ALLY FINANCIAL INC.

Consumer Complaints

There are over 6232 complaints on file for ALLY FINANCIAL INC.. Dated between 2019-12-16 and 2012-03-09.

Complaints Page 4

2019-11-19

Lucas, TX

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-17

Berthoud, CO

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-17

Philadelphia, PA

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Auto debt

Debt was paid
Complaint: My XXXX XXXX XXXX was totaled, contacted financial company Ally debit was paid by gap insurance and XXXX insurance. Ally is stating I owe a balance of XXXX to them because my loan was not paid due a push back loan arrange nothing was sent in the mail and also the insurance company paid the car off. Ally is stating payment is XXXX. Nothing was sent after full payment was received stating i owe a balance of XXXX after both insurances paid my car off and it was a balance my insurance would have not paid the car off until any owed balances where paid off this not accurate .I 'm disputing this matter this issue has been hindering my credit since 2017.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-17

Harrisonburg, VA

Struggling to pay your loan

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Denied request to lower payments
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-17

Smyrna, SC

Incorrect information on your report

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Information belongs to someone else
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-16

WA

Struggling to pay your loan

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Lender trying to repossess or disable the vehicle
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-16

Lewisville, TX

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Company closed your account
Complaint: On XX/XX/19 Ally bank closed my account for no reason i have no access to my funds. I was advised that the deciding to close my account due to a dispute for unauthorized charges so there for i believe they are wrong in this matter.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-16

OR

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Unable to receive car title or other problem after the loan is paid off
Complaint: I purchased a vehicle in XX/XX/XXXX, financed through GMAC and transferred to Ally Financial. I paid the vehicle off making final payment in XXXX and never received title. I moved from XXXX to XXXX in XXXX and requested title from Ally in XX/XX/XXXX, provided mailing address and was told 7-10 days. XX/XX/XXXX i still hadnt received title, called and was told it was lost in the mail and I would need to pay for replacement an amount in the {$300.00} range I requested release of lien and was denied as I refused to pay the {$300.00}. I then mailed letter from DMV, original inspection report, application and a money order {$190.00} for XXXX registration fees to Ally and requested title be transferred with lien so the vehicle could be registered, and still today this has not been done. I have made several calls to Ally requesting transfer and title and I an told no due to an account balance but no one could ever give me a balance. Each call I initiated at least four, I am told title will be requested receive in 7-10 days and nothing, when I follow up there is a balance due but no amount. XX/XX/XXXX I mailed again the DMV letter, originsl application, and {$190.00} for DMV fees requesting again title be transferred. I initiated contact at least 4 times since then always told I need to pay a balance without an amount. XX/XX/XXXX, after I demanded someone resolve this issue and provide details, i was transferred to Collection department who told me no record of amount, but there is s balance due and someone would contact me in 3-5 days, never received contact. The vehicle has been sitting all this time as it can not be registered, with the exception of 2-21day use permits in XXXX and currently a 21 day use permit that expires XX/XX/XXXX. On XX/XX/XXXX I filed a complaint with XXXX, XX/XX/XXXX received message from Executive Services department, returned call with message on XX/XX/XXXX and again on XX/XX/XXXX. XX/XX/XXXX received call and spoke with agent regarding my complaint. Provided details of my complaint and requested resolution including the title to my vehicle or a release of lien. During this conversation I provided details and VIN for the car so he could pull up the title information. He mentioned the same as all previous agents that there wasnt a balance he could see either. He stated he would contact his title department and get back to me. XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX he left message for my return call while I was at work. XX/XX/XXXX I returned his call and he informed me that the title was never sent because there was a balance due, I dont recall exact amount but in the {$1700.00} range. I disputed and asked for what and was told from the original balance. I asked for details and he told me he couldnt send what he had but could put something together. He then said that they received my request to transfer title with lien in XX/XX/XXXX, but they didnt, and they mailed me a letter XX/XX/XXXX explaining they needed the original application. He confirmed the letter was mailed to the wrong address, and confirmed he had the right address. I told him it was the original that was sent as well as the original inspection report and a money order for {$190.00} for registration fees. He could not confirm they had the physical documents sent due to the time period only that the system note said it was not the original. He said more than likely they no longer have the inspection report or money order either. He confirmed the numerous attempts Ive made to resolve and told me that no one could ever pull the information and provide the details due to the age of the account. He indicated the audio from past calls where I was told it was sent and there was no balance due were no longer available, and all he had was the notes he could find. He stated the information was hard to find and piece together. And, the balance had been turned over to numerous collection agencies over the years. He stated they did not have access to full the details due to the amount being charged off, and in order to obtain the title I would have to pay the amount due to an outside agency as they were no longer able to collect the payment. I told him I did not agree with the balance and that the last payment was made XXXX, and I never received a call, a letter or notice of the debt until now, with the exception of just being told there was a balance due. He said he would contact the title department to see what else he could do and find out if they had original documents to transfer the title so I could register the vehicle. The vehicle has sat for all but two months since XX/XX/XXXX when I operated the vehicle with 3 separate 21 day use permits. These permits each cost {$32.00}. The vehicle needs a full inspection as belts are squealing, tires, and fresh fluids as a direct result of sitting and currently is my only vehicle. The use permit expires XX/XX/XXXX. After 8 years since last payment, and 6 years of initiating contact myself numerous times I am told to pay a balance still owed from original debt based on the notes and information he could find over the past 15 days, that the account was charged off, that they received my request to transfer in XXXX but didnt transfer, that they mailed the correspondence to the wrong address even though they had the right one, and that they couldnt collect the payment for the title they hold. I dont agree there is any amount due and to wait 6 years to be given a random dollar amount and explanation of their negligence is unacceptable.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-16

Oxford, GA

Communication tactics

Debt collection: Auto debt

You told them to stop contacting you, but they keep trying
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-15

Harsens Is, MI

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Lease

Problem with fees charged
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-15

WV

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Problem with fees charged
Complaint: ALLY continues to report referenced account as past due and insists on assessing late charges, even after I have provided confirmation payments to dispute assessing of late charges. All payments have been made on time. XXXX Delinquent Account notice dated XX/XX/XXXX, stated that payment status shows ( 60 ) days late. This is an inaccurate assessment and must be corrected immediately. Continues to have a negative impact on credit reports and is depicting me as uncreditworthy. XXXX Credit report ( XXXX XXXX ), XXXX Credit Report ( XX/XX/XXXX ) show ( 60 ) days past due, amount past due ( {$1400.00} ) this includes the monthly payment ( XXXX ) and the assessing of late charges ( {$730.00} ). ALLY actions continues to have a negative impact on my credit scores. I find ALLY 's reporting totally inaccurate with no written proof to substantiate any past dues. How can ALLY insist that their position regarding reporting of past dues and amount of past dues remains unchanged when confirmed payment details/ banking statements were submitted to denounce the reporting of past dues and amounts past due. ALLY has failed to provide documentation to support their stance. I received a e-message from the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX stating that the XXXX showed where ALLY was paid on XX/XX/XXXX ( {$750.00} ) and XX/XX/XXXX ( {$750.00} ) electronically via Bill Pay. XXXX proceeded to inform me to contact XXXX and speak with a specialist in order to reach out to XXXX, the company that provides the Bill Pay services and see what they can do to assist on this pay issue. XXXX also stated that in some instances Bill Pay will call my biller ( ALLY ) to see what is actually going on and provide proof that my payments were in fact made and on time. XX/XX/XXXX payment was made after this letter. your information. I informed XXXX that ALLY stated that no payments have been receive by XXXX, KY Processing Center and that payment are made electronically.. When I received the monthly billing statement, it instructs me to make payments to the Payment Processing Center, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, KY XXXX. XXXX informing me that payments were sent electronically to ( ALLY ). This I feel is where the miscommunications arises. ALLY monthly billing statements state to make payable to XXXX, KY Payment Processing Center. Then ALLY states that payment are being received electronically and no payments are being received by XXXX, KY. This was confirmed by the XXXX Bill Pay website. It appears that ALLY systems is not being notified that electronic payments have been received/posted on time. thus placing these electronic payments in a suspense file until it has been determined what account to credit. This system miscommunications is causing another department within ALLY to report payments are past due and proceeds to assess late charges. This is clearly noted for XX/XX/XXXX payment has been processed according to XXXX Bill Pay, but ALLY has reported account past due ( 30 ) days. Credit report does not show that actual payment ( {$750.00} ) had been made, only a late charge ( {$730.00} ). Based on this information it is request that I wish to know who is receiving payments ( Name or Company ). Could this be a third party who is not communicating with ALLY. How can ALLY assess late charges when due date has not arrived. Even the grace period has not arrived. But I continue to be assessed these outrageous late charges. Who has my payments and why are they not being reported to ALLY Payment Processing. XX/XX/XXXX detailed payment is not found on the credit file balance history report. I feel that amount owed should be $ XXXXReported late fees that have been assessed from XX/XX/XXXX through XX/XX/XXXX total {$8800.00}. These fees must be credited.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-15

Charlotte, NC

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Lease

Problem with paying off the loan
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Lk Buena Vis, FL

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Was not notified of investigation status or results
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Maxwell Afb, AL

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Billing problem
Complaint: on XX/XX/XXXX I a made a payment of {$300.00} to Ally Financial and another payment {$380.00} on XX/XX/XXXX then {$1000.00} on XX/XX/XXXX. since XX/XX/XXXX I was making weekly payment or overpayments up until XX/XX/XXXX then monthly payments thereafter every month. Since XX/XX/XXXX I have made {$4500.00} worth of payments, my payment is {$390.00}. I made two payment of {$400.00} on XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX. They have been adding late fees once I pay them off the add somemore out of thin air. I write on my checks apply to principal monthly payments not late fees. The lates fees are a scam no basis for them. Now I made for the full amount and they still say I owe {$180.00} and they have been reporting me late all these years and I have made payments every month and some time multiple times. This is stealing and I need some help
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Charlotte, NC

Improper use of your report

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Flint, MI

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Unable to receive car title or other problem after the loan is paid off
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Chicago, IL

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Problem with personal statement of dispute
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Brentwood, TN

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Complaint: Ally Bank is attempting to re-age and/or change the dates they have claimed my auto payment was lateand this has directly impacted my ability to obtain a mortgage. In report XXXX they report 30 day late payments on XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX. When challenged they changed the dates to XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX. Ally also repeately reports a much higher balance with a 3 month delay in updating the balance. Current balance is not {$19000.00} Ally has repeately misrepresented this account with all three credit reporting bureaus.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Gr Blanc, MI

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Lease

Excess mileage, damage, or wear fees, or other problem after the lease is finish
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Atl, GA

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Leming, TX

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Complaint: XXXX Adult son should have been a trustee. On the account with Alley bank. They put him as co owner and he took everything out of my account and Ally bank takes no responsibility for my son closing the account. Nor take responsibility for notifying me. The say sense account was never fixed from Co owner to just a trustee that its ok for him to take all my money. Then close out my account.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Taunton, MA

Written notification about debt

Debt collection: I do not know

Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Magnolia, TX

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Public record information inaccurate
Complaint: Upon trying to finance a vehicle Ally Bank denied me and my wife a loan. They sited information from XXXX, XXXX, and XXXX. The key factors where Serious delinquency, and public record or collection filed. Time since delinquency is too recent or unknown, To many accounts recently opened. Too many inquiries last 12 months. The fair credit act states that the information on any credit report has to be 100 percent verifiable and I take issue with erroneous information on my credit report. This bank has engaged in redlining and that is a federal crime.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Newark, NJ

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Las Vegas, NV

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Billing problem
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response


© 2021 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy