FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF OMAHA

Consumer Complaints

There are over 1354 complaints on file for FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF OMAHA. Dated between 2019-12-04 and 2011-12-02.

Complaints Page 4

2019-07-03

Kawaihae, HI

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Credit card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase on your statement
Complaint: I was charged {$4900.00} on XX/XX/XXXX by XXXX, XXXX. In my dealings with this company I did not receive any services. The company was an absolute scam and will not respond back to any email/calls. Also have been shutdown by the FTC. XXXX XXXX agreed to settle FTC charges that it helped deceive consumers with false claims that they could earn six figures within 90 days. The defendant in the case, XXXX XXXX, allegedly helped operate the coaching scheme, which did business under the name XXXX XXXX. The final order bans XXXX from selling business coaching programs and investment opportunities. In addition to the false claims about how much money people could earn, XXXX XXXX falsely promised to provide individualized coaching from successful marketers, who in fact were just salespeople selling costlier membership levels, according to the FTC. The FTC alleges that most people never earned the promised income and that consumers lost tens of millions of dollars to the scheme, including some individuals who lost more than {$50000.00}. Update as of XX/XX/XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-01

Palos Park, IL

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Application denied
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-06-27

Fort Russell, IL

Problem when making payments

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem during payment process
Complaint: When I opened my account, it was through a rewards program with XXXX - Immediately after the bank decided to close the account ( without notifying me ) all of the accumulated rewards were deleted on the XXXX website. I consider this to be a breach of contract. Eventually, XXXX was able to recover the account that was removed when the credit card account was, but not before the loss of earned points. After this, I also started to have problems with making payments. I go to make a payment online, and their system says : " MAKE PAYMENTS Error Unfortunately, we are experiencing technical difficulties at this time. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you. Please try to access the site again later or call Customer Service for assistance. '' And, miraculously, there are no problems paying AFTER the payment is late and they have charged me a late fee. I neglected to print every occurrence of this error, but I have proof at least that on XX/XX/2019 I attempted to make a payment prior to the due date of XX/XX/2019, and was prevented from doing so in this way, resulting in a late fee.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-25

Frederick, MD

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-24

Hinsdale, IL

Other features, terms, or problems

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Other problem
Complaint: OnThursdayXX/XX/XXXXIwenttothemobileapptomakemypaymentof{$450.00}.Ienteredthepaymentamountandsetupthepayment.OnSaturdayXX/XX/XXXXIreceivedanemailstatingthatIwasnearingmycreditlimitfromthealertthatIhadsetup.Iloggedintomyaccounttoseewhattheissuewas,andrealizedFirstBankcardhadloweredmycreditlimitalmost{$9000.00}foralatepayment,thatwasstillclearlyshowingaspending.IcalledcustomerserviceforthefirsttimeatXXXXonSaturdaymorningandwasinformedthatmycreditlimitwasloweredbya"routinecreditauditthatshowedmyrevolvingbalancesonmyaccountsastoohigh.Mycreditlimitwentfrom{$30000.00}downto{$21000.00},andwillnowhaveanegativeimpactonmycreditscore.Iaskedtospeaktoasupervisorandwastoldthatnoneareavailableandtheywouldsendamessageforonetocallback.IreceivedacallbackatXXXXSaturdayXX/XX/XXXXfromXXXXXXXXID#XXXXwhocouldnothelpme.IaskedtospeaktosomeonehigherandwastransferredtoXXXXXXXXID#XXXXwhodidinfactrevealthatthelatepaymentdidinfacttriggerthecreditreviewthusloweringmycreditlimit.Ihavehadthisaccountforover9years,haveneverhadalatepayment,andhaveroutinelyreceivedcreditlimitincreasesovertheyears.ThelastincreasewasinXXXXofXXXX.TherehavebeennochangestomycreditbureaufromXXXXwhenmylimitwasincreasedtoSaturdayXX/XX/XXXXwhenmycreditlimitwaslowered.Thisishavinganegativeimpactonmycreditscoreduetoahighercreditutilizationratio.XXXXXXXXinformedmetherewasnothingshecoulddoaboutit.ShedidverifythefactthatmycreditlimitwasincreasedinXX/XX/XXXXanddidnothaveavalidanswerofwhytheamountwaslowered.Ihavemadepaymentsthroughthemobileappbeforewithoutanyissues.MypaymentshouldhavepostedatthelatestonFridayXX/XX/XXXX.Ifeelthisisimpropertreatmenttoalongtermcustomer.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-23

Odell, OR

Fees or interest

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Charged too much interest
Complaint: Hello, Beginning in XXXX our new Stmt for our XXXX MasterCard arrived. I paid the entire amount in full. Pmt due date was XX/XX/XXXX, pmt arrived XXXX, No problem. Next Stmt, reflects purchases, a Bal transfer that we took advantage of and a {$200.00} dollar advance fee. I again paid the entire purchase amount, and an additional {$1200.00} dollars on top of that. Stmt asked for a Min pmt of {$330.00}. The purchase amt was {$3700.00}, bal transfer was {$10000.00} ( zero Int for 12 months ), and fee of {$200.00}. Pmt due date was XX/XX/XXXX, I sent a check for {$4900.00} ... basically a complete over pmt!! Next Stmt, they received the {$4900.00} on XXXX19 ... well ahead of the due date of XX/XX/XXXX. I think this is where the trouble begins as there is now Interest charged. I have called several times about this, I continue to be told that they are looking into it. Month after month I am charged interest that will not go away no matter how much money I send to them. The 2nd page of the Stmt shows a Charge Summary ... it says Balance Subject to Interest Rate, Bal transfer etc. ( Interest charge {$10.00} ) The whole problem seems to be with that, ( Balance Subject to Interest Rate ). Since I completely over pay every Stmt I should not have ANY amount Subject to Interest rate! My husband and I have talked to half a dozen representatives about this, all saying different things. They have said that the pmts were received too early! Crazy!! Next Stmt, due XX/XX/XXXX. Purchases {$840.00} plus Int. {$10.00}. Total then {$850.00}. Paid {$1800.00} ... {$1000.00} dollars over. Min was {$190.00}. Again, completely overpaying!! Next Stmt, due Apr XXXX reflects more Interest Charged ... {$18.00} ... this is the TRAP! Not sure what they are doing. They just keep saying that the Balance subject to Interest doesn't matter, it is actually just your Average daily Bal. My husband spoke with a supervisor for over an hour and a half on XXXX. Prior to that we spoke to XXXX XXXX, another woman on XXXX who said they were still looking into it. I spoke with XXXX on XXXX as I make pmts direct by phone!! They just continue to say that I must pay entire purchase amounts and the Min pmt amt ... all of which I am doing. Called on XXXX, spoke with XXXX ... she said that I just did not understand Interest rates. Also said she needed to re-issue our matter, and escalate it as no one was looking into it. I think this probably is enough, sorry it this is so lengthy. XXXX {$13.00} charged for XX/XX/XXXX billing, Int {$14.00} charged for XX/XX/XXXX billing, Int {$12.00} charged for ( current Stmt ) for XX/XX/XXXX Every XXXX of Interest charged is completely inaccurate. What I think they are doing is MIS-APPLYING all of our pmts. Somehow, maybe they are applying much of it toward our Zero % Bal transfer amount. All of my efforts should knock out the purchases, and then all the extra paid above that then go toward our advance amount. PLEASE, PLEASE HELP!! I can not even calculate the time, and suffering that this Company has bought me and my husband. Headaches and lack of sleep. I have XXXX credit and have never been a day late or a XXXX short on a bill in my life. THIS IS A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! I am taking all this time to hopefully help many other VICTIMS of this Bank!! First Bankcard of Omaha, XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, NE XXXX XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-06-22

NE

Problem with a lender or other company charging your account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Can't stop withdrawals from your account
Complaint: I have attempted to contact XXXX XXXX XXXX numerous times to stop automatic withdraws from my checking account. I've gone to multiple gyms to try to get this stopped and have paid fees to break the contract of {$100.00}. Yet again the company won't stop charging my account, This has been a reoccurring pattern with this company. In XX/XX/XXXX the company was informed by me and my wife that we would like to put our membership on a hold. The manager of the gym told us that it would be done, yet he did nothing. We were charged for 5 months of excessive dues of XXXX a month. Eventually after calling their headquarters office we were able to get the membership on hold. InXX/XX/XXXX we attempted to cancel our membership once and for all. The manager said that it would be done. Yet again we are still being charged {$43.00} per month. Finally on XX/XX/XXXX we went to a different gym and spoke with a different manager. We paid {$100.00} to break our contract, and promised that we wouldn't be charged anymore. On XX/XX/XXXX we were charged again for {$43.00}. I am in the process of attempting to collect receipts for the {$100.00} fee paid and the copy of the contract.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-19

Lutheran Lake, IN

Threatened to contact someone or share information improperly

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Contacted your employer
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-15

PA

Communication tactics

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Frequent or repeated calls
Complaint: On XX/XX/2019, I received 58 missed phone calls from XXXX. I know this is from First National about a convenience store credit card. I am 1 month behind on payments. I told them that I am trying to make payments and I am aware I am behind. 58 phone calls 22 minutes is harrassment.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-14

Naples, FL

Communication tactics

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Frequent or repeated calls
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-14

Scottsdale, AZ

Getting the loan

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan


Complaint: I applied for a loan via XXXX XXXX. Called XXXX XXXX XXXX which is actually 1st National Bank of Omaha in XX/XX/XXXX. I called to follow up on status & was told a letter was sent ( declined ). I verified the address and they left out my apartment, which I gave & was told on XX/XX/XXXX by 'XXXX ' it was sent " on the XX/XX/XXXX ' ( XX/XX/XXXX ). I never received the letter, so I called XX/XX/XXXX @ XXXX XXXX mountain time zone and spoke to'XXXX '. I recapped my experience and that it is ILLEGAL NOT T O SEND THE LETTER. He expressed that was his understanding. As of today XX/XX/XXXX, I have not received my denial letter as required. I intended to pay off a rip off loan that I plan to file a separate complaint.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-11

Omaha, NE

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-11

Chicago, IL

Trouble using your card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Can't use card to make purchases
Complaint: RETALIATION. My credit card issuer retaliated against me by closing my credit card account because I disputed an unauthorized charge.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-10

Effingham, KS

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: We refinanced our first and second mortgages with First National Bank in XX/XX/XXXX. The account was escrowed. On XXXX, we received a delinquent tax notification in the mail for the XXXX County Treasurer 's office. The bill states {$1500.00} has not been paid. I have notified the loan officer, XXXX XXXX. I have also notified the branch manager, XXXX XXXX. We have had mortgages with First National Bank for over 5 years. At no time have they ever failed to pay the property taxes as agreed to per our loan documentation until now. The notifications have been placed in writing via e-mail. I am asking that they send out the amount due promptly to the treasurer 's office. If there is a late fee or interest due because of failing to pay it, they will need to absorb it, because it is clearly their fault the amount has not been paid. We are not responsible for this amount.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-10

TX

Communication tactics

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Frequent or repeated calls
Complaint: XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX is harassing my work phone number and calling my family members multiple times asking questions. I have asked them to stop calling my work phone number in writing and to only call my home number at the appropriate hours. Also they will not validate the they account and their contract.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-09

Cooper City, FL

Problem when making payments

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

You never received your bill or did not know a payment was due
Complaint: Company Name : First National Bank of Omaha XXXX. XXXX XXXX, NE XXXX. Cr.Card Account No : XXXX. Complaint : I have been trying to log in on line to see my Account position and pay the amount. I can not log in instead of my ID and password I have been using for the past 60 months. As for paper statement, some time I receive it by mail, some time not. Solution I Want : I wanbeent easy access on line to my subject credit card Account as well as monthly paper statement by secure mail. XXXX XXXX XX/XX/2019.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-08

Van Nuys, CA

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Card opened as result of identity theft or fraud
Complaint: FNB OMAHA ACCOUNT IS A FRAUDULENT AND NOT MINE.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-06

N Hollywood, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-04

Sun City, AZ

Other features, terms, or problems

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem with rewards from credit card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-05-30

Staten Island, NY

Other features, terms, or problems

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem with rewards from credit card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-05-27

Stafford, VA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information is missing that should be on the report
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-05-24

Amsterdam, NY

Closing your account

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Company closed your account
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-05-24

Mogul, NV

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Application denied
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-05-23

Brandywine, NY

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Card was charged for something you did not purchase with the card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-05-22

Cowling, IL

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Debt was paid
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy