QUICKEN LOANS, INC.

Consumer Complaints

There are over 2206 complaints on file for QUICKEN LOANS, INC.. Dated between 2019-12-10 and 2012-02-01.

Complaints Page 4

2019-10-02

Brooklyn, NY

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: XX/XX/2019, I was notified by Quicken Loans that an employee error occurred during the transfer of my loan to them causing 6 years of taxes on my parking spot to be missed. It has been a continued back and forth since. They were going to increase my mortgage to almost {$1600.00} from {$1000.00}. I informed them that I have recently been laid off, I am back in school XXXX and collecting approx {$300.00} weekly unemployment right now. I informed them what I can pay monthly which is {$1100.00} a month and its been a struggle since. I have never been late with payments. This 6 year issue they cause / is being forced on me to pay back at a payment amount that will force me into financial issues. Before being laid off I properly planned for my annual increases. Not for 6 years of an issue caused by Quicken Loans. I am looking for help with this back and forth of phone calls, email, undue stress and anxiety. Today I broke down on phone crying and being upset. This is horrible. I was told to hold my payment past 30 days In order to get additional support from there resolution team which will affect my creditworthiness and lateness on my account. This is not an option.
Company Response: Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-10-01

Fayetteville, AR

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-01

CO

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: The entire loan process was great until my loan was handed off to a " customer service specialist '' who was extremely rude and deceitful throughout the entire process. My realtor went as far as to say he lied to him and the closing agent I was working with. The customer service specialist tried to delay my loan closing after saying for weeks that everything was in line and that all the documents needed were collected. I later found out he had lied about that and there were documents that needed to be signed that were overlooked on his part. He admitted blame to me on this and then went ahead and told my previous loan officer that it actually wasn't his fault even though it was. One lie after the next. After leaving work early to compensate for my loan officers mistake ( I had to e-sign documents and don't have access to internet where I work ) I manage to get all the documents my loan officer needed. I called and called my loan officers leaving unanswered voicemails and eventually got my officer to answer the phone. He told me my loan would be pushed back to the original date XX/XX/19. The next day I get calls and emails from my realtor and closing agent informing me that my lender did not change the documents to the correct date. Again, I try and try to call my lender and finally get them to sort the whole thing out. Of course I have to leave work to handle this but this is none of my lender 's concern. Customer service is not their strong suit. I asked for a small closing credit which was ignored for several days until I was told I waited too long to ask for a credit. They would have given we a closing credit to begin with but unfortunately it took them four days to get me set up with a realtor. Each day they told me it would be less than 24 hours. My entire experience has been nothing but ignored phone calls, lack of accountability, and poor customer service. I asked to speak to management but was ignored and kept being told I'm talking to the " top tier '' before they moved me up to their next " top tier ''. I have had few honest encounters with their staff.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-30

Lansing, MI

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Complaint: To sum this up to start off I am not contesting that the property inspection was done or that the payment terms were or were not discussed with me. My issue is I was told FALSE INFORMATION in order to get me to proceed with the process. It was later admitted to me BY MY QUICKEN REP that they told me incorrect information accidentally, before I agreed to pay the {$500.00}, and thats why I am contesting the amount. The admission was on the phone but although Quicken tells you they are recording everything I am sure they wont give that recording up. Quicken will say my property estimate came in under and thats why the numbers were incorrect but that simply is not true. My property actually came in {$4000.00} higher than I estimated it was worth, I said XXXX and it came in at XXXX, it was my Quicken loan rep that wanted to say it would appraise for more but I was very conservative in homes estimated value because I didnt want to go thru the process and be disappointed. I told my rep, XXXX XXXX, that I only would be willing to do this if I was able to do certain things. I didnt want any cash out, only to lower my interest rate and pay off some debts. After I gave him all the requested info, including nearly all the requested documents within 24hrs, he calls me and says CONGRATULATIONS! We are going to be able to refi your home and pay off everything you requested, all we need is a good faith deposit of {$500.00} for the appraisal. We went over the entire scope of the loan before I agreed to pay {$500.00} and because it lined up with everything I wanted to do I agreed to proceed. I had put in a refi inquiry not only thru Quicken but thru a couple other sources online so I was being contacted pretty consistently by other mortgage companies but initially because I was proceeding with Quicken I didnt entertain any other offers. As things progressed though, after the physical appraisal but but before I had received the report, I had noticed on the Quicken site that some of my terms have changed without me being informed and I expressed dissatisfaction with it ( messages are included at end of doc ). Due to that in the week between when the physical appraisal was performed and when I was given the results of it I decided to actually talk to other lenders to just see what they offered. When talking to a rep from XXXX XXXX I learned that in order for me to do everything I wanted to do, what my Quicken rep said I would be able to do, my property would have to appraise for nearly {$25000.00} more than the estimate I gave them. I even told the XXXX XXXX rep that he must be wrong because thats what I was offered. He told me to contact them to verify the terms because he said they couldnt be correct. I immediately called my Quicken Rep, but he wasnt answering, I did leave a message explaining my questions and concerns. He did later call me and I told him what the XXXX XXXX rep told me and he says Oh yeah, I kind of messed up. I forgot this was a FHA loan and we can only lend you up to a certain percentage so yeah the numbers I gave you initially were off. I was not happy, I told him I wouldve never proceeded if he wouldve told me the correct info from the start. He just kept apologizing and told me to not worry because he said we would still be sitting good anyways and it would only be a little less than he quoted. The appraisal comes in at {$74000.00}, {$4000.00} more than I had said I thought it was worth. {$4000.00} more than what XXXX initially had told me if we got I would be able to do everything I had requested to be able to do but when I look at Quickens final loan rates online I can not do ONE of the other things I wanted to do on top of the rate refi. When I contact XXXX he tries telling me that its because the appraisal came in low to which I reminded him he told me I would be able to do all this stuff if my house came in {$4000.00} less than what it actually came in for but then he of course says that he told me the wrong info though, oh and sorry. I left messages on Quickens site expressing my dissatisfaction and my desire to get a refund. XXXX tells me sorry the {$500.00} is non-refundable but I inform him I never wouldve proceed from day 1 if he wouldve told me the correct info, to which he again apologizes. Exploring my options I learn that if I can get Quicken to legally release the appraisal to me then within 30 days I can still use it for another lender. I inform them that I either want a refund or the legal release of the appraisal that I paid for so I can use it other places. Quicken of course tells me I am not getting a refund and they email me a copy of the appraisal like that is enough. I know that a copy is not a legal release of the appraisal, I wanted it legally released and when I told them that on the phone they refused. Thats why I decided to go the route recouping the money thru my CC company. Even though he claims it was a mistake the Quicken rep told me incorrect information, and if he hadnt I wouldnt have proceeded to complete the process from day one. I wouldve never paid the {$500.00} for an appraisal if I was told in order for me to do everything I wanted my home need to come in at $ XXXX to $ XXXX because I know it would have ZERO shot of appraising at that. Heres a time line of the events : XX/XX/XXXX-Filled an inquiry with Quicken Loans online. Contacted by Quicken rep XXXX XXXX. All info given and all terms discussed. XX/XX/XXXX-Appraisal scheduled for XX/XX/XXXX with XXXX XXXX XXXX XX/XX/XXXX-Received Conditional Approval from Quicken XX/XX/XXXX-Appraisal preformed XX/XX/XXXX-Noticed terms have changed and contacted XXXX XXXX about and he admits he messed up. XX/XX/XXXX- Appraisal comes in at {$74000.00}. XX/XX/XXXX- All the terms change rather drastically and I try to contact XXXX but he will not answer or return my calls. I decide then to start posting questions thru the Quicken site and speak with a XXXX XXXX. XXXX calls me later that night and tells me the terms are not concrete yet and will adjust so give it some time, I agree XX/XX/XXXX-Seeing that the terms still havent changed I try calling XXXX and I get no answer but leave a message. XX/XX/XXXX-After not yet getting a call back from XXXX I decide to try messaging on the Quicken site again. A day later, XX/XX/XXXX, Rep XXXX XXXX responds and advises me to reach out to XXXX, which I had been trying to do. I call and leave another message XX/XX/XXXX-After trying to call XXXX to no avail. I again then turn to leaving messages on the Quicken site and this time I get a response from Rep XXXX XXXX who says XXXX will call me within 24hrs. XX/XX/XXXX XXXX calls me and I express my desire to either get a refund or have the appraisal legally released to me due to the fact that he told me incorrect info from day one and he tells me he understands why I am upset but the fees are non-refundable. XX/XX/XXXX-I leave a message on the Quicken site stating we are not continuing on and that we want either a refund or the legal release of the appraisal. Rep XXXX XXXX responds saying he understands that we do not wish to complete the loan and that someone will contact me regarding the {$500.00} deposit. After not receiving any call or contact within the next 24hrs I submitted to my CC company for the {$500.00} because like I stated before I wouldve never proceeded if I wasnt given ADMITTEDLY FALSE info from the start. I have also filled a complaint with the State of Michigan Attorney Generals office. This is not some random occurrence if you look at their history of complaints. Because of flat out fraudulent practices or sheer ignorance to their product they are telling people incorrect info BEFORE they pay for their appraisals on a regular basis. Once you find out then youve already paid and they go the no-refund route and you are out {$500.00} with no recourse.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-29

Mission Viejo, CA

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-27

Eagle Rock, CA

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-27

Betsytown, NJ

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-26

Houston, TX

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I was cold called XX/XX/19 from my mortgage company, Quicken loans. A salesman asked if I would be interested in an offer to make my mortgage cost less over time. I told him I would be interested in learning more, but he pressured me into saying specifically that I would be interested in doing something like this. He even put in a bit of a snide " it's a simple question '' to pressure me. I confirmed I would be interested, and he told me some details. I asked to be emailed more information on this, and I would not confirm that I was willing to start these proceedings. I was very careful in stating that I do not approve of this and I wanted more time to think it over. He continued to pressure me and try to counter any justification I had for waiting. I told him to have a nice day and hung up the phone. He proceeded to call me back at least three times. I did not answer, and I turned my phone off after the third call. I did not say that I was willing for him to pull my credit, which he did. I wanted more information about what he was offering. If he took my consent of being interested to mean that he was allowed to pull my credit information, it was not informed consent. I had no idea he would make any credit inquiry and he didn't try to confirm that with me. He only asked for my last 4 digits of my social for identification purposes. He specified he was asking for those numbers for identification purposes. I logged in to my account online and saw that he had started a refinance process on my account.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-26

MI

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Complaint: Quicken loans did a hard inquiry on my credit report that I did not authorize, they asked for my social security # and I refused to provide it. This all started with a simple inquiry on XXXX XXXX to see current rates to refinance. Since they did not have my full SS #, they must have used the last 4 digits that I was required to provide to XXXX XXXX to see rates. I have already contacted XXXX XXXX to let them know of my displeasure with them but they aren't the company that actually ran my report.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-25

High Point, NC

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-25

IA

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX I spoke with a mortgage banker with Rocket Mortgage/Quicken Loans regarding the purchase agreement I had on a new home. Per his request, I provided address and seller concession 's information, which included a {$3000.00} credit to be provided by the seller at closing to use towards the purchase of a fence. I also provided the actual signed purchase agreement to him via email that day. THIRTY days later, I received a task advising me that I need to provide them with an updated addendum removing the {$3000.00} credit for the fence. When I asked, I was advised that Quicken Loans policy only allows funds at closing to be used towards closing costs or prepaids. This information was not provided to me by the mortgage banker during our text conversation on XX/XX/XXXX, or at any other point in the process until XX/XX/XXXX when a task was provided with no context or information. This information should have been disclosed to me prior to me agreeing to move forward with this company - had I known, I wouldn't have agreed to move my application past the preapproval stage. I have asked Rocket Mortgage/Quicken Loans to correct THEIR mistake - as Underwriting had the purchase agreement for 30 days, as well as received updates to the purchase agreement TWICE before they realized there was something against their policy included. At this point, it is too late for me to use a different mortgage company, as my closing is scheduled within 30 days. RM/QL is telling me that they will not grant an exception when they are the ones that have caused the issue. I have also discovered that I was not provided all options regarding Rate Locking. The lack of information and disclosures provided to me, which has caused me to not have all information needed to make an informed decision is a clear Fair Lending and UDAAP violation. RM/QL escalated me, and my escalated contact - XXXX - can not even explain to me what they are attempting to do other than tell me they won't grant an exception and they are working with some people I've never even heard of to try and work it out and advised my processor - who hasn't responded to any questions sent today, XX/XX/XXXX, and who hasn't been able to answer any question I've posed before now, will be able to contact me and explain what is being worked on to figure this out. But he did state that they are unwilling to grant an exception and fix the issue, and so because of lack of information provided to me up front I am going to experience financial harm because they feel the need to be greedy and only allow seller credits that directly pad their own pockets.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-25

Hinkley, CA

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: VA mortgage


Complaint: Company : Quicken Loans/XXXX, XXXX. Complaint : Pencil-whipped Boilerplate Appraisal We started a refinance process on a VA loan that was 2 years old for a lower interest rate. Quicken Loans said we needed an appraisal, and have us down for paying {$380.00} for this appraisal. When we received the appraisal document, it did not look correct. Reading through the document, we started noticing discrepancies. The square footage did not reflect the current structures on the property. The price per square foot had not increased with the comps in the neighborhood, The new permitted out buildings that we had erected were not in the appraisal, and biggest red flag of all, no one had come to our home to do an appraisal. Further reading said that this was a 'drive by appraisal '. The appraisal company is in XXXX, MI. It was an appraisal done online by XXXX XXXX. The Arial Photograph used in the appraisal is a 3 year old image from XXXX XXXX. The Street View image is more recent, but covers only 2/3 of our property that faces the street. This makes the legitimate appraisal companies out there look bad by association. The Appraiser, XXXX XXXX of XXXX, XXXX ( XXXX ) signed that she had done an actual in person exterior appraisal of our home. That is untrue. She stated in writing that " I performed a visual inspection of the exterior areas of the subject property from at least the street. I reported the conditions of the improvements in factual specific terms. I identified and reported the physical deficiencies that could reflect the livability, soundness, or structural integrity of the property. '' We have cancelled the contract with Quicken Loans, because I can no longer trust them. The problem we are having now is that we gave them {$500.00} in 'earnest money ', and they are refusing to refund that money. Sincerely, XXXX XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-24

Tacoma, WA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-23

Cedar Beach, VT

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-23

Discovery Bay, CA

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: During our house hunting, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX Rocket Mortgage verbally gave misleading information over the phone. The Loan Officer, XXXX XXXX, verbally gave me rates including points without disclosing his rates came with points. He also said our ARM would never go above 5 %, which later turned out to not be true. When we got our offer accepted on XXXX, XXXX asked us to sign a document quickly to ensure a quick loan process ( We needed to close in 21 days ). The document was not clear to us that we were opting into a loan origination fee ( points ). We had never discussed points at any time. The points were just slapped it on our application and we missed the fine print. Since we are first time home buyers we view this as predatory behavior as we did not even know what " buying points '' meant. I learned for the first time that I was paying for points while I was in my closing appointment, XX/XX/XXXX. The documentation from the title company made it clear we were purchasing points, RockatMortgage 's documentation does not disclose this info in a clear way. To give an anecdote of how in the dark I was, my loan officer suggested that I can do the ARM and refinance in 6 months. I am paying $ 10k in points. It would make no sense to refinance in 6 month and any ethical loan officer would not suggest such a thing. Or at least caution the pro's/con 's of buying points. Upon asking RocketMortgage to review, they agreed that my loan officer and I never discussed points. They also didn't refute the fact that I was told my loan would not go above 5 %. They offered no resolution. I find this to be a systematic condoning of misleading behavior of the loan officer.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-22

Charlotte, NC

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Hi, On XX/XX/XXXX - XXXX, 2019 I was contacted several times by Quicken Loans mortgage to apply for a refinancing loan. On XX/XX/2019 I did apply and after I was assure that I will get a better deal than my current mortgage situation, I applied for a cash out refinancing in order to consolidate some of my credit card debts. Based on my credit report, income, etc. the mortgage representative sent me the loan estimate and Uniform Residential Estimate. Based on the numbers provided I did agree to proceed with the condition that, these numbers won't change later. Two days later when, I tried to contact Quicken Loans representative with whom I started the loan, I was told that, that person left for a vacation trip and somebody else will take care of me. This was the first red flag. The new mortgage representative sent me a new loan estimate with different numbers this time and pushed me for signing the updated disclosure. Of course, I complained about the new changes, and asked to go by the first Loan Estimate numbers we agreed from the start. At this point I refuse to sign/acknowledge any document they tried to pushed it on me. I stated that it's not in my best interest and it was not what I was promised. From the start, I was assured that, if anything happened, I'm not happy or the loan won't close for any reason I won't be charge any money. It was not the case because I was charged {$400.00} for the appraisal. I didn't close this loan or sign/acknowledge any disclosure, so I wonder why I was charged for a service I didn't receive? I believe Quicken Loans, through their mortgage representatives used a deceptive practice to lure me in with some " good deal '' and after that, change the Loan estimate 2-3 times, knowing that I will be pushed to accept their deal they'll try to offer me, which wasn't in my best interest. I tried a few times to contact them and ask for my {$400.00} I was charged for no service or any benefits received. So far nothing happened. I just want my hard work money to be refunded. Thank you for any feedback and help. Loan number : XXXX
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-20

Bothell, WA

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I began the loan application on XX/XX/XXXX. I first spoke with an XXXX XXXX. I submitted the requested documents and confirmed with Mr. XXXX that all of the documents had been received. Then all of a sudden I am dealing with another person plus Mr XXXX, an XXXX XXXX. She tells me via telephone that she has received most of the documents and that everything is looking good. She tells me however, that one of the documents is insufficient and she needs to contact my financial advisor. I provide the name, phone number and email address for my financial advisor. During this time I get requests from Quicken loans for documents that I have already sent, some of them twice. I call and speak with Mr. XXXX and he tells me to ignore them. He said that as far as he could tell, they had all the documents and things were looking good. Then on XX/XX/XXXX, nearly a month after I started the loan process, I received a call from a gentleman named XXXX XXXX. He informs me that someone at Quicken Loans/Rocket Mortgage didn't take into account that I pay my property taxes and homeowner 's insurance separately and when they discovered that, my debt to income ratio was off. He then mentions loans that need to be paid off. They included my car loan would need to paid off ( {$7000.00} ), my wife 's XXXX 's credit card ( {$300.00} ) and my XXXX card of about ( {$2500.00} ) and finally a student loan of about {$9600.00}. I told Mr XXXX, that the student loan was a loan I co-signed for my daughter 's best friend who attended dental hygienist school. I went on to explain that I am only the co-signer and not making the payments on the school loan. He says he will need something from her showing that she is making the payments. I contact this person and provide the necessary documentation verifying that she is paying the loan and have them faxed directly to Mr. XXXX. I then get a call from Mr. XXXX that the history of her payments is only for nine months and they need a year. I explain that she just graduated from school and started making payments in XX/XX/XXXX. He says he will submit it to underwriting and get back to me. He stated clearly and unequivocally that these debts would be rolled into the loan. He gets back to me and tells me that underwriting won't accept the nine months payment history on the school loan and that will need to be included in being paid off. I told him at this point to do whatever needed to be done to close the loan. I might also mention that at no time did Mr. XXXX make mention of monies that I would have to bring to the closing. My closing date was XX/XX/XXXX but we were able to close on XX/XX/XXXX and I am told by the closing company that I have to attend the closing in person per Quicken loan 's requirements. So, I drive 180 miles round trip to find out that the closing company is expecting a check from me for around {$13000.00} in certified funds. I am flabbergasted! The closing agent tries to get in touch with Quicken loans for over 45 minutes and when she does get to speak to someone, the call gets disconnected. She leaves and another person from the title company, XXXX comes in and says they won't be able to close today and she will get to work on this with Quicken. The following day, Mr. XXXX calls me again and casually tells me that he heard that I had some questions about the closing. I tell him that is an understatement and that I was expected to bring a certified check to the closing for {$13000.00} when he told me the debt payoffs would be rolled into the loan. Mr. XXXX stated that he had never said that. Well, that was a flat out lie and I told him so. At this point with all the confusion of dealing with three people, of going to their bulletin board and being told I need to submit documents that I had already submitted, being told by Mr. XXXX to ignore the request, I was fit to be tied. I called Mr. XXXX a liar, used profanity and said I was done talking to him and wanted his superior. He kept trying to talk and I kept repeating that I wanted to speak to his boss. Finally, Mr XXXX tells me his boss is not in. I then request his boss 's boss and he transferred me to a Ms. XXXX XXXX. I asked her if she was Mr. XXXX 's superior and she said she was the Executive Client Advocate. I explained my situation and she said she would get involved and get back to me within an hour or two. She offered no apology at all for my frustration and inconvenience. She did call back in about 90 minutes telling me that she was still working on it. In the meantime, I had received a email from my realtor providing me with the name of XXXX who was the closing person for Quicken Loans. I spoke with XXXX and found out the exact amount that I needed for closing and then wired the money to ensure I closed on time and avoided losing the home. I also didn't want to cause problems for the seller who was closing on the home he was purchasing. As it was, the gentleman I was purchasing the house from incurred costs due to the closing being delayed. As a result of this, I told him to forget the {$500.00} he was going to pay me to rent back the home after closing for one week. So, I had to wire the money twice which cost {$60.00}, had to refund the seller {$530.00} and experience stress and frustration like never before and I have bought and sold many houses during my lifetime. There system is broken and doesn't work! They put things on their bulletin board which is erroneous and has already been submitted, you are dealing with multiple people who don't know what the other person is saying or doing, you can hardly ever get anyone on the phone to speak to directly and then introduce other people nearly a month after beginning the loan process. On top of all that, this Mr. XXXX person flat out lies after saying all the debt payoff will be rolled into the loan.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-19

Palos Park, IL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: My home suffered roof damage during a storm in the amount of $ XXXX in XXXX. The insurance company made the check payable to the mortgage company and me in XXXX. The mortgage company policy states that checks over $ XXXX have to be issued to the contractor directly in 25 % increments. The mortgage company wants to hold the check even though it is under the $ XXXX allowance because my mortgage was delinquent one month in XXXX stating they don't want me to run off with the money. They are trying to force me to follow the process for checks over $ 20K wherein its distributed to the contractor in small increments. The biggest dilemma is that NO CONTRACTOR will begin roof work with a $ XXXX down payment ( 25 % ). The mortgage company is telling me that I have to pay the difference up front ( which is anywhere from $ 3k - $ 6K more in down payment to the contractor ) and they will reimburse me once the work is complete. HOW IS THIS FAIR OR LEGAL even though my insurance company has already issued the full payment to them for the repairs, they can not show me this policy in writing anywhere, their representative told me that they do not have this policy in writing anywhere and I am current on my loan now in XXXX? Thus, my roof is still leaking and now mold is beginning to form in my home causing health risks to my family. I've only been delinquent ONCE in three years! I love my home but it is being destroyed every day that it sits like this!
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-19

Lewisville, TX

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Complaint: I closed on my home on XX/XX/XXXX with Rocket Mortgage/Quicken Loans. Before closing, I provided Quicken Evidence of Insurance documentation for my FHA loan showing a full balance due of {$1900.00} to be paid by the Mortgagee ( see attachment ). At closing, Quicken only collected 4 months of insurance for a total of {$650.00} and subsequently only paid {$160.00} to my insurance company. On XX/XX/XXXX, Quicken made an unanticipated disbursement of {$1700.00} to my insurance company. I called Quicken and asked why they made an additional disbursement and their only resolution was to spread the shortage out over 24 months. I should not have to pay for their mistake. On XX/XX/XXXX they made another unanticipated disbursement out of my escrow account iao {$1900.00} to my insurance company. I contacted Quicken via email the same day and was told the additional disbursement was made to prevent a lapse in coverage and to send any refunds from my insurance company to fund my escrow account. I now have a deficit of - {$3700.00} in my escrow account due to poor origination AND servicing. This is EXACTLY how consumers are setup to fail. I provided all the required/accurate documentation upfront and am looking at a payment increase that will exceed what I am able to afford. Where is all of this money? I want Quicken to pay for their mistake iao {$1700.00} and find that extra disbursement they can't account for to put back to my escrow account. Please help as my requests to them have fallen on deaf ears.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-18

Lexington, NC

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Complaint: On XX/XX/2019 I closed on a cash out refinance with Quicken Loans. Out of the cash out refinance proceeds an IRS lien was to be paid ( {$48.00} XXXX ). The IRS provided clear instructions on how to mark the check and make successful payments in accordance with their provisions ( attached. I was assured that the payment would be sent. The turnaround time would be about 5 weeks. On XX/XX/2019 I contacted the IRS to learn whether the IRS had received the payment. XXXX tracking revealed that the payoff check had been received on XX/XX/2019 at XXXX. On XX/XX/2019 I contacted Quicken Loans to find out whether the IRS payoff check was deposited ; it was not. I was told that they would void the check and reissue. Thereafter, I asked whether my taxpayer ID ( social security number ) was included on the check or the payoff letter ; it was not, as required by the IRS. On XX/XX/2019 Quicken Loans advised me that they would not void the check because the IRS charges a fine for processing a check that is later dishonored. Quicken advised that any fee for stopping payment and correctly reissuing the check would be passed on to me. However, I relied on Quicken to correctly follow the instructions of the IRS. I offered to take the check into the local IRS branch, and was again told I would bear the responsibility of the penalty if they were to issue one on a stop payment. ( continued on additional page ) I again reached out to Quicken Loans who pointed to the disbursement disclosure as a defense to what appears to be incompetent handling of the payout to the IRS. However, nowhere in the agreement does it say that Quicken Loans, or any of its agents can send payoffs, not following instructions, and leave me liable for any potential fees or penalties as a result of their not following the proper instructions. Thus far all indications are that Quicken, and its agents are giving the runaround, where there needs to be resolution. I authorize you to speak to my XXXX, XXXX XXXX, who can also be reached by calling my number. He helped me with all of the paperwork concerning this loan. I very much would like your assistance in helping me usher a resolution. Thus far, it seems like Quicken is shrugging its shoulders. Sincerely, XXXX XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-18

Brooklyn, NY

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)


Complaint: My complaint was about the Quicken Loan Inc.A single home in four unit residential properties that the land lord was occupied or living in that four unit residential housing.actually they made that transactions w/out nothing concerning me from shopping to closing period.Ive never saw some documentary or copy of agreements? HUD and HELOC knows what Im talking about right! Im a victim of Identity theft being nightmare on elm street.How you can help me for this kind of hiding transaction or documents agreement that was I supposed to be have copy!
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-17

Winton, CA

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Complaint: We refinanced with quicken loans. Quicken loans went through all the info with us and the mortgage payment was to include our taxes and home owners insurance. We were given a new mortgage amount and we were happy with the new monthly payment. We decided to go with them. Quicken loans charged us over $ XXXX to go through with the refinance loan. We later found out they made a mistake and did not include our homeowners insurance into the home loan after all the paperwork was signed and done.They admitted to the mistake. Quicken loans just said oops and sorry and now your mortgage is going to be a higher amount. If not, you the home owner, just needs to pay it on your own. How is a company going to state the home owners Insurance and taxes were going to be covered in the loan and now say we ( the home owners ) are responsible for their mistake after docs are signed. I was emailed by a XXXX XXXX and stated that we are terribly sorry and you will need to figure this problem out on your own. Quicken loans collected a hefty amount to make sure all docs were correct and now, all we are getting is sorry our hands are tied!
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-16

Bridgeport, CT

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Applied online at XXXX to receive current rate information for 30 year refinance rates. I received several calls but the broker from Quicken Loans was trying to railroad me into approving a hard credit inquiry. When I told him that I was just beginning the process and would be waiting until XXXX he proceeded to imply that they were going to perform a hard inquiry anyway and that I should just approve while we are on the phone. I responded in no uncertain terms that I will not approve a credit inquiry because they have sufficient information to give me ballpark rates and I would only approve a hard credit inquiry when I decide to refinance with Quicken Loans. It is too early to know if they performed a hard credit inquiry, but this is unacceptable behavior and I believe many customers may have been hurt by such aggressive sales tactics. Credit inquiries can damage customers ' credit scores and should be expressly agreed to. Quicken Loans NMLS # XXXX Quicken Loans Agent : XXXX XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX NMLS : XXXX
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-16

Getting a line of credit

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Personal line of credit


Complaint: I am from XXXX XXXX, I met a guy on XX/XX/2019 around XXXX local time, who claim himself come from New York, and will stay in XXXX XXXX for work for a week. We exchanged contact number ( His Number : +XXXX ( XXXX ) XXX-XXXX ) for XXXX XXXX tourist information. Today XX/XX/2019 XXXX local time, I got a XXXX message from someone's Number +XXXX ( XXXX ) XXX-XXXX, which display he is from QUICKEN LOANS INVESTMENT, and said I applied for loan. I do straight rejected, and tell, I didn't apply for any loan, and ask to close case and delete my number. Then with no reply. I hope to protect my number and avoid any cases. Thank You
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-13

Savannah, GA

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy