking income. Why issue a unemployment program forebearnce program and then NOT help someone get modified and put them MONTHS in arrears. I need my loan modified. I do not want to lose my house to foreclosure. Please help me.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-28

Lowell, MA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2018-11-27

Mount Holly, OH

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
Complaint: XXXX has failed on complying with the CFPB rules on : Early Intervention ( 12 CFR 1024.39 ) A servicer must establish or make good faith efforts to establish live contact with a delinquent borrower not later than the 36th day of the borrowers delinquency.12 As clarified in CFPB Bulletin XXXX servicers are required to make good faith efforts to establish live contact for each billing cycle for which a borrower has been delinquent for at least 36 days. A transferee servicer must begin or continue the good faith efforts regardless of whether the delinquency began while the loan was being serviced by the transferor servicer. A servicer must provide to a delinquent borrower a written notice containing certain information not later than the 45th day of the borrowers delinquency.14 A transferee servicer must comply with the written notice requirement regardless of whether the delinquency began while the loan was being serviced by the transferor servicer. XXXX waited for one full year before contacting me about the loan even though I sent a CFPB complaint to XXXX within weeks of the transfer notice.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy