ONEMAIN FINANCIAL HOLDINGS, LLC.

Consumer Complaints

There are over 2646 complaints on file for ONEMAIN FINANCIAL HOLDINGS, LLC.. Dated between 2019-11-22 and 2012-04-20.

Complaints Page 4

2019-09-23

Hollowayville, IL

Incorrect information on your report

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Title loan

Personal information incorrect
Company Response: Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-09-20

Federal Way, WA

Problem with fraud alerts or security freezes

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting


Complaint: I received an email from One Main Financial saying that i have a credit hard inquiry which impacted my credit score on XX/XX/2019. I have not requested for any loan. However, I received a notification from XXXX XXXX that i am pre-qualified for loan and it also stated that this process will not effect my credit score, but an hard inquiry happened on my account. I request you to please take an action on this.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-19

Houston, TX

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt was result of identity theft
Complaint: Received letter in the mail for a loan approval for XXXX = unemployment insurance and another product I did not apply for in XXXX. Called ONE MAIN and talked to XXXX in Fraud and let her know I was a victim of identity theft. Sent in necessary affidavit. I received letter in XXXX that my fraud claim was denied with incorrect information listed as to when account was serviced, had the wrong account number ( according the contract I obtained a copy of ), wrong reasons for denial including that a signature on application matched a passport that was never presented according to the branch where account was opened. The branch called for payment and I indicated again I did not apply for loan. I resubmitted police report and sent my drivers license via email to XXXX.
Company Response: Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-09-18

FL

Was approved for a loan, but didn't receive money

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Title loan


Complaint: Onemain financial llc. They approved me for a great loan and after doing a hard pull on my credit everything still looked great. As I was filling out the forms I got a call from onemain. The representative asked millions questions and everything seemed fine until I mentioned I had a paid off motorcycle which they then decided to tell me it was a collateral loan. This is not what I was approved for originally and not what I wanted and they did a hard pull on my credit. This complaint is using misleading tactics to pull in people who desperately need money.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-17

Cincinnati, OH

Problem with the payoff process at the end of the loan

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan


Company Response: Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-09-17

TX

Problem when making payments

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan


Complaint: I am a XXXX XXXX and they are using it to take advantage for the bottom line. On XX/XX/19, I made a payment in the amount XXXX and again on XX/XX/19 in the amount {$200.00}. Although the payment was made on XX/XX/19, One Main decided to reverse the payment stating my credit union could not find the account. One Main stated they had the same account file that deleted several months prior to this payment. Why was it still listed? Due The account had XXXX and should have cleared with no problem. I entered XXXX in the system to process but their system changed to the account number they had on file that created an issue. On XX/XX/19, I called the Branch and was told they could not talk to me because I filed a complaint. XXXX ( Branch ) told me she could not provide any information on my account so I asked to speak with XXXX ( Manager ). XXXX stated he was in the office with another customer. Out of curiousity I called back and XXXX answered the phone and he told anytime customer files a complaint on them they can not speak to any longer. I called the Executive Office and spoke with XXXX ( POC ) where she told my account had been flagged for the Branch not to talk to me. How am I do get information on my account to resolve the payment issue? The information would have allowed me not use the account for payment or see if there was something else going on. Executive penailzes the customer if they challenges any decision they make. I feel that the issue with the payment was cause my account to become past due so they could repo my vehicles. This is how the District Manager, Manager and now the executive office exceed their bottom line is to repo and sell the customer vehicles. I am very uncomfortable with this company tactics. As soon as I completed a call with the Executive Office ( XXXX ), she entered an updated which shows how unethical they are. It doesn't matter how it affects the customer as long as they're not caught. This is really scary!!! If they are dong this to me, they're definitely doing to other customers. They may not know they can contact CFPB for assistance. I have a list of customers that are willing to contact you now with the same issue. Therefore, I provided your website and they are afraid One Main will repo their cars. Some of the customer couldn't afford the loans and One Main new it but add their vehicles. I've attached a statement that reflect how One Main works. I could not upload to the system so added the information below : This is how the District Manager is handling customer loan and repo the vehicles. Repossession are not supposed to be submitted until customer are 31 days past due. Once they are submitted for repossession the branch employees nor managers can not call the customer for a payment. There is a repossession department that calls the account. He would sometimes have branch managers and or himself call after the repossession was submitted. When applying for a loan you had the option to get a secured or unsecured loan. Some only qualified for secured only. He would encourage us to pick up collateral on a loan no matter what. He would encourage us to not give the customer the option to get a unsecured loan. This is from my Branch District Manager : Extremely light day on the lending side with back days of just 1 XXXX XXXX. It will allow them to start cranking out some XXXX XXXX/secured business! Although the Underwriter approves a customer for an unsecured loan this Branch Manager have the employees tell the customer One Main needs collateral for the money they loan. I have several documented instances of this secured District Manager Decision vs unsecured ( Underwriter Decision ) loans. I would be happy to provide once One Main is investigated for pushing loans customers are approved for or should have the loan.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-16

Getting the loan

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-15

Brentwood, TN

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Other debt

Debt is not yours
Complaint: ONEMAIN FINANCIAL included this debt in the bankruptcy of another consumer and my responsibility for this debt was terminated, yet ONEMAIN FINANCIAL is reporting the debt on my credit report. Per court documents filed by their Banckruptcy Specialist, the debt belongs to one consumer named on the filing.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-14

Dolton, IL

Written notification about debt

Debt collection: I do not know

Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-12

Newport, DE

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt was result of identity theft
Complaint: I am a victim of identity theft and this debt does not belong to me. Please see the identity theft report and legal affidavit attached.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-12

Northside, NC

Getting a loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Fraudulent loan
Complaint: In response to a loan offer that came in the mail from OneMain Financial in late XXXX of 2019 my wife responded with a request for an additional {$6000.00} added to our existing loan of {$2600.00} in order to help us through the summer. On XX/XX/2019 my wife contacted Ms. XXXX XXXX, Sr. Personal Loan Specialist from OneMain Financial, located at XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX, North Carolina XXXX. On the phone Ms. XXXX discusses with my wife providing us a new loan on our car that would fold in the present loan we have and provide us with a better interest rate. This option was attractive to us because my wife is a XXXX and does not get paid over the summer vacation. The money would be used to help us make it through the summer and pay down some outstanding debts. My wife an I met with XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/2019 to discuss this option and sign the new loan papers. At know time during our meeting were we informed by Ms. XXXX that our existing loan of {$2600.00} would not be folded into the new loan request. We only became aware that the old loan was outstanding when we received a bill on XX/XX/2019 for {$480.00}. At present we have two outstanding loans with OneMain Financial, the new loan with a balance of {$17000.00} and monthly payments of {$480.00} and the original old loan with a balance of XXXX and monthly payments of {$350.00}. This was not our understanding of the facts of the loan we discussed with Ms. XXXX. We feel very strongly that Ms. XXXX " flipped '' us into a situation that is totally unsustainable. These two accounts will put us under extreme hardships unless we are able to get some relief. The contact information for XXXX XXXX is XXXX or XXXX.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-10

Jackson, MS

Getting a loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Changes in terms mid-deal or after closing
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-10

Birch Run, MI

Problem with additional add-on products or services

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan


Complaint: OneMain Financial, ran under the direction of the XXXX XXXX and the District Managers of XXXX and XXXX in Michigan force licensed agents to include all optional credit and non credit product premiums into the loan quotes when selling or offering OneMains loans to consumers. They have set a sales goal and this goal directly reflects your personal ranking within this District and Region and is used to evaluate your performance on a month to month basis. Your job at OneMain is contingent upon meeting this laid out sales formula to increase premiums for the profit of OneMain and NOT to disclose or be transparent to any of the consumers. The company also tried to steer away from any customer who is over 70 years old as they cannot sell insurance products to them due to age as it reflects the sales numbers for optional products.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-10

Charleston, SC

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-10

Magnolia, TX

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Complaint: I was involved in both the XXXX & XXXX XXXX breach of security on XXXX & XXXX. Due to the both breaches my info was compromised & series of inquiries were placed on my report. Unfortunately, the inquiry placed on me were one of the unauthorized inquiry placed on my report.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-10

GA

Problem when making payments

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

You never received your bill or did not know a payment was due
Complaint: I was shocked when I reviewed my credit report and found 30 days late payment on the dates XX/XX/2019 to XX/XX/2019. I am not sure how this happened, I believe that I had made my payments to you when I received my statements. My only thought is that my monthly statement did not get to me.
Company Response: Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-09-09

Stockbridge, GA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-09

Apple River, IL

Struggling to pay your loan

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Personal line of credit


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-08

SC

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt was result of identity theft
Complaint: I am a victim of identity theft and this debt does not belong to me. Please see the identity theft report and legal affidavit attached.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-07

Houston, TX

Problem when making payments

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan


Complaint: I've had at least 4 - 5 loans with Springleaf Financial which is now One Main Financial. I've never had any concerns about how they processing loans and they added the Disability and Unemployment loan by asking if I wanted it. Due to my credit score, I tried to use a Payday Loan to manage plumbing and electrical work in home but interest rate very high. On XX/XX/XXXX, I contacted One Main Financial for loan but was told the Underwriter stated I needed to use my car for collateral. Since the payday Loan had my title, I borrowed the money from my brother to pay it off to get my title. Once I received my title back, it was used on the One Main Loan.I wanted to add Disability and Unemployment Insurance to the loan but was denied. One Main told me I could not add because i was XXXX years old and didn't make sense. I started and researching the issue about XXXX years of age acquiring the insurance and left it alone. I called again about my account and offered an approved {$500.00} of course I accepted it. Later I wanted to consolidate my bills and they were very anxious to loan it to but wanted my other vehicle as collateral. I did not stop to weigh my options and banked on that so I asked again about adding the Disability and Unemployment Insurance and was denied. I was told because I am XXXX years old I could not add any Disability or Unemployment. I explained that I am XXXX years but still work to make ends meet. Now XXXX tells me we offer both insurances to everyone. I told not this time either time and continued to say we offer it to everyone. It made me feel he was saying I was being untruthful. All while explaining he would talk over me throughout the call until I said it is very rude to talk over someone. I'm not trying to be rude but you're not allowing me to convey my concerns. He got silent but sounds like a " Used Car Salesman '' when they're trying to sell something with a hidden price tag. When the last loan was created and settled, my due date changed back to the XXXX of the month so I call to ask why. She said they had to change the to XXXX XXXX but once I make the first payment they would change it. However, they did not change it so I had to move money around. Usually, I keep a {$200.00} Prepaid card at home for emergency so I immediately tried make my payment. Their website would not accept it for some reason so I did a XXXX XXXX and it further complicated things. Then the money was tied up with XXXX XXXX so I had to wait until funds were back on the card. I sent One Main Financial the tracking # and explained what happened. XXXX says we do not take XXXX XXXX but they have a CODE City with them. In a panic I sent it to the wrong Code City which caused the issue. I asked if they would change my due date back to XXXX and said they would change it once I made the payment. I made the payment but it wasn't changed. On XX/XX/XXXX, I spoke to XXXX - XXXX Manager to talk to I'm about refinance so I could remove my vehicles as collateral. I explained they told me I could call in to refinance to remove vehicles. There seems to be a disconnect with provided information because sound confused. I told him having put {$1000.00} 's of dollars into the vehicles, I would like to trade them in for another vehicles. I need the trade in amount to purchase another vehicle. XXXX told me I could see how much the trade in amount was and have them to mail the payment to One Main Financial. I told him that was defeating the purposes especially if One Main is getting the down payment. He says after the get the trade in money that would lower the amount and he could refinance that amount. It does not make sense to trade in both my vehicles and give One Main the funds to lower the balance to refinance ... .That means I would not have a vehicle at all. I told I was concern about One Main setting customers up to repo their vehicles which make me very nervous. He was more concern about who told me that or where I got it from. I would he would want to assure the customer that isn't happening. I repeated the " Repo '' vehicles several times and not one time did he assure me it wasn't true. I got off the phone even more uncomfortable, anxious and leery. I'm never late with my payments but the fact it is a strong possibility they will try it me is scary. These actions have to come from higher ups like a District Manager to sign off on. I did not have a 700 credit score but I did have at least a XXXX credit score. I asked him who makes the decision to offer a loan with or without collateral and was told the Underwriter for Loans. I'm beginning to think they are making the rules as they go and customers are suffering for it. I've had at least 4 - 5 loans with Springleaf Financial which is now One Main Financial. I've never had any concerns about how they processing loans and they added the Disability and Unemployment loan by asking if I wanted it. Due to my credit score, I tried to use a Payday Loan to manage plumbing and electrical work in home but interest rate very high. On XX/XX/XXXX, I contacted One Main Financial for loan but was told the Underwriter stated I needed to use my car for collateral. Since the payday Loan had my title, I borrowed the money from my brother to pay it off to get my title. Once I received my title back, it was used on the One Main Loan.I wanted to add Disability and Unemployment Insurance to the loan but was denied. One Main told me I could not add because i was XXXX years old and didn't make sense. I started and researching the issue about XXXX years of age acquiring the insurance and left it alone. I called again about my account and offered an approved {$500.00} of course I accepted it. Later I wanted to consolidate my bills and they were very anxious to loan it to but wanted my other vehicle as collateral. I did not stop to weigh my options and banked on that so I asked again about adding the Disability and Unemployment Insurance and was denied. I was told because I am XXXX years old I could not add any Disability or Unemployment. I explained that I am XXXX years but still work to make ends meet. Now XXXX tells me we offer both insurances to everyone. I was told not this time either time and continued to say we offer it to everyone. It made me feel he was saying I was being untruthful. All while explaining he would talk over me throughout the call until I said it is very rude to talk over someone. I'm not trying to be rude but you're not allowing me to convey my concerns. He got silent but sounds like a " Used Car Salesman '' when they're trying to sell something with a hidden price tag. When the last loan was created and settled, my due date changed back to the XXXX of the month so I call to ask why. She said they had to change the to XXXX XXXX but once I make the first payment they would change it. However, they did not change it so I had to move money around. Usually, I keep a {$200.00} Prepaid card at home for emergency so I immediately tried make my payment. Their website would not accept it for some reason so I did a western union and it further complicated things. Then the money was tied up with XXXX XXXX so I had to wait until funds were back on the card. I sent One Main Financial the tracking # and explained what happened. XXXX says we do not take XXXX XXXX but they have a CODE City with them. In a panic I sent it to the wrong Code City which caused the issue. I asked if they would change my due date back to XXXX and said they would change it once I made the payment. I made the payment but it wasn't changed. On XX/XX/XXXX, I spoke to XXXX - XXXX Manager to talk to I'm about refinance so I could remove my vehicles as collateral. I explained they told me I could call in to refinance to remove vehicles. There seems to be a disconnect with provided information because sound confused. I told him having put {$1000.00} 's of dollars into the vehicles, I would like to trade them in for another vehicles. I need the trade in amount to purchase another vehicle. XXXX told me I could see how much the trade in amount was and have them to mail the payment to One Main Financial. I told him that was defeating the purposes especially if One Main is getting the down payment. He says after the get the trade in money that would lower the amount and he could refinance that amount. It does not make sense to trade in both my vehicles and give One Main the funds to lower the balance to refinance ... .That means I would not have a vehicle at all. I did not understand why XXXX would through in face the credits they paid for me like he did me a favor. I told I was concern about One Main setting customers up to repo their vehicles which make me very nervous. He was more concern about who told me that or where I got it from. I would he would want to assure the customer that isn't happening. I repeated the " Repo '' vehicles several times and not one time did he assure me it wasn't true. I got off the phone even more uncomfortable, anxious and leery. I'm never late with my payments but the fact it is a strong possibility they will try it me is scary. These actions have to come from higher ups like a District Manager to sign off on. I did not have a 700 credit score but I did have at least a XXXX credit score. I asked him who makes the decision to offer a loan with or without collateral and was told the Underwriter for Loans. I'm beginning to think they are making the rules as they go and customers are suffering for it. It is almost as if they want all secured loans instead of providing loans on creditworthiness. I am TERRIFIED NOW! I don't know what they will do next to my loan. My interest rate should be 16 % not 24 % if they go according to my creditworthiness.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-06

Neotsu, OR

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Reporting company used your report improperly
Complaint: On XX/XX/2018, I was notified on my XXXX XXXX app that I was Pre-Approved for a {$10000.00} debt consolidation/emergency loan. I applied for the loan that was through One Main Financial. One Main did a hard inquiry on my credit report but never called me, never asked for proof of income verification, never sent a letter of denial, never contacted me whatsoever. Now there is a hard inquiry from this company on my credit report but no loan which I was pre-approved for. I contacted XXXX XXXX by email. They made some excuses but never dealt directly with the issue. Now they show the same loan as Pre-Qualified. I would prefer to get the loan but I don't appreciate the dishonesty of either party.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-06

Cleveland, OH

Charged fees or interest you didn't expect

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Title loan


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-06

Quartzsite, AZ

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Complaint: I had an account with Onemain Financial that was charged off and sold. Onemain created a duplicate of that account without my authorization and reported the account with a balance. This duplicate account has the same open date and same charge off amount as the original. As a result, my credit report reflects two separate charge offs from Onemain for the same debt. I have disputed the duplicate account with the credit bureaus, but Onemain verifies the duplicate account as accurate. I disputed the duplicate account with Onemain and they simply updated the status to show " Reached an agreement with a lender to repay only part of the original debt '', which is not accurate because I never attempted to reach an agreement with them and I never paid any money to settle this duplicate account.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-06

Hamburg, NY

Charged fees or interest you didn't expect

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan


Complaint: I filed a complaint against One Main Financial regarding their lending terms and practices. I was concerned that the terms of my loan agreement were usury and unfair. Shortly after submitting this complaint with your office, I was contacted by the customer service office of One Main telephone number ( XXXX ) XXXX XXXX, where I was questioned about the nature of my complaint. Shortly thereafter, I noticed that an unauthorized debit was initiated in my checking account by One Main Financial. I am concerned that this debit, which was processed without my consent or authority, was processed in retaliation to the complaint I filed against this company with your agency.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-04

Southern Pnes, NC

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt is not yours
Complaint: One main has destroyed my reputation of stellar credit with false accusations and reported inaccurate information in regards to my XXXX XXXX credit report. I have no knowledge of this account and this account does not belong to me. Ive battled with one main for over 6 months regarding their shady and unprofessional tactics.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy