ALLY FINANCIAL INC.

Consumer Complaints

There are over 6232 complaints on file for ALLY FINANCIAL INC.. Dated between 2019-12-16 and 2012-03-09.

Complaints Page 5

2019-11-12

Scottsdale, AZ

False statements or representation

Debt collection: Auto debt

Attempted to collect wrong amount
Complaint: the company Ally financial repossessed my car. They gave me a set number of days to pay of the overdue balance and get my car back. the total amount due was approx {$1200.00}. i paid them {$750.00} and was to pay off the balance with them after they confirmed that i should pay the balance off the upcoming friday. they confirmed the vehicles location and that i could go get it then. they confirmed the car was at the tow yard. on the repayment day, Ally through their towing company had already SOLD my car even when they asked me for the {$750.00} payment. the car had been sold few days into the repossession by the towing company at about 1/3 the fair market value rate. ally is now demanding {$5600.00} even after all my deposit and monthly payments i had made for 2 and half years on the car. the loan total was {$11000.00}. the {$750.00} payment that i made they did not even include it in the final tally. they lied that the car was at the tow yard when in fact they had already sold the car for a throwaway price. they sold my XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX for 1/4 -1/3 the current fair market value at time of repossession. these people stole my payment and used the tow company to sell the car cheap quickly to a friend for a low price then still demand XXXX $ from me and take me and my cosigner to collections. they are criminals why accept a payment after they had already sold the car and lie to me that the car was at the tow yard. they have then come up with this figure and reported it to my credit.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-12

Catalpa, VA

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Unable to receive car title or other problem after the loan is paid off
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-12

Houston, TX

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Problem with the interest rate
Complaint: Purchased a new vehicle and wanted to pay cash. The dealer pressured to finance XXXX. I did but stepulated only for two years. After over 2 years called for balance. Turns out the financed it at their own discreation and chose 6 years at a very high rate. And added several protection criteria. Like loan protection, loan assurance and others increasing the loans amount. Please let me know what is going on. I am a XXXX XXXX XXXX VeterAn with a fixed income. XXXX XXXX XXXX. Very worried I can be reached at XXXX XXXX Thank You. I appreciate your responce
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-12

San Jacinto, CA

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Problem with additional products or services purchased with the loan
Complaint: Called ally finance about gap and warranty protection plan found out I never been enrolled by XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. Warranty dept and national warranty said I had to talk to dealer why they never enrolled me. Called XXXX XXXX and 2 other numbers. I got a call from a number that just things and did not leave a message I need my products registered or money back I just need my money back since XXXX XXXX never enrolled me
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-12

Jupiter, FL

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Complaint: Ally Financial was contacted several occasions on XX/XX/2019 XX/XX/2019 as well as in XXXX in order to dispute that my payments for the XXXX and XXXX month were reporting 30 days late, although the payments were not 30 days late and they were advised that the erroneous information was impacting my ability to apply for a mortgage. Ally Financial never corrected the information although their own payment History shows that I was not 30 days late and XXXX and XX/XX/2019, on my XXXX and my XXXX credit report require corrections that need to take place immediately. I have tried to resolve this on several occasions via Ally Financial website and Ally Financial customer service phone line.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-11

Houston, TX

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX, I notified the three ( 3 ) credit reporting agencies ( XXXX, XXXX & XXXX ) of a dispute with my credit report involving Ally Financial. On or about XX/XX/XXXX, Ally Financial ( Ally ) reported to the three ( 3 ) credit reporting agencies that my credit file was Major Delinquent and/or Delinquent Account, with a payment status of being Repossession. I disputed the information based upon the following information : On XX/XX/XXXX, I received a letter ( Attachment # 1 ) from Ally entitled Notice of Our Plan to Sell Property The letter stated my vehicle a XXXX XXXX XXXX, would be sold at private sale sometime after XX/XX/XXXX. However, Ally failed to reveal that the vehicle had been voluntarily surrendered in XXXX, Texas on XX/XX/XXXX, by the other co-buyer, who was avoiding a civil judgement allowing me to take possession of the vehicle. Ally further failed to contact me to avoid by credit status to be listed as described above by the three ( 3 ) reporting agencies. Ally was fully aware of my contact information to include mailing address, email and telephone ( home and mobile ). Prior to the receipt of Ally letter, I personally, forwarded to Ally a letter on XX/XX/XXXX ( Attachment # 2 ), advising that the co-buyer had falsely misrepresented certain facts at the time of the transaction to myself and the dealership. I advised Ally that due to the misrepresentations, I filed a civil lawsuit ( Attachment # 3 ) on XX/XX/XXXX, in an effort to obtain possession of the vehicle. The case was finally heard at trial and a Judgement ( Attachment # 4 ) in the matter was rendered to me. On XX/XX/XXXX, I forwarded to Ally via XXXX ( Attachment # 5 ) the amount stated due in Attachment # 1. I further provided to Ally on XX/XX/XXXX, a second letter ( Attachment # 6 ), which included a certified copy of the court judgment ( Attachment # 4 ). On XX/XX/XXXX, Ally released the vehicle to me in XXXX, Texas. It should be noted that the co-buyer failed to notify me or the court of their whereabouts. Attachment # 2 further stated that I was unable to enforce the judgement ( Attachment # 4 ) until thirty ( 30 ) days after the judgment as required by Texas law. Therefore, I dispute the information reflected in my credit report to the three ( 3 ) credit reporting agencies provided by Ally as being Major Delinquent, Delinquent or Repossession, on the basis that the vehicle in question was surrendered by the co-buyer to avoid enforcement of a court judgment. Ally further failed to properly notify me in a timely manner of the vehicle being surrender, since I was also a co-buyer and primary creditor. I was aware of the vehicle location by services provided by " XXXX '' and as indicated above I was unable to obtain a writ of execution to take possession of the vehicle until after XX/XX/XXXX. I also requested that a copy of Attachment # 4 should be made available on my credit report to be viewed by my creditors and/or any future creditors. The dealership at the time of the purchase also advise that the co-buyer would be able to refinance the vehicle with Ally within 12 months. The co-buyer was unable to refinance in their name with Ally, since Ally does not refinance vehicles. Because of the co-buyers misrepresentation at the time of purchase they have not been able to refinance and thus became delinquent without notifying myself or the court of their status. Ally was fully aware of my location and whereabouts and should have contacted me to take possession of the vehicle and allow me to assume payment. Because of Ally 's failure my credit score and credit report by the three ( 3 ) reporting agencies have been gravely affected. Copies of all of the attachments was provided to Ally and each of the three ( 3 ) reporting agencies. Attachments : Attachment # 1 - Copy Ally letter dated XX/XX/XXXX Attachment # 2 - Copy of my letter to Ally dated XX/XX/XXXX Attachment # 3 - Copy of civil lawsuit court case summary Attachment # 4 - Certified copy Court Judgment filed XX/XX/XXXX Attachment # 5 - Copy of XXXX transaction # XXXX Attachment # 6 - Copy of my 2nd letter to Ally dated XX/XX/XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-11

Bloomington, MN

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Complaint: On XX/XX/2018 I went to XXXX of XXXX XXXX MN to get a car. Upon arrival, I signed a loan application. In the application, it stated that the company ( XXXX ) would disclose who my application would be given to, to access my credit report. This information was not given to me at the time, and my credit report was accessed by several financial institutions all across the United States, without my consent. The dealership, ( XXXX of XXXX XXXX ) failed to honor the loan application, and therefore violated my rights within the FCRA. When speaking with the manager of the company, she informed me there was nothing they could do. Attached is a copy of the original loan application. The company clearly states the information, ( who accessed ) my report would be provided. Neither the person who received my application, nor the finance manager offered this information to me.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-10

Discovery Bay, CA

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Problem related to refinancing
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-10

Kenner, LA

Communication tactics

Debt collection: I do not know

Called before 8am or after 9pm
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-10

Evansville, IN

Communication tactics

Debt collection: Auto debt

Frequent or repeated calls
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Lexington, NC

Struggling to pay your loan

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Denied request to lower payments
Complaint: I have reached out to Ally Financial regarding my car loan. I called on XX/XX/XXXX and requested a re-write to lower my monthly payments to $ XXXX {$300.00}, due to unexpected expenses. I have spoke to a representative and was given a case # XXXX for the re-write. I was advised to allow 1-2 business days for a call back for this rewrite. I have spoke to representatives in rewrite by the name of XXXX and she advised me that I only made 6 payments since I had my car loan. I have had my contract car loan with Ally Financial since XX/XX/XXXX. I have made way over 6 payments on my car loan and was also given extension due to natural disasters.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Centerville, GA

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Billing problem
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

FL

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Complaint: I did not authorize the following entities to check my credit, again! XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX, ALLY FINANCIAL and XXXX XXXX. XXXX says their clients have to remove, their clients say XXXX has to remove. Be here done this, not up for the fight!
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Gainesville, FL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: CD (Certificate of Deposit)

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Phoenix, AZ

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Complaint: Hard enquiry from Unknown resources on XXXX 1. Institution Information XXXX XXXX XXXX, OH XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX 2. Institution Information XXXX XXXX, CA XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX 3. Institution Information Ally Financi XXXX, MN XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX 4. Institution Information XXXX XXXX XXXX, IL XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX Hard enquiry from Unknown resources on XXXX 1. XXXX XXXX XXXX, CA XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Bellevue, IL

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Houston, TX

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Problem with fees charged
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-07

Bedford, TX

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Complaint: This is a complaint arising under Sections 5 ( a ), 5 ( m ), 13 ( b ), and 16 ( a ) of the Federal Trade Commission Act ( FTC Act ), 15 U.S.C. 45 ( a ), 45 ( m ) ( 1 ) ( A ), 53 ( b ), and 56 ( a ) ; the Fair Credit Reporting Act ( FCRA, 15 U.S.C. 1681-1681x ; and the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act ( FDCPA ), 15 U.S.C. 1692-1692p, to obtain monetary civil penalties, a permanent injunction, restitution, disgorgement, and other equitable relief for the Defendants violations of the FCRA, the FDCPA, and Section 5 of the FTC Act. XXXX provides consumer personal credit reports to regional and national credit grantors, attempting to issue both commercial and consumer credit. XXXX regularly furnishes consumer credit reports to Creditors electronically. XXXX is an entity who regularly and in the ordinary course of business furnishes information to one or more Creditors about its transactions or experiences with its consumers. XXXX routinely receives complaints from consumers who claim they do not owe the debt. In numerous instances, I have notified XXXX at the address specified for such disputes that XXXX is reporting inaccurate information concerning my consumer credit. As a victim of identity theft and the XXXX Data Breach I expect the information in my consumer report to be accurate and my disputes taken seriously. XXXX has continued to report inaccurate information to the Creditors even after receiving such notice and accompanying proof. In numerous instances, I have disputed the information appearing on my consumer credit report in writing to XXXX reporting the information. XXXX receives most notices of disputes from a consumer in electronic format, through automated consumer dispute verification ( ACDV ) forms provided on DEFENDANTS website. Pursuant to Section 623 ( b ) ( 1 ) of the FCRA, XXXX, as a furnisher of information to the Creditors, is required to conduct an investigation of the disputed information upon receipt of a notice of dispute from a Consumer. For certain types of disputes, such as those where the consumer claims the account is not his or hers or belongs to someone with a similar name, it is XXXX XXXX policy and practice only to compare the name, social security number, date of birth, and address in XXXX XXXX computer database with the information provided on ACDV forms. Where three of the four items match, XXXX will report to the Consumer that it has verified the information it furnished as accurate. It is XXXX XXXX policy that only after the consumer has alleged the same type of account inaccuracy more than four times will the matter become assigned to a supervisor to do further investigation. Because XXXX collects accounts that are often old, information in its computer files may not be accurate for a variety of reasons, including incorrect updating of addresses, errors in recording names and information, and problems with the original Creditors records. In disputes involving identity theft or fraud allegations, XXXX XXXX policies provide that if the existing account codes and notes in its records do not contain any reference to a prior claim of fraud, XXXX will verify the previously reported information without conducting any investigation prior to such verification. In numerous instances, despite written or oral notification from consumers disputing the accuracy or completeness of alleged debts, Defendant XXXX continued to furnish the information to the Creditors without communicating that the information was disputed by the consumer. Section 623 ( a ) of the FCRA describes the duties of furnishers to provide accurate information to Creditors. Section 623 ( a ) ( 1 ) ( B ) prohibits furnishers from providing information relating to a consumer to any Creditor if i. the person has been notified by the consumer, at the address specified by the person for such notices, that specific information is inaccurate ; and ii. the information is, in fact, inaccurate. In numerous instances, I have contacted Defendant XXXX at the address specified by XXXX to dispute information about them furnished by XXXX to a Creditor and to notify XXXX that the information is inaccurate. In numerous instances, I have also provided information such as the consumers drivers license, social security number, and/or proof of residence to confirm my identity. The acts and practices alleged above constitute violations of Section 623 ( a ) ( 1 ) ( B ) of the FCRA, 15 U.S.C. 1681s-2 ( a ) ( 1 ) ( B ). Pursuant to Section 621 ( a ) ( 1 ) of the FCRA, 15 U.S.C. 1681s ( a ) ( 1 ), the acts and practices alleged above also constitute unfair or deceptive acts or practices in violation of Section 5 ( a ) of the FTC Act, 15 U.S.C. 45 ( a ). This creditor is also a furnisher of inaccurate credit information and is just as liable as XXXX. A recorded statement from XXXX states that this creditor is the one responsible for removing this information from my credit report. As it currently stands they have not validated or verified the accuracy of this inquiry. They also failed to remove the inquire from my credit report after the two year statute of limitation.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-07

Highland Park, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Savings account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-07

MD

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Billing problem
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-07

Avondale Est, GA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-07

Oaklawn, KS

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-07

Canton, MI

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Auto debt

Debt was result of identity theft
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-06

Brentwood, TN

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Complaint: Ally Bank corrected and removed the erroneous late payments they placed on my account and replaced them claiming other months. Additionally, I previously filed a complaint against Ally Bank and the company XXXX XXXX XXXX in XXXX for fraud. I received a call allegedly from the Ally Bank 's executive branch. I returned their call numerous times and left messages, but they never call me back. There was no reasonable investigation into my claims. Below I enclosed the reporting from my XXXX Credit report and as you can see, Ally first removed the late payments then slapped them back onto my account. I am trying to buy a home and Ally 's action demonstrates their conduct for which I seek damages. t looks like your payment history was updated or corrected. If you're not sure why this happened, you could contact your lender to find out more. Your account payment history was updated. Here 's what changed : XX/XX/XXXX : 30 days late XX/XX/XXXX : 30 days late Here is what your payment history showed before : XX/XX/XXXX : Current XX/XX/XXXX : Current
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-06

Arco, CA

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Billing problem
Complaint: I never paid my monthly payment late in XXXX or XXXX I was never told that I was late no notices. Or even a phone call
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2022 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy