Shellpoint Partners, LLC

Consumer Complaints

There are over 2994 complaints on file for Shellpoint Partners, LLC. Dated between 2019-12-13 and 2012-06-12.

Complaints Page 3

2019-11-13

OK

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I am writing in reference to what I believe to be an erroneous and/or deceptive practice by my mortgage service provider : Shellpoint Mortgage Servicing DBA NewRez, LLC. I have received correspondence from multiple offices of this entity, including : XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, SC XXXX ; XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, MI XXXX ; and XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, MI XXXX. In XX/XX/2019 my mortgage servicing was transferred to NewRez, LLC from my previous mortgage servicer, XXXX, who had serviced my mortgage for approximately five years prior to the transfer. Soon after the transfer of mortgage servicing, on XX/XX/2019, I received a letter from NewRez, LLC stating that " due to a map revision by FEMA, my property was now located in a flood zone '', demanding that I immediately obtain a flood insurance policy for the property securing the mortgage. Since I am familiar with real estate transactions, mortgage servicing, and insurance requirements due to my profession as a XXXX XXXX XXXX, I looked up the most recent FEMA flood maps and did not find that a revision had been made to the area in which my property is located. With this knowledge, I responded to NewRez both via their online customer support feature, and by telephone, stating that my home does not appear to be located in a FEMA flood zone ; therefore I did not believe that I am required to obtain flood insurance, and requested that if NewRez did not agree then would they please provide me with a copy of the updated FEMA flood maps and I would gladly obtain a flood insurance policy if my property had in fact be rezoned. I received multiple correspondence letters from NewRez subsequent to my request that essentially said " due to the complexity of my request, additional time was needed to research and respond ''. I then received correspondence from NewRez that stated that since I had not complied and obtained a flood insurance policy that NewRez was moving forward with obtaining a forced-placed flood policy for which I would be charged ( at a rate much higher than I could obtain a private policy ). In an effort to avoid being charged for an exorbitantly expensive force-placed insurance policy, I contacted my insurance agent on XX/XX/2019, and obtained a flood insurance policy and submitted the proof of coverage and request for payment of the policy from my mortgage escrow account via NewRez 's online insurance documentation portal. Meanwhile I was still receiving correspondence from NewRez stating that more time was needed to research my request which to me indicated that they did not have a copy of the updated FEMA maps readily available, if they even existed. I then received correspondence from NewRez on XX/XX/2019, stating that due to my failure to obtain flood insurance coverage, a force-place policy had been obtained by NewRez and my escrow account would be charged ( a policy which was approximately twice as expensive as the private policy that I obtained and submitted 7 days previous ). After receiving notice that NewRez failed to recognize or implement my privately obtained flood policy, and then force-placed their own ( more expensive ) policy to my escrow account, I again reached out to NewRez via their online customer support system inquiring why my private policy had not been honored, why I was charged for the more expensive force-placed policy, and why the requested documentation ( updated FEMA maps ) was never provided to show that I was even required to have flood insurance in the first place. I then received correspondence from NewRez on XX/XX/2019, stating that I never submitted a private flood policy, they have found no errors with their practices, and provided a FEMA flood map ( a Letter of Map Amendment ) ( LOMA ), stating that the LOMA satisfied my request of proof that flood coverage was required for my property. However, the LOMA provided is for a property that I do not own, and that does not secure the mortgage that is serviced by NewRez. Neither the legal description, nor the physical address on the LOMA reference my property ; they reference a property that is approximately 1/2 mile away. Furthermore the LOMA states that the subject property is being moved OUT of a flood zone and into FEMA Zone X. After dealing with, and requesting information from, NewRez for more than 90 days, I still do not have documentation supporting that my property is located in a flood zone therefore requiring flood insurance. My private flood policy was not honored or paid from my escrow account, and I have been charged approximately {$300.00} over the last two months for a force-placed flood policy that I do not believe that I am even required to have. I have retained copies of all correspondence from NewRez, have copies of the privately obtained proof of insurance ( including confirmation email from NewRez 's document portal ), and have a copy of the original plat map of my property showing that my home is not located in a FEMA flood zone. I would very much appreciate it if the CFPB is able to provide me with relief as NewRez has been derelict in providing me with a satisfactory response to my requests. Furthermore, I am concerned that if this is a standard practice and the force-placed flood insurance provider is affiliated with NewRez and/or Shellpoint Mortgage Servicing, significant consumer harm may be conducted against many homeowners whose mortgages are serviced by these companies. Thank you for your consideration.
Company Response: Company believes complaint is the result of an isolated error Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Alta, CA

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Complaint: NewRez ( aka ShellPoint ) purchased my mortgage from XXXX in XX/XX/2019. In XX/XX/2019 and upon learning of the sale of the mortgage to NewRez, my CPA, XXXX XXXX, set up an auto payment over the telephone with ShellPoint. ( The exact nature of the relationship of these two entities is unknown. However, NewRez purchased the loan, but does not accept calls from borrowers. XXXX customer service accepts the calls and the payments. It is very confusing. ) On XX/XX/XXXX, we learned from the credit reporting agencies that the auto payments were not set up by ShellPoint and the XXXX and XXXX payments had not been made. We received no notifications from ShellPoint/NewRez that the payments were due and unpaid. Payment for XXXX, XXXX and XXXX was made on XX/XX/XXXX. An auto payment was successfully set up over the phone with ShellPoint. ShellPoint has reported that the XXXX mortgage payment was 60 days past due. While I dispute any past due because the auto payment was established and sufficient funds were in the account, the XXXX payment was paid XX/XX/XXXX accounting to ShellPoint and was not past due even by ShellPoints records. I sent this information to the 3 credit reporting agencies. XXXX has already responded that ShellPoint " verified '' the information in the report. However, this is impossible. I sent the payment history from ShellPoint showing the receipt of the XXXX payment on XX/XX/XXXX only 35 days after XX/XX/XXXX, a far cry from 60 days. ShellPoint 's " verification of the information and XXXX XXXX decision to continue to report the XXXX payment as 60 days late is a willful misrepresentation.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Gastonia, NC

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: My mortgage was originally with XXXX and I wrote them a check for {$14000.00} which then brought my remaining principal to {$49000.00} which I can prove with the XX/XX/2019 statement. XXXX went bankrupt in the midst of processing my payment and the new company that took over the debt, Shellpoint Mortgage Servicing, claimed they didn't have record of the {$14000.00} payment. They eventually contacted me and stated they had located the payment once I sent them a copy of the check. Shellpoint then said everything was resolved. Now Shellpoint has sent me a mortgage statement saying my current balance is {$53000.00}. My original intent with the {$14000.00} payment was to cover all of my payments due for 2019. Shellpoint is saying I owe for XXXX. I have called and left numerous voicemails after being on hold with their customer service line, but have yet to receive a response from them. I don't understand how my principal balance went from {$49000.00} in XXXX with XXXX to {$53000.00} in XXXX with Shellpoint and have to make a XXXX payment ...
Company Response: Company believes complaint is the result of an isolated error Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Lowell, AR

Unable to get your credit report or credit score

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Other problem getting your report or credit score
Complaint: XXXX IS SUPRESSING MY CREDIT FILES AND THUS XXXX XXXX IS UNABLE TO DELETE 3 ACCOUNTS.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-12

Davie, FL

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-12

Washington, DC

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Debt was paid
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-12

Washington, DC

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Debt was paid
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-12

Ewing, NJ

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-12

AZ

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Complaint: XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX financed a loan for my purchase Payment for XX/XX/XXXX due and paid and check cashed by XXXX XXXX XXXX Notice of assignment or Transfer of service dated XX/XX/XXXX for XX/XX/XXXX payment to be paid to : XXXX XXXX Payment due on XX/XX/XXXX mailed payment XX/XX/XXXX for XX/XX/XXXX payment, then payment cashed Received letter after I mailed payment that Notice of service transfer dated XX/XX/XXXX to NewRez all payments on or after XXXX XX/XX/XXXX go to NewRez I contacted NewRez that XXXX payment was cashed by XXXX XXXX I faxed and e mailed and regular mailed both bank copies of cashed Mortgage payments One for XXXX One for XXXX to : NewRez, Received statement I owe for XXXX from NewRez NewRes never replied and upon calling Shellpoint Mortgage Servicing the New Rez latest new department to talk to about my payment I still owe for XXXX and they received my documentations of payment but have 60 days to reply? So my question is why did XXXX XXXX XXXX turn me over to XXXX when it was going bankrupt and further more why did XXXX take my mortgage when it knew it was going bankrupted and cash my check? and why doesn't NewRez respond and acknowledge my payments to XXXX? Is'nt this bad customer service? Why should I be tossed around three times within getting a new loan just assigned in XX/XX/XXXX? I am XXXX I just relocated to a new town and had a XXXX XXXX and this is stressful
Company Response: Company believes the complaint is the result of a misunderstanding Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-12

Phoenix, AZ

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I was notified by my current Mortgage Servicer XXXX that my service provider was changing to Shellpoint. I received the notice from XXXX, understood everything. Received a letter from Shellpoint with instructions on what to do and when. All seemed well until I went to register as [email protected] I entered my information and received an email from another company. One that was not disclosed at all in the instructions.That company was called NewRez. There is no mention of this company. I called Shellpoint to confirm this was an affiliate and they confirmed it was. I find it deceptive to not disclose who does what on this loan. So what does Shellpoint do and what does NewRez do. I found when I called in they offered my loan number and my name with out any security verification. I guess calling from my phone and giving the last 4 of my account was good enough? Is it not required for all whom are servicing my mortgage to disclose contact info and what it is that they do? Seems a bit unfair for the consumer to have to guess or hope they are related to the same mortgage service provider.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-11

Oro Valley, AZ

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Company Response: Company believes complaint is the result of an isolated error Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Englishtown, NJ

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes complaint represents an opportunity for improvement to better serve consumers Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-07

Wausau, WI

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: VA mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-07

OH

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: For the past year, my attorney and I have been able to somehow succeed with a mortgage modification through or with Shellpoint mortgage services. The modification should have been finalized in XX/XX/2019? However! I have little to nothing provided to me via Shellpoint reflecting the finalization. Unfortunately as of XX/XX/2019 I have yet to receive the new modification agreement! However the expectation to continue my over inflated payments has not stopped, and although my mortgage is now " supposedly '' brought current, I'm still dealing with a debt collection agency being " Shellpoint ''!? I'm now being told that I'm 1 month behind in payments and that on XX/XX/2019 an attempted account withdrawal by Shellpoint had been denied. Well, there was enough to cover the transaction on the date indicated, in the account assigned for the withdrawal. Also to further back my complaint, there is absolutely nothing showing within my account that would depict the failed attempt. No NSF notice from my bank, no call, email or mailing from Shellpoint. Nothing!! Also, within the supposed modification agreement, the new rate of interest being charged to me is a whopping 5.75 %! In a current market where mortgage rates are being written at 3.5 % or less I find the 5.75 % rate to be unsettling and unjustified. We have also received notice the case hads been dismissed in it's entirety without prejudice. However! There is no case docket listed within the county clerks records?
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-07

Huntsville, AL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes complaint caused principally by actions of third party outside the control or direction of the company Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-07

Wausau, WI

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: VA mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-06

Manhattan, NY

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes complaint is the result of an isolated error Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-06

Chevy Chase, DC

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-06

Hghlnds Ranch, CO

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes complaint is the result of an isolated error Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-05

Laurel, NY

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes the complaint is the result of a misunderstanding Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-05

Cedarhurst, PA

Incorrect information on your report

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes complaint is the result of an isolated error Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-04

Corcoran, MN

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-04

Cherry Brook, MA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: https : //www.shellpointmortgageservicing.com/ XXXX Monday through Friday XXXX XXXX EST and Saturday XXXX XXXX EST. Customer Service Shellpoint Mortgage Servicing On XX/XX/XXXX I requested to remove a PMI from my mortgage payment due to improvement made to the property, I received a letter and an e-mail suggesting that I need to have a BPO done and pay {$150.00}. I sent the check for a BPO immediately and it was cashed in a few days. However, the mortgage company did not schedule the BPO for a long time until the end of XXXX. Finally, on XX/XX/XXXX a broker came to the property and did his evaluation. He submitted his opinion on XX/XX/XXXX. Shellpoint mortgage informed me that the value of the property was high enough to remove the PMI. They advised me that the LTV was 73 % and I would get a letter with the new mortgage payment ( minus the BPO ) .On XX/XX/XXXX I was contacted by another broker asking me if I still needed the BPO. I told him I needed to consult the mortgage company. I called Shellpoint mortgage and they confirmed to me that I did not need the 2nd broker, therefore I told the 2nd broker not to come. I continued calling Shellpoint morgage every week asking for the update, and only today, a month later, XX/XX/XXXX they told me that one BPO was not sufficient, and I am disqualified since I refused to allow the 2nd broker on the property ( ignoring that that was on their own advise ). I asked to talk to the supervisor, who, of course, was not available. I think they are trying to postpone the decision as long as possible so we continue paying unnecessary PMI. They communication is non-existent. They promised me many times to send an e-mail or a letter with their findings, but never did. I kept calling them twice a week with no results. I need to know how to switch my mortgage servicing to a different company. I feel that this company is either completely incompetent or just dishonest, in either case I don't want to deal with them anymore.
Company Response: Company believes the complaint is the result of a misunderstanding Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-04

Spring Hill, FL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: XXXX XXXX XXXX owns my loan but the loan is serviced by a company called Shellpoint Mortgage Servicing. That company will not allow me to escalate the issue beyond what they call a " Single point of contact ''. In this case, the man 's name is XXXX XXXX and he has thwarted any and all attempts to stop my home from being foreclosed on. The company has agreed to and gone back on 2 separate modifications and then when we finally negotiated one, I paid {$5000.00} to them and lost my job. I immediately contacted my XXXX and he said that they were going to proceed with foreclosure. I have filed Bankruptcy several times to prevent the sale of my home but can not get ANY responses from this company. I have a paper trail of emails that show how evasive and sketchy the points of contact are. The company refused to put the modification in writing or even a record of the {$5000.00} paid. This complaint is being filed at the suggestion of a COO from XXXX XXXX XXXX because of the company 's unwillingness to communicate or work with me and forcing foreclosure as an only option.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-04

Long Beach, CA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: On or about XX/XX/XXXX I received a supplemental tax bill and an adjusted tax bill to the mortgage servicer. We had purchased our home in XX/XX/XXXX. I emailed my mortgage company as we have the dreaded impound account. I asked them if they paid these tax bills. The response I received is as follows : Please be advised, the mortgage servicer is not responsible for paying the supplemental taxes, it is the borrowers. However, if you would like Shellpoint to pay them, please forward your Supplemental Tax Bill along with your written request to this email address and Shellpoint will pay them. Please note, paying the supplemental taxes can cause the escrow account to be short since they were not calculated into the required escrow balance. Because we are not responsible for paying supplemental taxes, we will not be held responsible for any penalties that may be assessed due to late payment. Of course, this leads me to believe they are responsible for the adjusted tax bill as per their email. Based on that, I paid the supplemental tax bill on XX/XX/XXXX. Then on or around XX/XX/XXXX, I received a delinquent notice for the adjusted tax bill. I emailed the mortgage servicer advising them and they responded that it was my responsibility to provide them with the information as it was not reported on the Tax Assessment Roll Report. Well ... I did provide this to them on XX/XX/XXXX. By them not paying this adjusted tax bill, it resulted in a penalty of {$XX/XX/XXXX} which I believe they should be responsible for, not me.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy