Shellpoint Partners, LLC

Consumer Complaints

There are over 2994 complaints on file for Shellpoint Partners, LLC. Dated between 2019-12-13 and 2012-06-12.

Complaints Page 2

2019-11-26

Cheverly, MD

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Company Response: Company believes complaint caused principally by actions of third party outside the control or direction of the company Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Mill Valley, CA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I missed my XXXX mortgage payment because our electricity was off in XXXX california for 4 days because of the fires. All the banks were closed. Internet was down. I did not even know that my payment had not been submitted. I found out on the XXXX and immediately made full payment but Shellpoint charged me a late fee because tis was " not their fault ''. I said it was not my fault either. This was an act of XXXX like a hurricane or tornado or flood. I called shellpoint up repeatedly and they either said they were busy and would call me bak or told me they couldn't deal with the problem. I asked for supervisors and was repeatedly told one would call me back. I sent an email per their request and still got no response. Today, I was told that my request had been denied but they sent me no letter and I got a letter in the mail today saying that the decision is still under consideration. they also lied when they said that they tried to contact me. they did not. I am attaching a print out of my call and communication record with them and also the letters I have received from them. XX/XX/2019 XXXX XXXX- tried to call yesterday. shellpoint said they would call back and they never did. Our mortgage payment was not submitted becasue of the XXXX shutoff. Am on hold again today. XXXX XXXX said she will make a submittal to waive late fee becasue of shutoff. Call Friday talk to customer service rep. I have asked that a supervisor call me back. She said a supervisor will call me back at XXXX. email XXXX XXXX/XXXX/2019 XXXX XXXX-No one called back. No one responded to my email. XXXX XXXX, customer service, can't find any record that anyone has even looked at the email or even at the situation. He is resubmitting request. doesn't know why noone has looked at it or responded. XX/XX/2019 XXXX XXXX- I am calling back because noone has responded. They are saying that wait times are a little longer than usual. Got letter saying that the loan was delinquent and they had made several attempts to contact me. that is a lie. XXXX is attempting to connect me with a supervisor. XXXX XXXX. I hung up after being on hold for 15 minutes. Am calling XXXX XXXX at XXXX ext XXXX. She is not there and I am on hold here to. XXXX XXXX, not supervisor, XXXX XXXX, will not send me a copy of late fee denial. He is sending me over a note that they apparently sent today about my request on the XXXX. I sent another email to loan servicing. I just received a note from SP saying they are considering the facts, dated yesterday. but they told me today that it had been denied.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Washington, DC

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Chicago, IL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Carver, MA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

NC

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Shellpoint is violating the Bankruptcy Plan in law and in intent by claiming back payments immediately due. Shellpoint did not restate the mortgage loan as put forth in my approved bankruptcy plan 10 years ago. We tried to have Shellpoint correct these issues several years ago ( 2015 ) when they also filed a Notice of Default and Intent to Accelerate. I paid and continue to pay legal fees as a direct result of Shellpoint 's actions. Recent mortgage statement ( attached ) claims incorrectly that I have an unpaid balance of {$74000.00}. This is not correct. On this statement, Shellpoint is charging {$100.00} for a BPO, and {$98.00} for a late charge on payment you received. These and all other inappropriate fees should all be reversed. Shellpoint just returned my regular monthly check ( see attached ). This is improper, violates my bankruptcy plan, and can be seen as an effort to put me in default. Shellpoint just sent a new Notice of Default and Intent to Accelerate, bas ed on payments not made during automatic stay in bankruptcy 10 years ago, violating my bankruptcy plan.
Company Response: Company believes complaint caused principally by actions of third party outside the control or direction of the company Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes complaint represents an opportunity for improvement to better serve consumers Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

Ewing, NJ

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Debt settlement


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-23

NJ

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: My loan was sold from XXXX to NewRez LLC and i had no idea until XXXX notified me on XX/XX/2019 that my loan was sold starting XX/XX/2019. All the letter said was send money to address in XXXX and new customer service is in XXXX SC. It is now XXXX XXXX and I have got no notice from NewRez or bill or account number. I am very upset I should have been given ample notice in case I wanted to switch companies myself but also no contract no info what happened with my loan. I demand a statement including all info of my loan with this new company. I have read horrible reviews and do not want my credit ruined!!! i want to complain about XXXX where they kept saying I needed more money in my escrow yet my taxes did not go up or home owners insurance, they always gave me the run around saying I was short. Now all of a sudden my mortgage is sold and no notification yet they sent me about {$400.00} refund from escrow. The exclamation of my escrow report, what I have etc. I feel they are shady and just kept taking my money and now they sold I got half of it back?
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-23

MO

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: A new mortgage company took over my mortgage and it started in XX/XX/XXXX all payments were made early and on time till five months later they took one of my payments and said they gave it to my original mortgage company and said it was because my original mortgage company had returned a payment in XX/XX/XXXX I called many times to resolve and was told if I send bank statement for XX/XX/XXXX that shows no refund was made they would put back the payment and I would not have to pay all the interest which is over a XXXX dollars now but after submitting the papers they denied it and said I still owe a payment and late fees
Company Response: Company can't verify or dispute the facts in the complaint Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Montebello, CA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Sandwich, MA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Elsinore, UT

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: We have a mortgage on a rental property that is almost paid off. We owe about $ XXXX. on it at this time. we have excellent credit and always pay our bills on time. This particular mortgage we have had with XXXX for the past several years. We have been very happy with their services and efficiency. Recently, we received a letter in the mail indicating they have sold this particular mortgage to NewRez, LLC. While I understand reassigning a debt is common practice and has happened to us many times in the past, I am very unhappy with this choice. We read reviews on line indicating they fail to make escrow payments, they fail to pay refunds when they are due, and generally have " loose '' business practices. I realize it is possible to deal with this type of company if one is particularly careful, but I am seriously alarmed by the notation at the bottom of the letter that was sent to us notifying us of the change in service. It says " Goodbye RESPA XXXX, XX/XX/2019 ''. This indicates to me that the company has no interest in protecting my rights and feels no responsibility to provide consumer protection or behave with integrity. I attempted to contact them to discuss the matter, but could only obtain a recorded message. I contacted XXXX to see if they could assist me. They said my " investor '' was XXXX, and I would have to contact them directly to discuss the choice of companies they had made. I called the number the very nice XXXX employee gave me, but it was not in service. I have no one to discuss this with, and no choice in the matter it would appear. In the past, this would not have been a concern, but I find this situation alarming. I have worked in XXXX XXXX for many years and realize the serious value of RESPA, and do not want to work with a lender who makes it blatantly clear at the outset they have no intention of protecting my rights. Please let me know if there is anyone who can assist me in this matter. Best Regards, XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-21

Walnut Creek, CA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: XXXX XXXX XXXX issued a notice of servicing transfer dated XX/XX/2019. The corresponding letter to be sent by the new servicer has not been received. As the effective date for payments to NewRez LLC is XX/XX/2019, I would have expected to also have the NewRez LLC letter in hand at this time.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-21

NY

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Complaint: A response was received from Shellpoint Mortgage Servicing. The information provided to my complaint is in regards to contact information, i.e., service rep and Mortgage Service Provider phone numbers provided ... were false, misleading. In fact Representative and Shellpoint contact phone numbers were in fact business phone numbers for employees to receive voicemails. Furthermore, I was informed the representative assigned, no one by such name existed within Shellpoint. In my opinion this was a deliberate tactic to further delay my request. The response was also a third time try on CFBP attempt to get a appropriate response, only to have the third time try response provided, info was false, fabricated and deliberate to mislead the consumer. I thus STILL DO NOT have a point of contact to move forward.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-20

La Habra, CA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-19

Toledo, OH

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-19

Waxahachie, TX

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Company Response: Company believes the complaint is the result of a misunderstanding Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-18

Jupiter, FL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: In XX/XX/XXXX, I submitted a request to have PMI removed from my loan. At that time, the bank representative stated to qualify I need to make principle payments. I sent 2 additional principle Check XXXX {$2500.00} check date XX/XX/XXXX Check XXXX {$200.00} Check date XX/XX/XXXX My current LTV is 75 % ( Below the 78 % automated termination requirement ). I have XXXX credit, Payments are auto withdrawn from my account, no missed payments, & have equity in the property. My PMI payment is {$23.00} ( like to keep things in prospective ). I have asked NewRez mortgage ( Shellpoint ) to escalate my request to remove PMI for my loan. I keep getting letters indicating I have to pay {$150.00}, {$400.00}, {$500.00} to get PMI removed. They also said PMI termination is based solely on the original amortization of the loan and I am not scheduled for termination until XXXX? Thank You!
Company Response: Company believes complaint is the result of an isolated error Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-18

Leming, TX

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: We are now submitting our third complaint in an assumption process that is now at 300 days and counting. While we have many complaints, the biggest two are : the inaccurate information Shellpoint gives us, and the complete absence of customer support we are receiving from Shell Point. Misinformation : In XX/XX/2019 we were told an assumption packet would be sent to us within 5-7 business days, but it was not until we filed a complaint in XXXX with the CFPB that it was finally sent. We were told we could contact XXXX XXXX or XXXX XXXX with any questions, but we called both and left messages numerous times, and heard nothing. Our emails went unanswered as well. Finally, at the end of XXXX, XXXX XXXX called my son, XXXX XXXX, the authorized 3rd party on the account, and told him everything had been approved and he would hear from the underwriters in a few days. Neither did the underwriters call nor could XXXX ever be reached again. However on XX/XX/XXXX the application ( which was said to have been approved by underwriters ), was finally processed, and the appraisal was not done until XXXX. So looking at the timeline, the information given to us was untrue? Was the home not yet approved in late XXXX? After waiting for another four months, we had to write a second complaint. In the reply to our second complaint, Shellpoint admits that no underwriter had been secured, even though we were told in May that it was all set and we would hear from them in a few days. Why would Shellpoint allow almost 120 days to go by and force us to write a second complaint before someone wrote a letter and said : Oh, yeah, no, there are no underwriters after all? In that same reply ( to our second complaint ) Shellpoint stated : We are working diligently to secure a different partner to complete assumption requests. We disagree, and we do not interpret allowing 120 days to go by as diligence. Absence of customer support : We were told in a letter from XXXX XXXX, dated XX/XX/2019, Should you have further questions, you may contact me at XXXX. We have called her six times, and left messages because we do have questions. And surprise, nobody has either answered or called back. We are now over 300 days of calling, leaving messages, emailing, and we can not get in touch with a single person. We have only had the one phone call in late XXXX ( by XXXX ) with misinformation, and two letters. And those letters have only come after we submitted a complaint. Is that the normal business practice for Shellpoint? Are other people also being ignored? Does Shellpoint only reply when complaints go to the CPFB? Being a homeowner is no small thing and we deem it simple ethics to grant homeowners the ability to speak to a representative who can help them succeed. We are seniors citizens and this home represents our entire life 's work. We deem that being ignored by Shellpoing is a gross injustice. We are extremely disappointed with the Shellpoint experience. We feel like Shellpoint has been an evasive company that misguides its homeowners. Now we are starting to wonder if Shellpoint 's company goal is to enrich their company by putting struggling homeowners out in the street, as that is how we feel. Whenever we call Shellpoint to make a payment, it takes less than 60 seconds for Shellpoint to put someone on the phone and collect our money, but when we want to talk to someone on the phone to help us succeed, no one is around. It has taken over 300 days to get one phone call, and that turned out to be misinformation.
Company Response: Company believes complaint is the result of an isolated error Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-18

Hamburg, MN

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-18

Mount Holly, OH

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: My loan was transferred from XXXX to Shellpoint in XXXX. I received written notification of this from XXXX, and presume it was due to their bankruptcy. I was current on my mortgage, but have been unable to pay the XXXX mortgage, because Shellpoint has yet to send me any information other than 2 e-mails. I can not pay, as I don't know where to send the loan, I'm unable to create an online account because they have not assigned a user name, etc. I've called their customer service number, but they put you on hold, while giving you the option to leave a message for a call back. I tried that a few times, but never get a call back. If you stay on their phone line, you eventually ( after @ 11minutes ) get automatically transferred to voice mail and are forced to leave a message - which they still won't return. They are more than happy to send me demanding e-mails to make a payment, to which you can not respond successfully, nor can I comply - as they've not given me the information necessary to do so. They informed me I would receive written correspondence, but that has not occurred. In their welcome letter they stress how important it is to pay the mortgage on before the due date, and their welcome letter is sent about a week after the due date. All of their listed methods of contact have not yet worked. XXXX said that they can't help.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-15

Staten Island, NY

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Nyc, NY

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)


Complaint: XXXX XXXX approved me for {$32000.00}. Ive been paying on the loan I got behind on the loan and as of 2017 XXXX. As of Today the orginal amount they claimed they gave was {$32000.00} I still owe that amount and my loan has been transferred 3 times and it went from XXXX XXXX to XXXX XXXX to XXXX XXXX servicing to Shellpoint Mortgage. This loan was a predatory loan from the beginning and I've been trying to get assistant from an non profit organization and lawyers of South Carolina however I cant get any help. Clearly XXXX XXXX didnt provide me with a clear understanding with what type of loan I was getting myself into and they took advantage of me.
Company Response: Company believes the complaint is the result of a misunderstanding Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Chicago, IL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Hello CFPB : I am contacting you in an attempt to have expeditious results regarding the escrow analysis that I received in the mail on yesterday with a payment due on XXXX XXXX. I contacted the Senior VP/General Counsel ( XXXX XXXX ) via email and asked that Please correct this matter within five business days of this communication. I also talked with XXXX XXXX of the Specialty Division of Shellpoint Mortgage at XXXX. In XXXX, I secured a construction loan from XXXX XXXX XXXX who later transferred to XXXX XXXX XXXX ( XXXX ). In XX/XX/XXXX, XXXX transferred to ShellPoint Mortgage Services. Since that time, I have experienced repeated errors in the accounting and billing which have caused much grief and anxiety. Last Spring, I sent a mortgage payment in with three advance payments earmarked for three future mortgage payments. The mortgage was applied to my principal. Surprisingly, I received a default letter for the next month. It took over a month and six phone calls to different representatives and four emails to various departments to have it corrected. Even after it was corrected, another error occurred which led to more phone calls and inconveniences. On last night, I came home to read my escrow analysis. The XX/XX/XXXX amount due is {$6300.00}. I am showing a current escrow balance of - {$24.00}, XXXX. This can not be correct. My yearly taxes and insurance don't exceed {$2500.00} a year. In addition, XXXX XXXX sent a copy of the homeowners insurance twice to Shellpoint when requested. I am being told that my taxes were delinquent form XX/XX/XXXX-XX/XX/XXXX. However, the County Tax Portal shows that the taxes were paid. I have never been delinquent on taxes. Also, the cushion of {$4.00}, XXXX ( 1/6 ) is unconscionable. My original lender has a 1/12 cushion clause. Therefore, the terms of my loan can not change due to transfer. This cushion was not contracted for and is NOT reasonable. How many average working persons can afford to pay an extra {$4900.00} with less than a months notice. In closing, I am requesting that this matter be corrected within five business days of this correspondence to you. I should only be responsible for the {$790.00} contracted in the original loan and the {$160.00} escrow and possibly a cushion on 1/12 not 1/6 per my original loan. Regards, GP
Company Response: Company believes complaint is the result of an isolated error Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy