FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF OMAHA

Consumer Complaints

There are over 1354 complaints on file for FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF OMAHA. Dated between 2019-12-04 and 2011-12-02.

Complaints Page 3

2019-08-21

Oxford, GA

Trouble using your card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Can't use card to make purchases
Complaint: The bank have been reduce my credit limit several time and they destroy my credit report and score I have contacted the customer service to the First Bankcard trying to connect with their credit department and the representative negligently act with me telling that the credit department do not talk to the customers. The customer service representative explained that the reason of the bank decreasing my credit limit is because they received from the credit bureau that my credit report was compromise with fraud alert. I mentioned to the representative that I was not aware of such issue with my credit report so he recommend to contact the 3 mayor credit bureau to tell them to stop the fraud alert. I called the 3 mayor credit bureau and I have even download my credit report to see if in reality I have a fraud alert. The 3 mayor credit bureau confirm that I do not have any fraud alert neither a flag on my credit reports and in addition my credit reports do not show any evidence of fraud alerts or flags. This bank have been decreasing the credit limit on the credit card the issue to me causing a huge damage in my credit history. Today I have to cancel my account with them because there is no way that this can be resolve directly with the bank. This bank works against their customers even that I have a clean a diligent credit history with them.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-19

Briggs, OH

Problem when making payments

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem during payment process
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-19

San Antonio, TX

Other features, terms, or problems

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem with rewards from credit card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-08-16

Tarzana, CA

Other features, terms, or problems

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Other problem
Complaint: I opened a MasterCard with XXXX brand. I’ve had this credit card since XX/XX/2019. They gave me a credit line of $XXXX. I’ve been making payments timely and using the credit card. Just this month, I found out, after I made a payment of XXXX XXXX XXXX on a minimum payment of XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, they lowered my credit line from $XXXX to $XXXX, without my knowledge. When I called to speak with their credit team, the customer service rep stated that I was not allowed to speak to anyone. I wanted to know why. The customer service rep stated it was because of my XXXX score. My XXXX score is now being effected because they lowered my credit line, yet I’m still making high dollar payments. You can see that I’ve been making 3 times the minimum payment, yet XXXX credit card lowered my credit line which is now causing my credit score too stay low as well. I’m concerned that now that I’ve stopped using the credit card, they will close my account and force me to pay up front or destroy my credit that I’ve been working to increase. I’m filing this report to make them accountable. If they didn’t want me to spend the money, why did they allow me access to $XXXX??? I’m extremely worried that they will come after me by ruining my credit and expecting me to pay upfront all at once.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-16

Live Oak, TX

Closing your account

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Company closed your account
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-15

Problem adding money

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Mobile or digital wallet


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-12

Loveland, CO

Getting a line of credit

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Personal line of credit


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-12

Effingham, KS

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I previously wrote a complaint to the CFPB about the problems on our recent mortgage refinance. The problems are continuing and First National Bank of Omaha failed to properly address the problems when replying to the previous complaint. In XXXX, we received a notice from the XXXX County Tax Assessor 's office stating our taxes were delinquent. Despite escrowing the taxes and insurance when we refinanced back in XXXX, First National failed to pay them. My wife addressed the problem with XXXX XXXX, the branch manager in XXXX, and I filed a complaint with the CFPB and our state attorney general. At the time, the claimed it was an oversight. They then paid the taxes with the late penalty. They replied to the attorney general and the CFPB stating the taxes were paid. About two weeks later, we received a message from a person named XXXX in their mortgage department. She left a message stating they were needing to go through escrow options which made no sense because this was all taken care of when the loan closed. When my wife called her back, she stated they didn't properly collect closing costs at the time of close. Nearly XXXX XXXX in closing costs. My wife stated we had initially received documents stating around XXXX XXXXXXXX was needed at close, but the loan officer stated this was a mistake and we would receive adjusted closing costs prior to close of {$0.00}. She stated this in writing by e-mail and over the phone. XXXX stated we only had two options : adjusting the payment over 24 months or 12 months. The lesser of the two would jump the payment about {$60.00} a month. As my wife discussed with XXXX over the phone, XXXX XXXX, our loan officer, as well as the loan processor, clearly should have drawn up documents correctly. This was a refinance done done with them -- they were not paying off another lender. We did it to lower the APR, to lower the term, and to make our payment no more than {$1600.00} per month. We refinanced out 1st and HELOC loans into one. We made an exception and increased the payment to {$1600.00} when we decided shortening the term to 15 years would be the best option. It is absolutely rdiculous that they disclosed this loan inproperly in writing by e-mail, over the phone, and by loan documentation. XXXX clearly stated that closing costs would be adjusted to {$0.00}, defining it as adjusting costs such as settlement and processing fees. No mortgage company in their right mind adjusts it to {$0.00} through escrow costs, lets the taxes go past due, and then adjusts it to a higher payment after getting called on for doing loan paperwork incorrectly. As I stated to XXXX over the phone, because they stated closing cost would be adjusted to {$0.00}, the need to rework the settlement statement and adjust and absorb costs listed. I have discussed this with a friend who is a compliance director with another mortgage company and she stated they should make adjustments since they clearly promised they would do so in writing prior to the mortgage closing. This friend also ran the scenario past their legal department and they agreed. XXXX stated they would get back with us on this and they have not done so. She stated she would forward the problem to the head of the mortgage department, XXXX XXXX, as well as the president of the complaint department. This was on XXXX. To date, we have yet to hear a reply. I am attaching the e-mail correspondence from XXXX XXXX. I am also filing another complaint with our state attorney general. Finally, First National Bank has not been properly reporting our mortgage payments to XXXX, XXXX, or XXXX. Some months they list that we have made the full payment, others double the payment, and other months half of the payment. We always paid our full payment each month by the XXXX. They was they are reporting it, it makes it look 1-29 days past due, like we can't afford to make our payments as agreed. We have disputed the payments with the credit bureaus.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-08-08

Hillsdale, MI

Advertising and marketing, including promotional offers

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Didn't receive advertised or promotional terms
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-05

Fort Mohave, AZ

False statements or representation

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Attempted to collect wrong amount
Complaint: I have tried several times to have chargeoff removed from my report, XXXX XXXX XXXX has reported an account that I was never aware off without any warning, My Legal name is XXXX XXXX and they have me as XXXX XXXX, Not one letter has never been mailed to me and I have never opened a XXXX acount, Please remove ASAP as this matter has effected my life and is currently effecting my future.Thank You.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-01

Beyersville, TX

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Complaint: The bank of my called First National Bank of Omaha Acct # XXXX did not send electronically as I wanted when I set up the payee online. They sent to the XXXX XXXX XXXX late! The XXXX XXXX XXXX refused to change or correct the information. However, they did AFTER receiving the check from the First National Bank of Omaha. On my first attempt, I tried to fix but they did not believe me. I have a several pictures attached to prove you. The XXXX XXXX XXXX charged me on late fee and even charged me for {$13.00} dollars for interest rate. Why would they charge me twice??! The XXXX XXXX XXXX is a rip off! I asked them to credit both and the bank refused. I did pay the payment on time which was XX/XX/XXXX ... .before the deadline date. I pay on time always, but the bank and credit cards keep messing up my credit record. THIS IS WHY I am frustrated with them. They always ruin my record. I ask you to please investigate this thoroughly. How did I know I did not have a good record? XXXX was the one that shows me the problem and it started with XXXX XXXX XXXX. In fact, I called them today about why they changed the APR, they said they did not. So I don't know why XXXX has that information about the APR and it pulled ten points off from my record. I deposited my whole {$8000.00} cash into a secured card I requested. But XXXX is harming my record even though it was MY MONEY and I made it as a secured card ( last digit as # XXXX ) within XXXX XXXX XXXX. XXXX needs to fix this record and do not blame me for the APR because the man at the XXXX XXXX XXXX never told me about the APR. I would not want a secured card with a high APR, the XXXX XXXX XXXX never told me about the APR. However, the XXXX XXXX XXXX and XXXX both have different information on APR. Can you please have them fix the problem?! And keep my credit record clean as it was! Also, I check National Bank of Omaha, it has a proper status as + for a credit. However, the XXXX XXXX XXXX has - as a symbol for a credit. I do not like the XXXX XXXX XXXX s symbol. It is not friendly. They need to change to + as a credit. It is more proper status.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-01

Hon, HI

Closing your account

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Can't close your account
Complaint: I have an account with first bankcard, then my mother open another account with first bankcard and add me as an authorized user on another credit card with first bankcard which is different than the first bankcard I open on my own without letting me know in advance. I didn't mind that my mother open the account but first bankcard did not check with me which is a first red flag, when I find out later, the second red flag is first bankcard did not let me add that credit card to my online account to manage the account. When I call them, they dare to ask my mother 's personal private information include her social security which I did not give out and I don't think I want to give out someone's else social security either, which is another red flag. What they show here is lack of respect for the credit report holder which in this case was me when opening an account on my credit report without asking for my permission, then lack of respect for customer 's privacy when they started asking me my mother 's personal questions include her social security when I try to gain access to the credit card my mother open under my name when she add me as authorized user. This show lack of care for consumer privacy, and when I tried to close this credit card that is opened under my name, they said the fraud division would start investigate it which is ridiculous because they are the one who fraudulently open an account on my credit report without checking with me first and refuse to let me close an account on my credit report when asking for someone's else private information as an excuse to not let me access my own account. What a joke. I don't know who set up their system but it shows a total lack of concern for consumer 's private information rights. I own my own XXXX XXXX : XXXX XXXX XXXX ( registered in Hawaii ) and I would never set up a system where someone can open an account on someone's else credit report without their permission. My name is XXXX XXXX XXXX and my blog is : XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-31

Kingman, AZ

Fees or interest

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Unexpected increase in interest rate
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-07-28

Mabank, TX

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem getting a working replacement card
Complaint: Hi requested a new credit card to my address XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX Texas XXXX and I never received my credit card and it was send back to the sender by the US postal service and I never requested that and the bank told me that I would have to go on another credit review if I get another card sent to me with a new card number and I explain to the bank I never requested for a address to be forwarded it must be a mistake with the US postal service and my brother was recently moved and he must use my name to change the address without my permission and its fraud if that true and Im asking for first National Bank of Omaha to resend me that credit card with the same account number to my address ... my original credit card was stolen along with my wallet and my wallet was recover by the police department of XXXX XXXX and Ive been going through too much already such as losing access to my XXXX and not receiving any verification codes to my phone and getting all my cards reissued to me
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-07-21

GA

Problem when making payments

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem during payment process
Complaint: On XX/XX/2019, I completed a Balance Transfer request with First Bankcard for {$850.00}. The offer was for 6.99 % fixed APR and a transfer fee of the greater of {$10.00} or 1 % of the balance. On XX/XX/2019, they provided a statement to me indicating that I had been charged the {$10.00} fee and {$1.00} for the minimum interest charge. Additionally, the statement indicated that I still had AutoPay on to pay the full statement balance. At some point after the statement was released, but prior to a week before the AutoPay was supposed to happen on XX/XX/2019, I changed my AutoPay selection to pay the minimum payment instead. I believe that this was done immediately after seeing the statement, but I did not receive any confirmation when I changed the AutoPay option. However, on XX/XX/2019, my checking account was still debited for the full statement balance. I contacted First Bankcard on XX/XX/2019 after I noticed the full statement balance had been incorrectly debited from my account. They were not able to resolve my complaint.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-07-20

Omaha, NE

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Complaint: First National Bank of Omaha - XX/XX/2019 is one example..when my checking account balance is low a transaction will go through my account and my account will automatically overdraft where i am charged a XXXX fee. The transaction is not listed on the account or the app or website so i have no idea what they tried to process in my account and im automatically over drafted with no opportunity to bring the account in good standing before the close of the day which is ironic because i will authorize payments before noon on a friday and the bank will hold the transactions until the end of the business day on Monday basically two full days. I believe they are manipulating transactions and should be looked into. Furthermore my overdraft coverage is manipulated to where i will select basic overdraft coverage get approved then go back to app website and it will say no basic overdraft coverage
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-19

Lexington, NE

Problem caused by your funds being low

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Overdrafts and overdraft fees
Complaint: so I was trying to make a purchase with my debit card online and it was declined, I am aware that it would have been an overage but that is what my over draft protection is for I thought, I had to get a new account because my wallet got stolen and my acct and routing number was in there, and when I got this new acct my overdraft protection was apparently put the same as my old acct but with my old acct I could overdraft up to {$100.00} and it would still approve it without any problems.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-18

FL

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Credit card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase on your statement
Complaint: On XX/XX/2019 I made reservations for a room at a XXXX XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/2019 for a charge of {$200.00}. I agreed to a no cancellation. The reservations were made using a third party website. At the time of my arrival I saw signs all over the parking lot stating that there was a fee for parking. I was very confused because no where in my reservation had it said there would be a parking fee. When I entered the lobby I asked the receptionist about the fees. She quickly responded with " Yes, there is a {$12.00} overnight parking fee. '' I stated that I was not aware of any parking fees. She responded with " Yeah, they just started charging for parking. '' I was pretty upset that not only was I about to pay over {$200.00} for 1 night at a hotel but there were other hidden fees on top of that. I tried to handle the situation with the receptionist at the front desk and was told that " There is nothing she could do and if she could please have my credit card and drivers license to put on file. '' I told her no. I wasn't going to stay at a hotel that lies and has hidden fees. I quickly called my credit card company First National Bank to dispute the charge. I felt lied to and cheated to and the employees did nothing to help with the situation. We also contacted the supervisor of the hotel and left him a message and he never contacted us back. My credit card company investigated the dispute and found that I did not owe the company any money and I was not charged for the hotel. A few weeks went by and I received a letter in the mail stating that the hotel was now disputing the charges and I was to respond if I still disagreed. I sent my response. Not even 2 days later I get another letter in the mail post marked with the same date I mailed my response stating that they would be siding with the merchants evidence and will no longer be representing me in the dispute. That I would now have to deal with the issue directly with the merchant. I called and told them how insane that was seeing as they were given the option to dispute my dispute but I did not get to argue their dispute. I was simple dropped by my credit card company in the dispute. But they were still going to charge me and still want their money. The reason being they are siding with the merchant is because I agreed to a no cancellation fee. They are also trying to say that I knew of the parking fees when I made the reservations. Which I did not. The evidence they provided were reservations made from their website. Which is not the website I used to make the reservation. The third party website did not list anything about parking fees. Their corporate website does. If I had known about the parking fees I would have never made the reservations. So, my complaint is that my credit card company has just decided to side with the merchant and not even hear me out. After they gave me the opportunity to respond. They quickly took it back before they even received my response. I've already tried to handle the situation with the merchant and got rejected and now my credit card company told me I need to deal with the merchant to handle the issue. Obviously, I went to my credit card company because the merchant did not want to assist me. Plus, the merchant partially lied on their dispute stating they offered to waive the parking fee. Which they never did. If they had offered to wave the parking fee. I would have stayed the night at the hotel.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-18

Chicago, IL

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Card was charged for something you did not purchase with the card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-07-17

Northdale, FL

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-16

Westerville, OH

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Application denied
Complaint: I applied online for a XXXX XXXX Mastercard by First Bankcard on XX/XX/XXXX. I received notice of a decline promptly on line. Thinking there was some sort of error I called XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX which was a phone number they provided for such a situation. I was informed by XXXX I would receive a letter in 7-10 business days detailing why and that I was turned down due to a prior bankruptcy and too many credit inquiries. I did finally receive a letter dated XX/XX/XXXX but I didn't receive it until XX/XX/XXXX. It did not site a prior bankruptcy. I did have a personal bankruptcy but it was discharged in XXXX and should not be part of any current credit decision.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-16

Las Vegas, NV

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-07-12

Bedford, TX

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem getting a working replacement card
Complaint: My credit card account with a credit limit of {$2400.00} was opened in the year XXXX. I have used this card to make purchases, most recently after XX/XX/XXXX but before XX/XX/XXXX. I paid off the balance due before it was due just prior to the end of the month of XX/XX/XXXX. I have been expecting a replacement card to arrive in the mail, as all of my other replacement credit cards from other banks come to my mailbox, since this credit card expired the last day of XX/XX/XXXX. However, it is now XXXX and I have not received the replacement credit card from the issuing bank. Therefore, today I called the bank that originally issued to me the credit card in the year XXXX and spoke to one of its agents at length about why I have not received a replacement credit card from a bank with which I have maintained an excellent relationship by paying as agreed all balances due on my credit card since the credit card was established five years ago. Never have I ever been delinquent to pay any balance due to this bank and I have maintained perfectly my end of the written agreement that I signed prior to the bank issuing to me the credit card I received from this bank in the mail in XXXX. The customer service agent employed by this bank that I spoke with on the phone today stated that the bank had sent me a notice that it would close my account due to inactivity if I did not use the credit card. I never received the notice the customer service agent claimed the bank had sent to my address that has not changed in over twenty-five years. Therefore I believe that either the issuing bank or the customer service agent I spoke with was at the least disingenuous in the claim that a notice informing me that my credit card account would soon be closed due to inactivity had been recently sent to me, prior to my having used this credit card to make a purchase last month, as I have no problem receiving all other mail properly mailed to my address of over two and a half decades. The customer service agent stated to me today that the only way that I can receive a replacement credit card is to formally reapply for a new credit card account with this bank which will require me to fill out a new application for a credit card and will permit the bank to make a hard pull inquiry with the credit bureaus which will negatively affect my credit scores with the credit bureaus. I do not wish to reapply for a new credit card because it is simply not necessary in that I have maintained a perfect relationship with this bank for five years, have never been delinquent on my account, and contrary to what the customer service agent claimed on the phone today, I have been actively using this credit card by charging merchandise to this card and paying the balance due before the due date prior to the cards expiration date of XX/XX/XXXX. On top of that, I never received notice from the bank that my credit card account was about to be closed due to inactivity as was today wrongly claimed by the banks customer service agent. This dispute should not exist to start with for all of the reasons I have explained that can be easily verified in my account record with this bank that can not prove that it sent, or that I received, a notice in the mail that my account would soon be closed due to inactivity. The right thing for the bank to do to maintain the excellent relationship we have enjoyed for five years is to immediately send to me by mail the replacement credit card to replace the credit card that expired on XX/XX/XXXX.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-07

Austin, TX

Fees or interest

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Charged too much interest
Complaint: In XX/XX/XXXX, I was checking my balance on the MC card ( No. XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX First National Bank of Omaha ), and asking about any special offers. I was told be banks representative that one special offer entailed making a purchase over {$500.00}, which I could pay back without incurring interest within 12 months ( or, by XX/XX/XXXX ). With this information, I made a large purchase at the end of XX/XX/XXXX. I would not have made the purchase otherwise. First two statements after the purchase showed no interest. I called again in XX/XX/XXXXto confirm that the offer was indeed real and correct. I spoke with a male representative, who checked with the supervisor and confirmed my understanding of the offer ( i.e., no interest until XX/XX/XXXX). When the next statement came, however, it showed an interest charge of {$380.00} ( or, 18.24 % ). This was unexpected. Fearing that an error was made, I called again, but this time I was told that there was no special offer! So after two phone calls telling me there was a special offer I suddenly got news that there was no offer. ( It should be noted that at the end of XX/XX/XXXX, there was change regarding XXXX MC initiated by the bank. ) I am repeating that I would not have made this purchase if not for the offer information I was given by a banks representative in XX/XX/XXXX. The bank recorded the phone calls, so they should have those available as proof.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-07-06

Green Acres, FL

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy