Coinbase, Inc.

Consumer Complaints

There are over 2974 complaints on file for Coinbase, Inc.. Dated between 2019-11-25 and 2014-09-10.

Complaints Page 2

2019-10-08

Las Vegas, NV

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Domestic (US) money transfer


Complaint: I initiated a transfer of money from my XXXX XXXX XXXX account for {$9000.00} to Coinbase on XX/XX/XXXX. They initiated a second unauthorized amount for {$9000.00} and overdrew my bank account. They are now saying I owe them this money because my bank account rejected their offer and are going to take my money that is currently in their account. I am owed the {$9000.00} plus any fees my bank charges me for them overdrafting my account but currently I can't access my account until I pay them the money that I " owe '' them.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-08

Westboro, MA

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-07

Nyc, NY

Other service problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: This issue is against COINBASE. I have had an account with them since XX/XX/2015. Recently, about 3 months ago they decided to lock my account with over 8 btcs ( XXXX USD value ) and give me no reasons. I have re-submitted all my documents, proof of address, ID etc. and they have gone silent and have not answered my in over 1 month. I do not know what to do at this point. They have most of my funds and I desperately need them.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-07

IA

Other service problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: I have contacted this company 5 times in XXXX and XXXX and asked specifically to talk to a customer service rep to reset my password. They have made it impossible to access my account. I used two-step authentication and had a old phone number that I no longer have. The new number is not recognized by the Customer Service phone robot and it hangs up 100 % of the time. Coinbase understand that I do not have my old phone number and do not have my old XXXX Authenticator and they understand that my new phone number and new XXXX Authenticator do not work and will not ever work unless Coinbase takes some action. They send me the same old instructions over and over to use XXXX Authenticator and reset password. This fails now and will always fail since they're directed to numbers that no longer exist. They have refused to address my needs. They have refused to get me a rep to talk to. I want my money back from them and I want to close my account.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-05

Long Island City, NY

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: I deposited a total of {$4300.00} in a Coinbase account from XX/XX/2019 till XX/XX/2019. Then on XX/XX/2019 I could not access my account. The following day i revived a response to my 30+ emails saying my account was hacked and they would unfreeze it within 5 days. when i was finally able to get in, half of my funds were missing and the account was still frozen until i pad them XXXX to resume trading. I refused and there days later my account was empty and they are saying i still owe them XXXX for trade fees??? I have no idea but they refuse to return my funds and are asking me to pay them to keep my account open.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-04

Brooklyn, NY

Managing, opening, or closing your mobile wallet account

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Mobile or digital wallet


Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX my friend sent me XXXX $ worth of bitcoins on my coinbase wallet. I tried to reset my password on coinbase account since I have not used it in a long time, when I did It logged me out from all the devices and now they have this 2F security system which sends you the code on your phone and everytime it does that it sends me the wrong code! it never recognizes the code it sends me and it says " error invalid '' everytime. I tried to reach out to coinbase by Email, live chat, phone and all the social media and I am not getting any response. I want to unlock my account and send my money to my bank account and be done with COINBASE! they are scam website!!! Please help Thanks in advance
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-04

Fort Lauderdale, FL

Other service problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-03

Melbourne, FL

Other service problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-25

Sandy Hook, CT

Money was not available when promised

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: On XX/XX/2019 I purchased {$25000.00} worth of bitcoin cash, derivative of Bitcoin. Please keep in mind I purchased this bitcoin cash solely for the purpose of sending it somewhere else since virtual currency is a supposedly a good way to send larger sums of money. Despite the fee of {$360.00}, I was glad I could get my money in and then over to where I needed it to be. Unfortunately Coinbase, the app that I was using, in which I am fully verified and established, told me my money would be on hold for 11 days! Thats right, I was unable to send it and therefore remove it from the highly volatile conditions of the crypto currency market. I already paid {$360.00} to get it there too. 10 days passed, I am writing to you on the 11th day, the day I am able to finally send my money out and where It needed to be. However, Yesterday, I lost nearly {$8000.00} of my value, In a single day it dropped % 22! I am extremely angry that my hard earned money is disappearing right before my eyes. There is no way I can cut that loss and send the money today. I have contacted the support in the Coinbase app but they seem to automated to notice me. There was no good reason to hold my money for 11 days, if I was able to send it earlier it wouldnt have been a problem. I only learned that the money was being held that long when I attempted to send it. Total I purchased {$29000.00} in bitcoin cash only to send it, not for some type of insane investment. This is evident through me sending some as it became available sooner. I was able to send {$2200.00} total because it wasnt on hold as long. The rest became available today after losing thousands in value.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-25

Harsens Is, MI

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX, I cashed out three crypto currencies that I had on Coinbase. My credit union never received the money. I contacted Coinbase and made three separate tickets. They closed all three tickets within a week and gave me no resolution or explanation! I tried to call, but I can not get an actual person on the phone. The amounts I cashed out are : Link {$34.00} Bitcoin {$110.00} XRP {$28.00} I have the transaction numbers if needed.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-24

Harsens Is, MI

Money was not available when promised

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: I pocket purchased crypto on my account and called coinbase support and they locked my account to make sure it wasn't fraud. I've since told them, that my account is cleared and secured, and need access to the {$10000.00} thats in there. It's been over a month now since I opened the ticket ( XX/XX/2019 XXXX and I have'nt received one email reply from them, despite writing to the about the issue daily My case number with their support branch is Case # XXXX
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-24

Shulerville, SC

Money was not available when promised

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: They locked my account. It has been locked for 2-3 months now. I have submitted at lease a dozen inquiries and have only received the automatic email responses. No action or dialogue has been generated.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-20

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Mobile or digital wallet


Complaint: I Have send over Coinbase money to XXXX XXXX XXXX for a service. Service was not provided as arranged so I cancelled payment with XXXX XXXX as arranged. He cancelled it also. Now XXXX did not repay my funds. As I contacted Coinbase the closed my account. XXXX. XXXX appears as they Have return my funds Coinbase says there is no money on my account. Please research.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-19

CA

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX I was abruptly logged out of my Coinbase account that held XXXX XXXX coins. My password would no longer function, and I was unable to reset it due to access issues with the associated email account. I contacted Coinbase on XX/XX/XXXX as I suspected fraud. Coinbase asked I create a new account and complete ID verification which I completed as well on the XXXX. I was instructed Coinbase would review the ID verified on my previous account with email address XXXX and transfer the funds to XXXX. My Case # is XXXX. Since then I have heard no update from Coinbase and the provided support contact number does not connect to a live rep. I can no longer access my funds due to a simple account issue. XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-15

San Francisco, CA

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-14

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: Coinbase.com have restricted my account to send crypto but i can recieve the crypto to my coinbase wallet normally So i tried to withdraw my amount but I'm unable to withdraw as it's not allowing me to send my crypto to my any external wallet. Coinbase is completely a scam it catches your crypto and never release it.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-12

Portland, OR

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: Coinbase locked me out of my account and after over 100 attempts to contact them via telephone and multiple online support efforts, my cryptocurrency wallet is inaccessible and I have exhausted all efforts to resolve this issue. I'm willing to provide a passport, bank account information, a driver 's license, or travel to their XXXX headquarters to resolve this matter! Many of thousands of my dollars were placed in the hands of Coinbase, supposedly the most secure and safe wallet in the industry. I feel violated and I'm devastated! This is THEFT!
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-12

Arlington, VA

Managing, opening, or closing your mobile wallet account

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Mobile or digital wallet


Complaint: Starting XX/XX/2019, Coinbase locked my account and wanted me to verify my identity again with my new telephone number. Since then, I contacted them for help 12 times : via website 2 times, XXXX direct message 5 times, and by follow-up emails 5 times on XX/XX/XXXX, XXXX, XXXX and XXXX. All attempts at contact, and acknowledgment of identity verification are attached. Their system asked for a selfie and my driver 's license and a new dummy account, which I created and told them I had done so on XX/XX/2019, and then it ghosted me. I have not received any reply saying when I can expect access to my account again. I have simply gotten robot replies at best. I have about {$15000.00} of cryptocurrency and cash in that account that they are sitting on and that I was trying to get out from their system when this happened. It is almost as if Coinbase is keeping it for themselves. Are they stealing my money or identity? It should not take this long to correct a phone number. Frankly, their process appears almost criminal. Right now, I am in a state of consternation. I feel like I have had my money stolen from me, and my previous good impression of Coinbase has gone.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-10

Arlington, TX

Unexpected or other fees

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Domestic (US) money transfer


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-10

Naples, FL

Confusing or missing disclosures

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: Coinbase has locked me out of my account. I tried following their instructions to log in but nothing I have done has worked. I have tried contacting them through phone and e-mail but they have not responded.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-09

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Mobile or digital wallet


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-09

San Jose, CA

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-06

Viewfield, SD

Money was not available when promised

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-30

Kimberly, ID

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-23

Key Biscayne, FL

Other transaction problem

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Virtual currency


Complaint: Hello I woke up to my account being disabled for trading on XX/XX/2019, I did not received any email, text, notification or any other form of contact letting me know my account was restricted, I spoke twice to coinbase representatives during the day, the first one hang up the phone on me when I asked to be transferred with a supervisor, the second did not transfer me either, just kept saying " a specialist '' has to review my account, then I received a case number by email ( Case # XXXX ) I'm filling this complain because of the lack of communication and poor customer service from coinbase, I have been a loyal customer for many years, I also trade a lot of money monthly, I think im not receiving the treatment I deserve as a customer, you just can not disable a customer 's account without at least sending an email with an explanation. I have a balance of {$270000.00} on my account which I use to trade, I trade for a living so I don't have any other form of income, that's why im trying to get this solved as soon as posible.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy