ONEMAIN FINANCIAL HOLDINGS, LLC.

Consumer Complaints

There are over 2646 complaints on file for ONEMAIN FINANCIAL HOLDINGS, LLC.. Dated between 2019-11-22 and 2012-04-20.

Complaints Page 3

2019-10-09

IL

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Was not notified of investigation status or results
Complaint: I recently obtained a copy of my credit report from XXXX that indicated that a credit inquiry was made by your company on XX/XX/2019 However, this inquiry was not authorized by me. Therefore, I am writing to dispute this inquiry and have it removed from my credit report. I requested validation by certified mail several times and it was removed from all credit reporting agencies except XXXX.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-08

Oxford, GA

Took or threatened to take negative or legal action

Debt collection: I do not know

Sued you in a state where you do not live or did not sign for the debt
Complaint: XX/XX/XXXX I took out a loan with Spring Leaf financial ( Per conversation with Spring Leaf and her consumer credit report ). XXXX XXXX, Spring Leaf, and One Main Financial merge companies. My consumer credit report states the loan was closed on XX/XX/XXXX due to refinance of account. On XX/XX/XXXX there was a civil judgement filed against me stating that I took out a loan for {$5000.00} with XXXX XXXX and it was unpaid. I contacted One Main and they stated they sold the account to Spring Leaf. I contacted Spring Leaf Financial and they indicated to me they had sold the loan to XXXX XXXX. I contact XXXX requesting copies of the orginal loan documents with my orginal signature stating I have a {$5000.00} loan with XXXX XXXX they stated they do not have the file however the original loan from Spring Leaf had been written off. We are asking for a satisfaction of Judgement.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-07

Saint Paul, MN

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Complaint: Onemain Financial - XXXX - Balance {$2500.00} - Type : Auto Onemain Financial - XXXX - Balance {$1.00}, XXXX - Type : Secured This is not an auto loan like you have been reporting on my credit report. I have the original signed contract and it is a Secured Loan. Not only is the loan type incorrect you guys have this loan listed on my credit report twice. Once as an auto loan and once as a secured loan with 2 different loan amounts. Please remove the falsely reported auto loan off of my credit report immediately
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-06

Las Vegas, NV

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Complaint: I have noticed that ONEMAIN have placed an inquiry on my XXXX and XXXX credit file dated XX/XX/2019. As you probably know, Credit Reporting Agencies treat inquiries as a statement of fact and will not allow a consumer to dispute them. I requested ONEMAIN and XXXX and XXXX to verify these inquiries. Since it is against federal law ( Fair Credit Reporting Act -- 15 USC? 1681b ) for an entity to view a consumer 's credit report without a " permissible purpose, '' I am writing to inquire as to their alleged purpose, for doing so since I did not apply for employment with their organization nor did I request credit from their organization. Based on the evidence in my possession, this inquiry was performed under false pretenses as described in the clear language of the law. 15 USC 1681n ( a ) ( 1 ) ( B ) states, in part, " in the case of liability of a natural person for obtaining a consumer report under false pretenses or knowingly without a permissible purpose, actual damages sustained by the consumer as a result of the failure are { { {$1000.00} } }, whichever is greater ; ''
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-05

Santa Ysabel, CA

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Complaint: On XX/XX/19 I contacted OneMain Financial for an installment loan of {$1000.00}. I specifically specified that I only wanted an installment loan of no more than {$1000.00}. I made it clear four times that I didn't want a title loan, and therefore not to run my credit report if it was going to be for the purpose of a title loan. When they got back to me, she said I was approved for a refinance on my title loan. I had been clear that I didn't want a title loan, yet they ran a hard hit on my report. I did not accept their title refinance loan. Please support my case against Onemain Financial. XXXX XXXX deliberately did a hard credit report inquiry against my permission and after their supposed credit approval tried to sell me to a title loan that was indeed a refinance to my existing title loan. At the start of the process, I made it super clear that I did not want a title loan and that I only wanted a {$1000.00} installment loan and definitely not a title loan.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-04

Fort Pierce, FL

Charged fees or interest you didn't expect

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-04

SC

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Complaint: I have a hard inquiry dated XX/XX/2018 from : ONEMAIN XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, IN XXXX I never applied for any service or account with this company.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-03

Gloucester City, NJ

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-03

Lake Saint Louis, MO

Struggling to pay your loan

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Title loan


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-03

Dayton, MN

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Medical debt

Debt is not yours
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-02

Harsens Is, MI

Problem with additional add-on products or services

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Personal line of credit


Complaint: I was looking for a loan.I pulled my credit report and under loans that I pre qualify for is One Main Financial.I filled out info online and was approved.They called me and said I have to come in there office at XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX mi.,XXXX and to bring documents including Car title.After the loan officer ( XXXX XXXX ) took my info she said this loan is a unsecure loan but need a copy of title.ShXXXX took my title and never gave it back and told me that they will mail your title back to you.After signing, XXXX said this ia car loan.They lied to me.I never received my title to this day.The day I signed documents was a very hot day and the loan office air conditioning brokXXXX down and was rushed to get loan done.Just recently, I had someone look at this loan and was told, this loan is a very bad loan and its secured.This whole time I thought this loan was unsecured.And because this is a bad secured loan, My auto insurance rate has gone up.Therefore, this loan is very bad and should have read everything in detail and should of declined offer.Therefore, they lied to me to sell the loan.
Company Response: Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-10-02

VA

Communication tactics

Debt collection: Auto debt

Frequent or repeated calls
Complaint: This is a debt collector, the head of the local branch of OneMain Financial. I have the record in my phone and can submit copies of their call log, but they are calling every hour of each work day. When I spoke with the person calling, she threated to have my vehicle seized, and began to call me a liar when I tried to tell her I lost my job due to a XXXX. She is VERY abusive, and they just wont quit harrassing me. They keep calling from XXXX
Company Response: Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-10-02

Austin, TX

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Public record information inaccurate
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-01

Tulsa, OK

Incorrect information on your report

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-10-01

Dayton, MN

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Problem with personal statement of dispute
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-30

Smyrna, SC

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt was result of identity theft
Complaint: I am a victim of identity theft and this debt does not belong to me. Please see the identity theft report and legal affidavit attached.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-30

Ft Myers, FL

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-29

Gilbert, AZ

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Company Response: Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-09-27

Reynolds Station, KY

False statements or representation

Debt collection: Other debt

Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
Complaint: One Main Financial has been calling my cell phone in attempts to speak to me about past due payments. They have left several messages and call 2 to 3 times a day. They obviously have my personal information and had an old work phone number on file. I work for a XXXX XXXX and am an XXXX in the XXXX XXXX where we do not take any customer phone calls. One Main Financial called my place of employment and impersonated being a mortgagor needing to speak to me to obtain my new work number. They contacted the main branch located in XXXX, KY and spoke to XXXX XXXX, the front desk receptionist and advised that they were a XXXX names XXXX and needed to speak to me as I was handling their XXXX. She contacted me directly to see if I was expecting a direct call from a XXXX and when I advised no, she said that they hung up. They then contacted the XXXX 800 number for Customer Service and impersonated again being a XXXX and advising that I was working on their XXXX ( which I do not do ) to try and obtain my information. Someone in Customer Service did in fact give them my work number in which they started calling several times for several days. I called and left a voicemail with them and advised that they did not have permission to contact my place of employment. One Main Financial used deceitful tactics to obtain information as well as harassing me.
Company Response: Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-09-27

Getting a line of credit

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Personal line of credit


Company Response: Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-09-26

Discovery Bay, CA

Charged fees or interest you didn't expect

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Personal line of credit


Complaint: I am a XXXX years old XXXX man, someone of got into my credit and charge my credit cards up very high, so, .I call One Main Financial and got a loan. I did not know that interested rate would be so high that, I can pay the loan off. The loan amount was {$13000.00} dollars and I have made Six payment it all going interested and still at {$13000.00}. My name is not signed on the application. One Main Financial XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, CA XXXX. Can someone help me? XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX or XXXX.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-25

Washington, DC

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Complaint: OneMain is a cut throat loan service provider. I would not recommend them to anyone. They dont offer a grace period and instantly report to your credit score. In XXXX of 2019, i informed the branch that I would be paying the balance off in full because of their predator interest rates. I sent payment for installment loan to be paid off in full by XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. However, one main still reported a missed payment on my account for the month of XXXX. When I call the number listed on my credit report, they say they have no records of the account and the accuracy of the credit report. I have no been able to get a solid answer or verification from the company. This runaround has been a complete inconvenience to my life
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-25

Columbia, SC

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem accessing account
Company Response: Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-09-24

Fayetteville, TN

Incorrect information on your report

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Title loan

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-23

Beyersville, TX

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Complaint: Onemain and One main financial changed. When they changed, they reported twice to XXXX. One main financial eventually deleted from my report, however, Onemain reaged my account that now shows 1st delinquency in XX/XX/XXXX. The first delinquency was XX/XX/XXXX and no more payment were ever made. It is now over seven yrs since I quit paying, yet Onemain refuses to accommodate. I have attached a copy of my report from both companies showing that one main changed my acct number and reaged the debt. I have made numerous attempts to get one main to delete the account with no success, including filing 2 disputes directly with XXXX, contact by mail, and fax.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy