REGIONS FINANCIAL CORPORATION

Consumer Complaints

There are over 4264 complaints on file for REGIONS FINANCIAL CORPORATION. Dated between 2019-11-29 and 2011-12-02.

Complaints Page 2

2019-11-16

Jacksonville, FL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Fee problem
Complaint: REGIONS BANK This is the worst bank I've ever had to deal with. I am retired collecting Social Security income. The representatives you deal with are totally unacceptable, unprofessional and the Banks policy ( according to what I gathered from what the banks representative tried to explain to me ) is NOT fair and downright robbery to any customer, also the Online Statements are not accurate and are deceiving, unfortunately to any and all customer of theirs. Regions Bank. In one of their internet statements it states We're Regions, and we're here to help. REALLY? I called my branch hoping they could explain to me why Overdraft Fees were charge to my account this morning, especially since the night before my Available Balance was not in the red. During the call, the representative, after some nonsensible explanation, told me that I would need to speak to the Manager, who wasnt there, she explained there were other customers waiting ( am I not a customer? ). I reminded her that I was also customer and she needed to attend to me accordingly. I wanted her to explain to me why on the evening before, while checking my online statement every line on the statement was positive and that showed a Posted Balance in the positive, then a Pending Balance ( 4 pending items ) and finally my Available Balance also in the positive. All was good and in the positive, at that point last night. This morning when I checked my online statement, Regions Bank charged overdraft fees amounting in total for {$100.00} ( apparently, 3 overdraft fees of {$36.00} each ) that was immediately posted after a positive balance and resulted placing any pending charges in the red. Above this over draft fee of {$100.00} were 2 remaining pending items that were from the original 4 pending charges on my account and as stated above were now in the red. This made absolutely no sense to me at all. Keep in mind, I was never in the red the evening before which included 4 pending items, mentioned above, that I already knew about and correct. The representative could not explain why overdraft fees were charged, that made any sense to me even after explaining everything I stated above and she began speaking over me while I was talking. She insisted that I speak to the manager on Monday. This just doesn't make any sense to me.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-15

Primm Springs, TN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Blackbird, DE

Unexpected or other fees

Credit card or prepaid card: Payroll card


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Blackbird, DE

Trouble using the card

Credit card or prepaid card: Payroll card

Problem with direct deposit
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-14

TN

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Received loan modification documents in the mail from Regions Banks, the modification terms is setting me up to lose my home. The interest rate isn't a fixed rate for the term of the mortgage and its a interest only mortgage loan. The economy is very unstable at this time and I don't want a mortgage loan or interest rate that is going to make me lose my home to foreclosure. There is also a pending property foreclosure sale set for my home XX/XX/2019.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Houston, TX

Problem with a purchase or transfer

Credit card or prepaid card: Payroll card

Charged for a purchase or transfer you did not make with the card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-10

Atl, GA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-09

AR

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-09

FL

Problem with a lender or other company charging your account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Transaction was not authorized
Complaint: I was the victim of debit card theft. I reported this to my bank the same day ( XX/XX/19 ) I saw the charges appear. I was in Florida WHEN they occurred. I made a check deposit at my local branch, and these FRAUDULENT charges were for out of state businesses ( XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX ) with 2 of them being personal drafts made by the thieves. The XXXX XXXX charge didn't go through since my card was deactivated and/or it wasn't accepted by the bank. One of the fraudulent charges even has one of the recipient 's names, XXXX XXXX. I am assuming she is part of the theft being as though this woman lives in the same city/state as all of the physical stores. I did some digging on the name, and found a criminal history for a XXXX XXXX in Georgia for related incidents. The 4th charge is a small online charge for {$17.00} to an unknown store. Yet, all of the physical store locations have store numbers listed on the fraudulent charges, and they are all located in XXXX XXXX, Georgia. XXXX XXXX also lives in XXXX XXXX, Georgia. She was the recipient of the fraudulent money transfer of {$100.00}. This is not an application I've ever used, nor heard of prior to this incident. I am still not entirely sure what it is. My bank can see I've never used it before, too. Nonetheless, I reported these fraudulent charges to my bank immediately. They were all processed AFTER the reported theft. I immediately had my debit card canceled, and lived without any access to what remaining money the theives left for me nearly a week. I replaced my card at the bank just yesterday ( XXXX ). The remaining fraudulent charges are as listed : XXXX XXXX XX/XX/19 {$100.00} XXXX XX/XX/19 {$63.00} XXXX # XXXX XX/XX/19 {$240.00} XXXX XXXX XX/XX/19 {$17.00} The reason for not returning my money is that my card wasn't reported stolen. Yet, the bank is who canceled my card after I reported the theft. I am a FLORIDA resident. My bank is FDIC insured. I am supposed to be protected against this type of fraud. Regions has been completely uncooperative in assisting me. They have the name of at least one of the theives, but even if they chose not to prosecute her, the bank has insurance. I am more than likely going to change banks. Complaints I've read online show that this a wide spread issue with this particular bank. I'm at a loss of what to do. I clearly am not a Georgia resident, and used my debit card at a Florida branch location on the same day. It should have been obvious that my numbers were skimmed somehow.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

New Orleans, LA

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Funds not received from closed account
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-08

PA

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Sent card you never applied for
Complaint: Account # : XXXX We applied for a XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX Mastercard with the company and were approved for an account on XXXX XXXX with a credit limit of {$1500.00}. The company said we were approved for fuel, maintenance, business expenses, international and internet purchases. The cards we were sent in the mail were fuel cards with maintenance expense capabilities. Because the other features were locked, we requested new cards. I have been working on this for the last two months. Finally after having spoken with multiple supervisors in the customer service department, our company was sent the two credit cards for which we applied. The cards were receied in the mail and we were told that they are open to all expenses but then 4 hours later we received an email saying that we weren't approved and the cards were locked from our account. We scanned and sent in the agreement which was sent to us on XX/XX/XXXX but the company doesn't care. We were also charged multiple times for different amounts that what we approved them to bill us for which was a payment in the amoujnt of {$290.00}. Here are the confirmation numbers : XXXX, XXXX, XXXX The email we received was on XX/XX/XXXX saying that the credit department had approved the cards being sent out to us, and now they are declined so the cards are blocked. We applied for the business cards in XXXX and were approved for that, and the company sent the wrong cards. They sent fuel cards and we never applied for that. We were sent to new accounts who informed us that a second application was opened in our name but because we had a recently submitted application within the last 3 months, that was also declined. We never submitted a second application. We called to have the problem that customer service caused fixed, but that never happened. The company then said that the credit department says we have " high risk credit '' and that is their reasoning as to why they are currently blocking our issued credit cards. However, that isn't the case either. We have made our payments on time, do not owe them money, and we have a credit line with another company for {$10000.00}. That company is called XXXX, XXXX and they have given us a {$10000.00} credit line so clearly we do not have bad business credit. Our XXXX credit account isn't personally guaranteed by any of our authorized users because we have very good business credit. Additional verification by the credit bureau XXXX XXXX XXXX is being attached with their recommended credit card limit of {$7500.00}. We are a partner of the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, so we have attached that. Their claim of having bad business credit is therefore a lie and it's a violation of the FCRA to do what they are doing. We are attaching the cards, the request to the XXXX XXXXXXXX XXXX Directors, and the documents so that the case may be further looked into.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-07

Garrett Park, MD

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Unable to open an account
Complaint: I received two emails from Regions Bank stating that if I opened an online checking and savings accounts ( and some other criteria stated in the main body of the email and in the fine print ) that I would be eligible for a {$400.00} bonus. When I called Regions Bank, they told me that I was ineligible for this, since I do not reside in a state where Regions Bank has a physical office. This additional requirement is nowhere in the above-mentioned emails. It is also not on their website ( to the best of my knowledge. )
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-07

Princeton, KY

Trouble using your card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Can't use card to make purchases
Complaint: I moved at the beginning of XX/XX/2019. I changed my address and my cards all worked fine -- even my new zipcode worked at the gas pump. My address was correct on the account displayed on the website and I changed everything properly and timely. I was married on XX/XX/2019. On my way to my honeymoon, I stopped to get gas and my card doesn't work. My audible subscription trial doesn't work for the roadtrip. I spent 2 HOURS on the phone on my HONEYMOON to rectify the problem ( I had booked all the events on my Regions Credit Card ). I spent more hours fixing reservations until the card was cleared. Why was it locked? Because REGIONS put my street address down INCORRECTLY and the statement returned to the billing center. This apparently is policy. No TEXT, EMAIL, ONLINE WARNING, PHONE CALL was made to let me know that my card was locked. I incurred late fees on utilities and a myriad of other complications ON MY HONEYMOON. Region 's solution : " Well, I do apologize for that. If you have any fees that were incurred on your card, we can reimburse you. '' However, my fees were through the utility company and I switched payment methods. Thus, I canceled my credit card and soon plan to cancel my checking account with Regions ( 20 years loyal ). I was offered NO REAL RECOURSE. NO REAL RECOMPENSE. NOTHING. THIS PRACTICE IS NOT STATED EXPLICITLY ANYWHERE IN THE BILLING STATEMENT. " IF MAIL IS RETURNED, CARD WILL NOT WORK. '' OR " IF OUR BUSINESS MESSES UP YOUR ADDRESS, YOU HAVE TO BEAR THE FINANCIAL AND TIME BURDEN TO REMEDY OUR MISTAKE. ''
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-06

Black Jack, MO

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-11-06

Pearland, TX

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Company closed your account
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-05

Ashdown, AR

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-05

Grangeville, LA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-04

Lakesite, TN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-04

Oak Ridge N, TX

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-02

Panama City, FL

Communication tactics

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Frequent or repeated calls
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-01

Indianapolis, IN

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Credit card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase on your statement
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-01

New Orleans, LA

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Can't close your account
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-10-31

El Paso, AR

Fees or interest

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem with fees
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-10-30

Smoke Rise, GA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-10-30

Mem, TN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response


© 2022 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy