Coinbase, Inc.

Consumer Complaints

There are over 2974 complaints on file for Coinbase, Inc.. Dated between 2019-11-25 and 2014-09-10.

Complaints Page 4

2019-07-24

Chatsworth, CA

Money was not available when promised

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-23

CA

Other service problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: I received the IRS audit as to XXXX transaction and XXXX company reported {$74000.00} as the gross receipt on the form XXXX XXXX but my total receipt was less than {$10000.00} To fix this issue, I have called and emailed but no one answered.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-21

TX

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: My Coinbase, Inc. ( cryptocurrency ) account has been blocked/restricted since XX/XX/2019. Coinbase blocked/restricted my account because they say someone tried accessing the account from XXXX. I am still not able to this day to log into my account. I submitted a ticket requesting help with the issue on XX/XX/2019. The case number is # XXXX. Coinbase support requested from me to upload two documents proving my address in XXXX, TX. I uploaded an internet and electricity bill showing my address is XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, TX XXXX. Coinbase support responded to me on XX/XX/2019 stating my issue was going to be resolved in 5-7 business days but it could take longer. 17 business days have passed and I have yet to hear from them. I have called multiple times to ask them what is the issue or if they need more documentation in order to prove my residence but it has not helped. I have about {$4500.00} US dollars in different cryptocurrencies in that account. I have been trying to call but now it seems as if they automatically blocked my number and the call is hung up after saying that they have a lot of callers on the line. I need help and representation in order to retrieve my funds from that company. I did what was needed from my end in order to get my account unblocked but they are being unresponsive.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-21

CA

Managing, opening, or closing your mobile wallet account

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Mobile or digital wallet


Complaint: Hi, Coinbase has disabled my account. They asked me to send my identity documents but since have gone completely quiet. I have shared all my identification documents requested but it seems their customer service team has no time. Its been a month since I got their initial request. I am unable to reach anyone there. I would really appreciate your help.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-20

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: International money transfer


Complaint: Hi I have been trying to get a response from coinbase regarding a withdrawal of XXXX to my XXXX bank account. When I withdrew the funds from coinbase I selected a XXXX bank account that had been closed for some time and realising the error contacted the XXXX bank that said the money will not go into that account because it was closed and that coinbase will get the money bank in their account. I have contacted coinbase a number of times over the last week and they are just sending a standard response with no attempt to resolve my issue and put the funds back into my coinbase account so I can withdraw to the correct account. I am now wanting to make an official complaint as a company like this should have made proper contact by now.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-19

Sanders, KY

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: I started to use coinbase, made 2 transactions and possible a third, I made a request to double check to see whether I was charged in error and if my funds are there. They locked my account pending investigation. Now close to 2 months I call and they send me to use the email. I sent email they say my case is in work. No human contact what so ever. This is above and beyond. I sent numerous email and they all say the same thing. I want my account unlocked or return my {$88.00} dollares. This is way to long. Here is what they always say, and I can not reach anyone. WORST COMPANY EVER! Hi there, Thank you for your patience. This issue is being addressed by case XXXX. Please use that case number to communicate with us and track current developments involving your issue. If you are waiting on a response from the account specialist, please reply to the case number mentioned above in writing. This is to ensure the account specialist working your case is notified.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-19

Delray Beach, FL

Managing, opening, or closing your mobile wallet account

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Mobile or digital wallet


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-18

Temperanceville, VA

Confusing or missing disclosures

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: XX/XX/XXXX Used Coinbase XXXX application to try to buy Virtual Currency ( bitcoin ) The app had updated itself to display ACH transactions as the first purchasing option, after years of Visa being the first purchasing option on the list, causing me in a rush to put through an ACH buy when I meant to buy BTC via Debit card as it is quicker that way, and I have a history of doing Visa buys not ACH, as I am an impatient man. The app gave no warning that my default method payment had changed, coinbase support offered no help in the matter and would refuse to cancel the payment. My bank would only cancel the payment for a {$20.00} fee, after I had been charged a {$29.00} overdraft fee XX/XX/XXXX Went to buy BTC as Visa Debit, after almost another year of Coinbase having Visa Debit as my main buying option, ACH for some reason was the method that the coinbase app decided to put through at the time of transaction. once again contacted Coinbase support, this was their response " Hi XXXX, Thanks for contacting Coinbase Support. I appreciate your patience and would be happy to help. Please note that purchases can not be cancelled once the bank transfer process has started since this is an external process. Also, it looks like these funds were reclaimed from your account by Coinbase due to a payment from your bank being reversed. To clarify what had happened, see below : * On XX/XX/XXXX, you created a purchase for {$42.00}. * On XX/XX/XXXX, XXXX was credited to your BTC Wallet balance. * Unfortunately, on XX/XX/XXXX, your bank reversed the charge for {$42.00}, citing the error code, " R01, '' which caused a negative balance on your account. * Therefore, on XX/XX/XXXX and XXXX, XXXX, as authorized in the User Agreement, we deducted {$42.00} from your funds. You can read the User Agreement at XXXX XXXX XXXX I hope this clears up the confusion. If you are unsure about the reason your bank reversed the charge, please contact them for further explanation and to find out what is needed to avoid this situation in the future. Furthermore, when you use a linked bank account as a payment method to deposit funds to your Coinbase fiat wallet or to purchase cryptocurrency, these funds are immediately available for buying and selling on Coinbase. However, for security reasons, you will be unable to immediately withdraw these funds or send from Coinbase. You can see when deposited funds will be available for withdrawal prior to authorizing a purchase or deposit, as well as on the confirmation email for the transaction. For more information on how to use a bank account, or when deposited funds are available for withdrawal, please visit : XXXX XXXX XXXXusing-a-bank-account-as-a-payment-method-for-us-customers I hope that helps! Please let me know if there's anything else that I can assist you with. All the best, Coinbase Support '' Once again, no offer to cancel the transaction. I let Coinbase know the funds were not in my account, and they are making the move to once again try to take the funds from my account. causing me {$60.00} in fees, for a {$40.00} transaction, which will probably result in another {$29.00} in fees because I work for tips and do not use my bank account as often as I should.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-18

Bell Canyon, CA

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-18

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: I thought I lost my device so I asked coinbase to temporarily lock my account I found it so I called them back a few hours later to unlock it now they wont answer my emails I cant get threw on the phone anymore its been 3 weeks please help me I have my life savings on there this isnt fair they just ignore me
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-17

Andover, MA

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-17

Chicago, IL

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-17

Denver, CO

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-16

ID

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: I used Coinbase to purchase {$6000.00} of XXXX on XX/XX/2019. On XX/XX/2019 I received a notice that another purchase was being initiated for the same amount. I did not initiate this purchase and it was not authorized. I attempted to contact Coinbase twice by telephone and was instructed that no customer service was available by telephone and that I would have to initiate a case on the Internet. I initiated a case and received a confirmation email. Coinbase attempted to withdraw funds from my bank account, which was declined. I received a subsequent email from Coinbase Support on XX/XX/2019 stating that they would be reviewing my case. I sent several replies with no response. I have attempted to call several more times. Coinbase seized XXXX from my account to cover their unauthorized purchase and subsequently sold it at a loss to me. They have stolen my money and I can not even get a response.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-13

Federal Way, WA

Managing, opening, or closing your mobile wallet account

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Mobile or digital wallet


Complaint: On XX/XX/2019 I login to my coinbase account ( https : //www.coinbase.com ) and I notice it says " Account is restricted '' I can not send or sell or withdraw my funds ( money ). It says to contact support and submit a ticket I did that but when I went to support page my ticket is nowhere to be found. I called there support number a few times +XXXX XXXX XXXX ( US/Intl ) and I get a automated responses to submit a support ticket, each option i choose i get the same response I can not talk to a real person. I have also XXXX on XXXX to coinbase support about my issue with no response. My Coinbase support case # XXXX I was looking online around different fourms and told the best way to get a response from coinbase is to file a complain - " Don't waste your time trying anything else. Immediately file a complaint with the CFPB. It is the ONLY way they will pay any attention to you. There are countless posts just like this and that has been the only solution that works. I was stuck for months, filed a complaint and received help the next day. Takes 5 min https : //www.consumerfinance.gov/ It is ridiculous you have to do this, but despite all the hype, Coinbase continues to be inept at some of the most basic fiduciary responsibilities. ''
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-11

San Jose, CA

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-11

Managing, opening, or closing your mobile wallet account

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Mobile or digital wallet


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-10

Greenwood, SC

Managing, opening, or closing your mobile wallet account

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Mobile or digital wallet


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-10

Ft Lauderdale, FL

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: OnXX/XX/2019InoticedthatanautomaticwithdrawalwasmadefrommycheckingaccountbyCoinbase,thebitcointradingcompany.IreachedouttothemonXX/XX/2019andwasinformedviaemailthattheywouldgetbacktomeassoonaspossible.Inthemeantimetheydisabledmyaccountwhichhadapproximately{$2000.00}.IaskedforanexplanationonXX/XX/2019butnonewasreceived.OnXX/XX/2019Ireceivedanautomaticmessagesayingthatmybalancehadbeenincreasedby{$1000.00}.However,myaccountwasstilldisabledwithnoaccess.Ihavetriedcontactingthembyphone,butyou'redisconnectedassoonastheyrecognizeyournumber.Theywillnottakecallsfromanyothertelephonenumber. Iamatwitsend.Icanillaffordtolose{$3000.00}. ThetwocaseNos.theygavemeareXXXX&XXXXCanyoupleasehelp?
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-10

Plymouth, FL

Managing, opening, or closing your mobile wallet account

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Mobile or digital wallet


Complaint: Coinbase has locked my account and I have sent several message and contacted customer support several times. They say an account specialist is working on it. I waited 12 days and telephone support has not come up with an answer and my account can not be accessed. I have no idea when they will unlock my account. Please help me.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-10

Fresno, CA

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: I have an account with coinbase LLC to trade crypto currency, I deposited {$300.00} into my wallet on XX/XX/XXXX and waited until it showed a balance before trading. I made a trade then noticed on on XX/XX/XXXX that not only was the {$300.00} with drawn from bank account but an additional {$350.00} had been withdrawn. I then contacted bank and had a stop placed on my account and contacted coinbase who took a day to get back to me and they said I had not had a balance of {$300.00} and thats why they took money from my account, so in total {$650.00} were withdrawn. My bank put back the {$350.00} into my account and I thought all was well but coinbase then put the situation into an investigation and locked me out of my account and I am still locked out as of today, I have nearly a dozen emailssent with no resposne other then we'll get back to you. Also the investigation was closed on XX/XX/XXXX. Their phone systems now hangs up on me when I call, no operators or representatives are available to speak to, so I am stuck and real angry and frustrated with them, I just want to close account and withdraw my {$300.00}.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-10

Blackbird, DE

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: I Had opened a case with Coinbase on XX/XX/2019 regarding an unauthorized action on my account, and my Account is put on hold to no ability to login from that time, it's more than 45 days and still my case is not resolved, i had contacted their support team more than 10 times, they say that " Account Specialist is working on it '', without providing any further information.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-09

Atlanta, GA

Managing, opening, or closing your mobile wallet account

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Mobile or digital wallet


Complaint: Since XX/XX/2018 I've deposited over {$2800.00} into my coinbase.com wallet. My account was locked and I was told to upload my drivers license and utility bill to confirm my identity, which I did several times. It's been almost 2 months and now the customer service phone number dont work and they don't respond to my emails. After reading 100s of complaints against coinbase.com in the last week I feel like they are a scam ... please advice
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-09

Scottsdale, AZ

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: Coinbase closed my account due to a violation of their terms of service. They did not indicate what the violation was. Immediately I lost access to my account and was directed to a page online to have my cryptocurrencies transferred to a different wallet. I followed the process but the funds were not transferred and are still held within Coinbase. I have called and emailed and re-attempted to transfer for days, with no response from customer service. I have no access to my funds and can not retrieve them from Coinbase. They are holding {$4000.00} that I had invested with their service and I have no access to my own money. I did not initiate the account closure and simply wish to withdraw my money, but can not get even a simple reply from the company.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-07-08

Rockwell, NC

Managing, opening, or closing your mobile wallet account

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Mobile or digital wallet


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy