FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF OMAHA

Consumer Complaints

There are over 1354 complaints on file for FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF OMAHA. Dated between 2019-12-04 and 2011-12-02.

Complaints Page 2

2019-10-10

East Detroit, MI

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Application denied
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-07

Atlanta, GA

Fees or interest

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem with fees
Complaint: FNBO Beware. I opened the credit card account after being marketed by FNBO/XXXX XXXX endlessly following the recent purchase of our 2019 XXXX. After 6 months of not using the card, I made a few purchases and kept my utilization around 30 % of my {$8500.00} limit. I logged into their system and created an auto payment ( direct debit ) from my checking account ( XXXX XXXX ). FNBO charged me a late payment fee and a bad payment fee {$26.00} and {$35.00} respectfully. I called and they found an extra duplicative digit in the checking account number. They reversed one fee and left the second. FNBO then triggered a reduction in my credit limit resulting in a reportable event to the credit bureaus show I had suddenly utilized 94 % of the current balance, causing a cascading effect on my FICO scores. No one on the call stated this simple typo error would cause so much impact. I sent them a payoff for the total due today and never want to be their customer again. FNBO is acting predatory to cardholders. They are impacting a lot of consumers with much less means than i am fortunate enough to have. FNBO is charging fees for their own systems failings.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-07

Queens, NY

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Application denied
Complaint: They refuse to process any of my applications either secured or not secures I want to build a relationship with them but they wont allow me send me XXXX letters saying that I was a bad customer when I call them they wont tell me how long I have to wait its like they think Im a fraud they treat me horrible and its just horrible they recommended I apply for a secured cars with my own money so then Im Not a high risk because their not lending me anything but they decline me for that as well I dont know what else to do with this bank their so discriminating even though I never had any accounts with them Thisbe bank must be investigated I wont stop until they seek resolution because its nit fair how they behave with me their fraud department is awful their is a rude guy their XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-28

Grand Jct, CO

Other features, terms, or problems

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Other problem
Complaint: First National Bank of Omaha dropped the credit limit of a 36 year relationship VISA credit card from $ XXXX to $ XXXX with no advance notice, which caused issues when getting ready to travel. Contacted the VISA department and was given a poor response that due to " concerns of fraud and lack of use '' they felt the previous limit could be better used with another customer.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-27

Queens, NY

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Application denied
Complaint: When will this bank approve me and not closed my account they treat me horrible when I get approved their XXXX fraud department shuts me down immediately its not fair I cant use my card once approved I have applied for a secured card even and they wont approve me their crazy also I asked them they would offer contactless technology on their cards tap pay feature it makes the checkout more convenient as many banks are starting to add this feature next to the chip you tap it instead of inserting the chip its more secure they said they dont know such old technology time for this bank to update their card technology as other us banks
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-27

N Haven, CT

Trouble using your card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Credit card company won't increase or decrease your credit limit
Complaint: I have been using First Bank Card for 14 Years. I have NEVER been late on a single payment. On XX/XX/2019, I received a new card in the mail because the existing card was due to expire by the end of the month. The terms on the new card indicated a Total Credit Limit of {$29000.00}. My credit usage was roughly maxed out at that time. On XX/XX/XXXX, upon receiving the new card in the mail, I called in and activated the new card with a representative at the company. At the same time, on XX/XX/XXXX, I also made a payment of {$20000.00} which was initiated that day. I made this payment in good faith that my card limit was to remain at {$29000.00} per the notice I received and the conversation I had with the representative prior to making payment on the XXXX. On XX/XX/XXXX, the new card got activated and the {$20000.00} payment went through. The payment did not clear the account until the next day on XX/XX/XXXX. Upon checking my statement to be sure that the payment cleared, I noticed that my available credit was still at XXXX, meaning my card was maxed out, despite me clearing more than 2/3 of my entire balance. I called the company multiple times and they told me that my credit card limit had been decreased from {$29000.00} to {$10000.00} overnight. The company reps claimed it happened to be a coincidence that my limit got lowered on the same day that I made payment. The reps I spoke to would not let me talk to anyone in the credit department. They claimed over and and over again that it was impossible to change their decision. The ONLY reason I paid {$20000.00} to Firstbankcard was to IMPROVE my credit score, since now I would have ample amount of credit available which improves my overall debt ratio significantly. This company accepted my payment under false pretenses and eliminated my available credit by reducing my limit to {$10000.00}. The {$200000.00} payment I made essentially evaporated and provided me zero benefit. My score will not increase because my debt ratio is still maxed out at 100 % under the new limit, despite the healthy payoff. Also, I have no access to the cash that I earned for the entire year to put myself in a better financial situation. The {$200000.00} limit decrease prevents me from improving on my score or having access to credit. My card has never been deceased prior to XX/XX/2019. {$20000.00} decrease in limit is EXTREME at best and other card companies I have talked to said they would never reduce the limit by more than {$5000.00} at a time. This situation has put in great hardship and I may have to file for bankruptcy because the card company deceived me into making a payment and essentially robbed me of {$20000.00} and offered no benefit or reward for me being a financially responsible. I am left with XXXX savings, XXXX cash, and XXXX ACCESS TO MONEY. I need my file reviewed and my credit limit increased back to its prior level. I received no notice or warning that a decrease was in play, and this took me totally off guard, leaving me in a very bad financial situation. The new card would not have been activated nor would I have paid such a large payment knowing this would be the result. No notice was sent out whatsoever. The company in question is Firstbank Card XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-25

Chadron, NE

Fees or interest

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem with fees
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-18

El Cerrito, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem making or receiving payments
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-09-18

Omaha, NE

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-16

Henderson, NV

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-11

La Pine, OR

Trouble using your card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Credit card company won't increase or decrease your credit limit
Complaint: I was approved for your XXXX credit card at a particular credit limit about three months ago. Yesterday, without any notice, this credit limit was decreased significantly. There have been no defaults, delinquencies, or negative marks on my credit report since the initial approval. I have paid more than the minimum due with each payment and my income has not changed. The excuse I received from customer service was that the third-party team who initially approved the application missed some things. Sorry, that's not my fault. I have upheld my end of the credit relationship. Had I known that my credit limit could be decreased at any time ( for no good reason ) and without advance notice ... I would not have applied for this card. But now I'm stuck. If I cancel the card, that will have a negative impact on my credit report because of the short length of time the account has been open.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-11

Karlstad, MN

Took or threatened to take negative or legal action

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Sued you without properly notifying you of lawsuit
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-10

Belle Haven, VA

Fees or interest

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Charged too much interest
Complaint: On the promotion they are not show it on the statement as a separation rate. They are showing everything under the higher rate. exp. the promo is 6.99 % and the standard is 22.00 % they are not showing what is what i did under the lower rate.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-09

Lenexa, KS

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-09

VA

Other features, terms, or problems

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Other problem
Complaint: I have called the credit card company twice to resolve this ongoing issue of charging me interest. Every month I pay my new purchases balance in full. I got a promotional check for a balance transfer with a 0 % interest till XXXX of XXXX. I'm including three statements which clearly shows I paid my new purchase balance, fees for the use of the loan, ( which I understood and agreed to pay ) and payment on the loan delivered on XX/XX/XXXX which needed to be paid on XX/XX/XXXX. When my XXXX Statement arrived I was surprised to see I was being charged and interest fee. When I called the credit card company they said I didn't pay my balance in full. I explained to them I did but your including the loan balance as a total new balance with my new purchases for the month. What good is the 0 % interest till XXXX of XXXX if you include this as part of my new balance and charge me 25 % interest? I kept getting the run around about their policy, so I told them fine I'll just pay the entire amount off which I did shown on the second statement delivered XX/XX/XXXX that was over 2 weeks early as payment was due on XX/XX/XXXX. So you can imagine my surprise when my XXXX statement arrived and I had another interest charge. I then recalled the company and asked them why are they keep charging me interest as I paid my entire balance in full over 2 weeks earlier then it was due. They kept on the same statement that this was due to me not paying my balance in full. I asked the customer service rep if he agreed that I paid my new purchases in full every month and he said yes. I then asked him if I paid my minimum amount due on the loan and he said yes. So then help me understand what I haven't paid? He didn't have a response for me other than I hadn't paid my balance in full. Really because it's clear that I did. I think this 0 % balance transfer program is a scam and I'm requesting the interest charges for both months and the fee I paid to have this Credited back to my account as a total of {$57.00} as I did not get the service I was promised. Before I decided to take advantage of this balance transfer I called the credit card company and asked how this all works and they told me, ( which was a recorded line ), that my everyday charges would be separate from my balance transfer and as long as I paid my new purchases in full and the minimum requirement on the loan I would not be charged interest. This is obviously not the case. When I found this service to report this issue I read of another person with a case number XXXX submitted on XX/XX/XXXX with the same issue from the same credit card bank. Got me to thinking how many others are out there getting ripped off by this so called 0 % loan. This is very unethical and I hope you can put a stop to this companies actions as to me this is what is upsetting me more. Having the credit of {$57.00} would be nice but if my actions help others then that would be well worth my time in submitting this complaint.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-09

Adrian, MI

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Credit card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase on your statement
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-03

Kimballs, VT

Advertising and marketing, including promotional offers

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Confusing or misleading advertising about the credit card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-08-30

Lenexa, KS

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-29

Lompoc, CA

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Reporting company used your report improperly
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-27

Portland, OR

Fees or interest

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem with fees
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-08-27

Omaha, NE

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-26

Lancaster, TX

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Card opened as result of identity theft or fraud
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-23

Problem when making payments

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem during payment process
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-22

Key Biscayne, FL

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-21

Hanover, MD

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Credit card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase on your statement
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy