Ad Astra Recovery Services Inc

Consumer Complaints

There are over 1711 complaints on file for Ad Astra Recovery Services Inc. Dated between 2019-12-09 and 2013-08-01.

Complaints Page 4

2019-09-23

Columbus, OH

Credit monitoring or identity theft protection services

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan

Received unwanted marketing or advertising
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-22

Addicks Barker, TX

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt is not yours
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-21

Oxford, GA

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt was result of identity theft
Complaint: I am a victim of identity theft and this debt does not belong to me. Please see the identity theft report and legal affidavit attached.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-21

Lewisville, TX

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt is not yours
Complaint: Like many others, as a consumer, I absolutely do not feel like I have the power to control what is reported on my credit profile. People just put items on your report, and we have to spend time, energy and money to get it taken off! I am very diligent in getting my profile corrected. The Credit Bureaus have a responsibility to report correct information and its not fair when they do not! I have been disputing one particular account, for well over a year. My first dispute letter to Ad Astra was sent XX/XX/18! I have NEVER signed a contract or agreed to an account or affiliation with Ad Astra, but they keep reporting on my credit report and failing but failed to provide a copy of any alleged contract or other instrument bearing my signature. I am appalled and disgusted with all three bureaus as well as Ad Astra. They have all failed to verify any debt, as required by law. I have sent multiple letters to each bureau and Ad Astra as well. Ive sent almost 10 letters to resolve this! The bureaus have failed because they continue to just send back responses saying the account is verified. Both Ad Astra and each of the bureaus have failed to provide me with a copy of any viable evidence, bearing my signature, showing the account is being reported accurately. I am requesting that you demand that the description of the procedure used to determine the accuracy and completeness of the information is provided by Ad Astra or they delete the negative information from my report. They should NOT have another 30 days for this! I expect it within the next 7 days! Theyve had over a year! Additionally, please ask them to provide the name, address, and telephone number of each person who personally verified this alleged account, so that I can inquire about how they verified without providing any proof, bearing my signature. As per FTC opinion letter from Attorney XXXX XXXX XXXX, they should be aware that a printout of a bill or itemized document does not constitute verification. I am again, formally requesting a copy of any documents, bearing my signature, showing that I have a legally binding contractual obligation to pay the alleged amount to Ad Astra. Be aware that I am making a final goodwill attempt to clear up this matter. The listed item is inaccurate, incomplete and represents a very serious error in reporting. I am maintaining a careful record of my communications, should they continue their non-compliance of federal laws under the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, the Fair Credit Reporting Act, and the corresponding local state laws, and they are all liable for their willful non-compliance. The law demands them to provide such documentation or the company/bureau are required to delete. I am requesting you have them to delete this debt, immediately from all three credit reporting agencies, XXXX, XXXX XXXX and XXXX, as per the law! Please find copies of my letters and company responses, but not validations or anything bearing my signature.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-21

Manhattan, NY

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-19

Houston, TX

False statements or representation

Debt collection: Payday loan debt

Attempted to collect wrong amount
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-17

Anaheim, CA

Took or threatened to take negative or legal action

Debt collection: Payday loan debt

Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
Complaint: AD ASTRA RECOVERY representing XXXX XXXX has repetitively sent correspondence demanding payment for an unknown debts. When I requested by law that they send me identifying documents to show that I owe this debt such am ID, Social Security Number, and/or contract bearing my signature, they have not done so. Their claim is Hearsay according to law. In the midst of this, they are ruining my quality of life because they have put this item on my credit : XX/XX/2018 amt {$4700.00}
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-15

Belton, MO

Written notification about debt

Debt collection: Payday loan debt

Didn't receive notice of right to dispute
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-13

Chattanooga, TN

Written notification about debt

Debt collection: Payday loan debt

Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-13

Sacramento, CA

Can't stop withdrawals from your bank account

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Payday loan


Complaint: In XX/XX/2019 I filed an Identity Theft Report submitted to XXXX, XXXX, and XXXX I sent them certified to all three credit bureaus in regards AD ASTRA RECOVERY SERV XXXX Reporting as closed in the amount of $ XXXX.They continue to report the account with a balance to the credit bureaus as closed or open. The item should be completely removed. I have requested on multiple occasions for the creditors to send me a signed document with my signature as proof under the FCRA and they have continued to report the debt as valid with no proof with my signature on any document. They continue to send me letters after the dispute saying the debt is valid with NO documents with my signature on it. The credit bureaus notified me there was one more document I needed to submit with my dispute. I submitted ALL of the necessary documents via certified mail and I have called the credit bureaus who are now denying that they have received my documents, which is false one of their representatives verified on a recorded line that they have received my documents and the items will be removed by XX/XX/19 or no later than XX/XX/19.I called back the next day to verify that the item would be removed by the dates stated. To my surprise the rep said they never received my documents. I called back and spoke with two supervisors and they said they have not received my documents, which is false because the letter was sent certified with tracking information. XXXX XXXX continues to report these balances on my report. I would like to be done with this process it has been costly to me. Under section 605B of the Fair Credit Reporting Act the item reporting by XXXX XXXXXXXX XXXX Account Number : XXXX should be completely blocked and deleted from my credit reports. 808. Unfair practices A debt collector may not use unfair or unconscionable means to collect or attempt to collect any debt. Without limiting the general application of the foregoing, the following conduct is a violation of this section : ( 1 ) The collection of any amount ( including any interest, fee, charge, or expense incidental to the principal obligation ) unless such amount is expressly authorized by the agreement creating the debt or permitted by law. ( 2 ) The acceptance by a debt collector from any person of a check or other payment instrument postdated by more than five days unless such person is notified in writing of the debt collector 's intent to deposit such check or instrument not more than ten nor less than three business days prior to such deposit. ( 3 ) The solicitation by a debt collector of any postdated check or other postdated payment instrument for the purpose of threatening or instituting criminal prosecution. ( 4 ) Depositing or threatening to deposit any postdated check or other postdated payment instrument prior to the date on such check or instrument. ( 5 ) Causing charges to be made to any person for communications by concealment of the true purpose of the communication. Such charges include, but are not limited to, collect telephone calls and telegram fees. ( 6 ) Taking or threatening to take any no judicial action to effect dispossession or disablement of property if -- ( A ) There is no present right to possession of the property claimed as collateral through an enforceable security interest ; ( B ) There is no present intention to take possession of the property ; or ( C ) The property is exempt by law from such dispossession or disablement. ( 7 ) Communicating with a consumer regarding a debt by post card. ( 8 ) Using any language or symbol, other than the debt collector 's address, on any envelope when communicating with a consumer by use of the mails or by telegram, except that a debt collector may use his business name if such name does not indicate that he is in the debt collection business. 15 USC 1692g 809. Validation of debts ( a ) Notice of debt ; contents Within five days after the initial communication with a consumer in connection with the collection of any debt, a debt collector shall, unless the following information is contained in the initial communication or the consumer has paid the debt, send the consumer a written notice containing -- ( 1 ) The amount of the debt ; ( 2 ) The name of the creditor to whom the debt is owed ; ( 3 ) A statement that unless the consumer, within thirty days after receipt of the notice, disputes the validity of the debt, or any portion thereof, the debt will be assumed to be valid by the debt collector ; ( 4 ) A statement that if the consumer notifies the debt collector in writing within the thirty-day period that the debt, or any portion thereof, is disputed, the debt collector will obtain verification of the debt or a copy of a judgment against the consumer and a copy of such verification or judgment will be mailed to the consumer by the debt collector ; and ( 5 ) A statement that, upon the consumer 's written request within the thirty-day period, the debt collector will provide the consumer with the name and address of the original creditor, if different from the current creditor. ( b ) Disputed debts If the consumer notifies the debt collector in writing within the thirty-day period described in subsection ( a ) of this section that the debt, or any portion thereof, is disputed, or that the consumer requests the name and address of the original creditor, the debt collector shall cease collection of the debt, or any disputed portion thereof, until the debt collector obtains verification of the debt or a copy of a judgment, or the name and address of the original creditor, and a copy of such verification or judgment, or name and address of the original creditor, is mailed to the consumer by the debt collector. Collection activities and communications that do not otherwise violate this subchapter may continue during the 30-day period referred to in subsection ( a ) unless the consumer has notified the debt collector in writing that the debt, or any portion of the debt, is disputed or that the consumer requests the name and address of the original creditor. Any collection activities and communication during the 30-day period may not overshadow or be inconsistent with the disclosure of the consumers right to dispute the debt or request the name and address of the original creditor. ( c ) Admission of liability The failure of a consumer to dispute the validity of a debt under this section may not be construed by any court as an admission of liability by the consumer. ( d ) Legal pleadings A communication in the form of a formal pleading in a civil action shall not be treated as an initial communication for purposes of subsection ( a ). ( e ) Notice provisions The sending or delivery of any form or notice which does not relate to the collection of a debt and is expressly required by title 26, title V of Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act [ 15 U.S.C. 6801 et seq. ], or any provision of Federal or State law relating to notice of data security breach or privacy, or any regulation prescribed under any such provision of law, shall not be treated as an initial communication in connection with debt collection for purposes of this section. 15 USC 1692h
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-12

Nashville, TN

False statements or representation

Debt collection: Payday loan debt

Attempted to collect wrong amount
Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX, I received a copy of my credit report from XXXX credit reporting agency. That report stated the following, which was furnished by Ad Astra Recovery Services , Inc. of XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX . XXXX, XXXX, Kansas, XXXX. I proceeded to dispute the item. Upon completion of the dispute no changes were made to my report. On XX/XX/XXXX, I disputed the inquiry once again for the inaccuracy. Under the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act ( 15 U.S.C. section 1681 and following ), you are obligated to investigate requests within 30 days, and promptly give credit reporting agencies correct information if you find that information you have reported is incorrect or incomplete. This derogatory mark is wrongfully damaging my credit tremendously.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-12

Calabasas, CA

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt was result of identity theft
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-11

Houston, TX

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt is not yours
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-11

Houston, TX

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt was result of identity theft
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-10

Arlington, TX

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-09

Mccullers, NC

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Payday loan debt

Debt is not yours
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-08

TX

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-07

Ehrhardt, SC

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt was result of identity theft
Complaint: I am a victim of identity theft and this debt does not belong to me. Please see the identity theft report and legal affidavit attached.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-06

CA

False statements or representation

Debt collection: Payday loan debt

Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
Complaint: I was called by a private number in XX/XX/XXXX. I did not answer the call and a voicemail was left. In the voicemail a man told me he would be at my home address between XXXX the following business day to serve me papers due to a lawsuit filed against me. He said that if I was not home he would show up to my place of employment and discuss the papers with my manager. He left a contact number and case number to return the call. When I returned the call a women said she was going to place me on a brief hold to get my paperwork off of the attorneys desk to review it with me. Once she returned to the call she said her company had been hired by XXXX XXXX and I was being sued. I informed the woman that she was in direct violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and ended the call.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-06

Killeen, TX

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-05

Milwaukee, WI

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Payday loan debt

Debt was paid
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-05

Corpus Christi, TX

Received a loan you didn't apply for

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Payday loan


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-05

Temperanceville, VA

False statements or representation

Debt collection: Payday loan debt

Attempted to collect wrong amount
Complaint: I currently have a credit monitoring service. I was alerted that the company Ad Astra Recovery Service reported a decreased my balance by {$1.00}. I have idea who this company is and have not received any correspondence via mail or email from them. They are reporting that the balance was reduced by {$1.00} but I have not paid this company anything. It is really unfair for them to be reporting on my credit report like this.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-05

Thompsons Station, TN

False statements or representation

Debt collection: Payday loan debt

Attempted to collect wrong amount
Complaint: I took out a loan with XXXX XXXX and it got sent to collections with AD ASTRA, I got a notification from XXXX XXXX yesterday saying that my collection account has decresed, I checked the account and the statement says it went down {$1.00} so it went from {$800.00} to {$800.00}, I have not made any payments to the account and it has bee nthere since XXXX, I have not had any communications with this company other than it showing on my credit and I also did not make a payment to them in the amount of {$1.00}, they are falsifying this information that is showing up on my credit report. The document I uploaded was reported on XX/XX/XXXX and I got the update to my phone on XX/XX/XXXX
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-05

Jasper, AL

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy